We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of room 604” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of 60 West Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
60 West Hotel
Ranked #6 of 243 Hong Kong B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beware of room 604”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

On the first night of a five day holiday in HK, my husband and I were given Room 604. It was a huge room, but it had handicap railings and the toilet was the worst! The seat was broken and dirty, there was grout in the sink, wall and floor tiles and there was hair in the bowl. The staff were courteous enough to clean it up but I would warn anyone from getting this room who was not handicapped and did not need the railings. We were moved to a different room after I made a lot of noise and that was cleaner and not broken. Thank goodness!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ATeo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    64
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
29
35
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a no nonsense property. You get a relatively spacious room for a reasonable price. Wifi is fast in the room. Shower is strong. Bed is firm if this is the way you prefer. You got a usable fridge and a microwave in the room which is convenient in case you have picked up some food from the nearby supermarket (just a 3 minutes walk).

There's a number of buses that can take you right to the front door. Make good use of the buses and trams nearby. A lot of good quality and reasonably priced local eateries nearby.

Reception staff are young but courteous and helpful. I would definitely come back but the catch is they don't have many rooms available for short-term rental.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruadocampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

it is with great regret that i write this review. i liked the spacious room with a highly efficient design. the area was characteristically charming if not central. i would have given more stars if i had not been there when the wifi was down for the first three days of my stay.

it is not just me being unlucky but them handling the situation inadequately. from day one, every time i inquired about it, the receptionists gave me deceiving information, saying, "it will be fixed soon." the variations of this included "by tonight," "by tomorrow morning," and "within today," all of which, as it turned out, meant, "don't know." their explanations were poor and incoherent, which i foolishly tried to understand. how frustrating it was coming back to the hotel, finding their wifi still not working, and heading out again for a nearby cafe in order to receive/send expected emails. true, there are a lot of free-wifi places in hong kong, but only a few in the sheung wan area.

if i had known that the problem was so serious, i would have switched hotels immediately. was that why they kept lying to me? i would suggest one weigh the risk carefully as this hotel can make it unbearably frustrating if anything goes wrong.

Room Tip: higher floors may be quieter, but given their elevators not so efficient, getting up and down might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed a month at 60 West and enjoyed the venue. The lobby staff cares and takes extra steps to make your stay as easy as possible, there's no nonsense, the bed/sheets are very comfy, the training room is useful though minimal, positive experience overall.

The place was quiet for the whole month except one night, the cleaning staff came everyday and was nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

i just love this hotel
the location, the rooms, the staff
whenever i enter it, i feel i am home!
believe me its a difficult feeling for a hotel.
the best part is its Location!
you have MTR (500 metres) , Bus, and Tram.. right at the gate..
i can walk to CENTRAL in 15 minutes..
Else catch a tram..
The room size is Grand for Hongkong!
The old lady always smiles at you at the elevator.
she is very cute.
the reception is very helpful.
Highly Recommended..
my third visit to this hotel!

Room Tip: ha ha its tricky.. they have 4 style of rooms. chose the biggest one. see the layout first ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gauravjalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jammu City, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were not disappointed; this place is wonderful and beautiful. We had a friendly receptionist. The staff was extremely helpful. The room was huge, the location was great - within walking distance of almost anything I wanted to see or do. This hotel is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimala J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We booked 2 Deluxe King rooms (the smallest & cheapest rooms available) for 4 nights but to our our pleasant surprise, got a free upgrade for 1 of the rooms to an Executive Suite (Room 704) which had a living room, a kitchenette, lots and lots of cabinets, and a huge bathroom that was disabled friendly! The room was very spacious, modern and had a chic design...a great plus point was also the wifi! As the hotel is located on the "dried seafood street", you'll get a totally different experience of the sights and smells of HK! Great location, easily accessible - abt 10 min walk to the Sheung Wan MTR, trams and buses also available just outside the hotel.

Shopping Tip: You can buy some dried seafood back home as the selection is fantastic and I'm sure you'll be able to get great value ingredients!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#77 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#48 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#94 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#34 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#96 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 60 West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 60 West Hotel

Property: 60 West Hotel
Address: 60-64 Des Voeux Road West, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 243 B&Bs / Inns in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 60 West Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
60 West, opened in 2011, is a modern serviced apartment and hotel which conveniently located near the Central Business District. There is wide-ranged selection of public transportation. It drives you to everywhere in Hong Kong conveniently. It is the perfect home and accommodation for business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your 60 West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
60 West Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing