We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meet expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Chinnery

The Chinnery
Ranked #214 of 7,917 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central
Description: Named after the famous British artist George Chinnery, The Chinnery enjoys a relaxed club-like atmosphere with deep upholstered armchairs, green leather banquettes and warm wood panelling. Offering a laid-back alternative to our fine dining restaurants, The Chinnery specialises in traditional British cuisine with classic dishes such as bangers and mash, fish and chips, and steak and ale pie available for lunch and dinner. Home to one of the world's largest collections of single malt whiskies, The Chinnery has over 100 varieties for guests to try. We also serve chilled draft beer in custom-made silver tankards by a veteran staff who know many guests by name.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Meet expectations”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Came here for lunch with friends. Ordered a fish dish - very tasty but the sides are a bit dry (boiled potatoes). Would be good if they offer a selection of sides. My friend ordered the slow cook chicken which is also very good - tender and juicy.

They don't accept bookings so we walked in and only got the bar tables.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristinaAbba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    19
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
120 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The early bird gets the booth”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I can't help but smile when I arrive early enough for a booth at the Chinnery. It's a pat on the back to sit back in this Mad Men den at 12pm and peruse the menu of English classics. With a wall of whiskey tempting you, it could be a long warm pat on the back indeed...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RockYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
148 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Club Feel with great Food and Service”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is a small and intimate restaurant/bar with the ability to eat at the bar counter. The menu is excellent with typical English fare but also several options for those with a taste for the interesting. I had a Prawn curry which was outstanding.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank seanmage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Was Not As Good As Anticipated”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

A bit of a disappointment would best sum up my experience here. I ordered fish pie and it came as a deconstructed pie not in a container (dish) at all and there was not very much in the way of fish in the pie. Surroundings are very cozy but as I say a bit of a dissapointment.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AgedMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Chinnery, a unique Hong Kong British bar”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The Brita ruled Hong Kong by treaty for 100 years ending in 1997. The Chinnery will likely last much longer. George Chinnery was a 19th c. English artist who painted a long time in India and later in southern China. The Chinnery bar serves Indian and British fare. Signature entrees include Rogan josh and shepherds pie for example. The former is excellent and the pie is good (even though that is not one of my favorites). The prime rib is of course outstanding. The scotch selection is first rate and they pour generously. The service is impeccable, attentive and unobtrusive. At one time the barristers congregated here and also the solicitors. And it was men only until about 30 years ago.

This is still one of my favorite places in Hongkong.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mshnaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chinnery also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to The Chinnery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing