We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Hong Kong
Post
Inbox
Search

“Service was excellent Food not as good as years before ”
Review of Shang Palace

Shang Palace
Reserve a Table
2
Thu, 2/20
8:00 PM
Ranked #168 of 14,475 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $48 - $280
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Description: The Michelin two-star Shang Palace serves Cantonese specialities that evoke the grandeur of traditional China. The delicious food, ornate decor and friendly staff make dining here a truly wonderful and memorable experience.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was used to be my favourite restaurant serving good quality peking duck and stuffed sea whelk. Having returned from overseas living, we re-visited this restaurant again for family re-union.
Although the service remained at top standard, attentive, friendly and dedicated, the food quality was a bit on the down side. The duck was a little dry. The sea whelk was stuffed with too much sauce.
The dim sum dishes were in general tasty and delicious except the Lau sha buns and beef balls. The former ones not runny at all. Just ordinary custard buns. Not impressive. The beef balls were too hard and bouncy like fish balls texture. Not the best that would warrant a bite.
We were disappointed. For the price paid, we would consider exploring some other options.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank alexandraremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

An old favourite of mine but we had not been in for about a year and you wonder if it remains as good. Although some of the staff have moved on Shang Palace continues to provide great food and service. We dined at lunch on a Monday and stuck to the dim sum menu. It is unfair to select one or two dishes as our favourites because all were sumptuous. The SP is surely one of the best places in HK for Dim Sum. Sure it is pricey but you get what you pay for. The restaurant is small but tables well spaced and the decor always brings a smile to my face. We loved the food, we loved the service and ambience and we will surely return again and again.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank ianseabourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020

You must order the duck it is amazing. Side dish of Shangs Special fried rice is a great add on and any vegetable dish of the menu will leave you completely satisfied.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Georgecodegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2019 via mobile

It is as hinted by its name: a Palace. I love the heavy furniture and decorations when it comes along with Chinese food. The serving is more than perfect and the dishes are rich in flavour. We took the Dim Sum set which is highly recommended. It come by small servings but you are full by the end of the meal.
Good experiance.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank ilano958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2019 via mobile

Wonderful afternoon of good food at Shang Palace which is a 1 Star Michelin. Food is good and don’t forget to order ‘Lap Mei Fan’ which is one of the best we had tasted. The flavor and the aroma from this dish will keep you asking for more. We look forward to coming back for our next meal soon.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Fun8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, Manager at Shang Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2019

Dear Fun8888, thank you for your lovely review. I am happy to learn that you have enjoyed your meal at Shang Palace. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Yours, Mark Bannon, Executive Assistant Manager - Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shang Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing