We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food --- expect a long wait” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tim Ho Wan (Central)

Tim Ho Wan (Central)
Ranked #84 of 7,794 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food --- expect a long wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

The food here was good. There's no question about that.
However, was it really that good to be waiting 30 minutes? I'm not so sure about that!
The dim sum was really good and the quality was among the best I've had. However, is it worth hanging around when you could eat reasonably good dim sum elsewhere? Again, I'm not sure.
It's not expensive and the service is extremely quick once you get a table so I can't really complain. Maybe they could make it better for waiting customers by providing some seats while they are waiting.
The central location of this restaurant is very convenient for people who are leaving Hong Kong and have a few hours to kill as it is conveniently located under the Airport Express Terminal that takes you (almost) directly to the airport from HK island.
Would I go back? Only if I had some spare time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gl0beTrekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    423
    201
    41
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It really is great - for what it is.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

A meal for one meant an unusually short wait and the food was as great as I remember from the first time I stumbled on this gem three or four years ago when it was in its original, impossible to find, location in Tsim Sha Tsui. The dim sum is excellent, the pork bun gets better every visit and the turnip cake unparalleled. Unfortunately the sticky rice was not available on the night I went.

This is on a very short list of places around the world where I would go for a bite to eat, no matter how short my visit and no matter whether I was hungry or not.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Transplanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Average, fast-food dim sum. 稻香 or 丙胜 in Guangzhou far better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Came here because of the online reviews, against advice from my Hong Kong friends.
There was no queue in this branch when I visited on Monday around 530-730pm.

Had the signature char siew bun, was average, but really much lesser rated after my taste buds have been pampered by 丙胜 & 稻香 in Guangzhou. Tried the prawn and pork rice rolls (肠粉)。This time, I felt many stalls in Malaysia, Singapore, Sydney, Frankfurt Chinatowns etc, have better offers. The same for the carrot cake, glutinous rice in lotus leaf. The Malay cake (马来糕)was too sweet, not fluffy as it should be. That's about what is available on the menu. Very limited choice.

It is just an average stall-next-door. I will not return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuzimomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dim sum of the same ilk as others. Char Siu buns were okay but no to my liking.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Having visited One Dim Sum a few days prior to this visit only made Tim Ho Wan more of a disappointment. The food itself was not as good as several Dim Sum location around Hong Kong, but the selection really doesn't help its cause. A limited selection of dishes but I'm guessing people like it for it BBQ pork buns. I personally prefer the classic Char Siu Bau and only had that to compare it to.

Very average food and rude staff. Eventually they will come undone when more and more people realise the better alternatives. I would say, if you fancy the hour long queue for good food then make your way to One Dim Sum in Prince Edward there is also a delightful Shanghainese dim sum restaurant not too far from Central.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Had to wait for about 45 mins. We had prawn dim sum, absolutely delicious and made perfect, although my daughter had a small plastic in one of the prawns and this was noted to the staff but a discount was automatically deducted. The pork spare ribs I found had good flavours, but had more bones than meat in western terms. The steamed sponge was spongy and nice. The pork buns was nice, but slightly too sweet. Overall dim sum was cheap, delicious and quick in service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tim Ho Wan (Central) also viewed

 

Been to Tim Ho Wan (Central)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing