We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite restaurant in Hong Kong” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Otto e Mezzo Bombana

Otto e Mezzo Bombana
Ranked #76 of 7,790 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Hong Kong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

In Hong Kong you can become very bored of the expensive Michelin stars restaurants which sometimes are not worth their stars but that one is the best option in Hong Kong. First for the staff who truly loves their job and make you want to come back, Second the food always great and fantastic ingredients, Third the bar and the room....The best option in town for price quality/price ratio for sure.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank titiparis01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    95
    48
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
79 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Over rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

This place is not bad, yet you go there with such a high expectations it is probably hard to match them. Service was good, the food was good but for the price given overall it's average.

Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For the benefit of the doubt it's a four out of five”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

As a Fellini fan Otte e Mezzo had been for long on my to go list. So finally we had an occasion. We visited the restaurant for our anniversary; we didn’t have a reservation and just walked in. As a result we didn’t have the best seat, but that didn’t bother us.

Since we were not that hungry we decided to share a starter, have each a pasta and wait till later to see if we still have room for a desert.

As a starter we had marinated tajima beef tenderloin. Since this is a three Michelin star restaurant I was expecting that portions might be a little smaller. Anyways we basically had two small bites of Carpaccio each that tastewise were good, but didn’t offer anything beyond the ordinary.

Being a bit disappointed with the beginning of the meal and waiting for our main to come, we had more bread than we should have in the meantime.

The Burrata Cheese Ravioli that I ordered as my main was good, yet I missed a bit the zing. My wife had the black winter truffle risotto. Very tasty I have to say, but that is owed to a larger extend to the amount of truffle they put onto that dish. Both dishes were reasonably portioned by the way.

Though already a bit full (due to the bread we had), we decided to go each for a desert. My wife had the Grand Cru Chocolate in 5 styles, which comes as a brûlée, a fondant, a cream, a crumble and ice cream. The brûlée is absolutely fantastic.
I had the crispy pear tart with vanilla ice cream. A good dish, quite tasty, but here is the thing, the portion was too big. It felt like almost having a pizza for desert.

In conclusion, Otto e Mezzo is for sure worth trying, yet I cannot see how it got into the three Michelin star category. The food is good, but not a revelation. The service is good but not outstanding. My main criticism is that they should rethink their portion policy. It doesn’t make sense to me to be stingy with the starter and to overwhelm with the desert. On a positive note their prices are still quite reasonable for the category they are in.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank newyork116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hope Island, Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Best meal during our one week stay in Hong Kong.!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

This restaurant has 3 Michelin stars although this does not always equate the the same high standards for 3 Michelin star restaurants in Europe and other geographic areas. Otto e Mezzo is an exception however. The food was excellent with plenty of black truffles sliced on top of the risotto. We were there for a Saturday lunch and the restaurant was full. The menu is comprehensive , the service was very good and the staff were knowledgeable and happy to provide advice particularly with regard to dishes which could be easily shared. The setting is pleasant indeed it is impossible to say anything negative about this restaurant and our wait staff kept bringing us additional petits fours at the end of the meal even though we had to decline as we had already eaten quite enough. Otto e mezzo is not cheap but nevertheless represents good value for money and is highly recommended. Many thanks for a great meal.!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
136 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Longing for 'back to the future'”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

One of my old fav's that now takes itself perhaps too seriously. Prices have risen, portions have decreased, reservations are challenging, and wine policy has stiffened. Food still excellent and service top-notch... but clearly has decided to cater to the high-roller crowd at the expense of foodies, old friends, and original patrons. Perhaps still a great place for the visiting dignitaries in your life, but increasingly (and unfortunately) a less attractive place for a regular visit...

Helpful?
Thank DJSinHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otto e Mezzo Bombana also viewed

Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Otto e Mezzo Bombana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing