We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome dim sum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tim Ho Wan (Central)

Tim Ho Wan (Central)
Ranked #84 of 7,794 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome dim sum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Can't fault this place one bit. Great food, cheap prices, fast service in a central location. Best for a quick dimsum but the queues can be quite long at peak times.

Helpful?
Thank London_sag
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    423
    201
    41
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ignore the critics - the constant throngs of customers can't be wrong.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Originally read about the Kowloon location in the Toronto Globe and Mail in 2010, and questioned awarding a Michelin star to a dumpling restaurant. I answered the question today at the IFC Level 2 location, after a few prior attempts that were were defeated by the milling crowds waiting for service. Monday at 4 PM, and I was able to order - two orders of baked BBQ pork buns, shrimp dumplings, beef balls in bean curd skin, fried turnip cake, and the pork ribs - all well prepared and alive with flavour. The amazing part was that the order was $102 HK - an amazing value proposition blending quality, taste, and value. Take out is easy for those not speaking cantonese - ask for the english takeout order menu, make you selections, and 10 minutes later you have those delicious treats for the trip home. Best time to avoid the crowds is 3 - 5 PM. Do it, it's an experience not to be missed, and worth the effort.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1_Diana_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Baked BBQ Pork Buns deserves all the praise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We dug into the Pork and Shrimp Dumplings (Siu Mai) and Shrimp Dumplings (Har Gow) first; they were perfect! Juicy, tasty and well proportioned.

The Turnip Cake (Lo Bak Gou) came next and what a disappointment they were. Slightly under seasoned and verging on the soggy end.

The BBQ Steamed Rice Rolls (Cheong Fun) unfortunately followed suit. The skin itself was delicate however there was hardly any meat filling inside which unfortunately made the whole dish bland.

We saved their hero dish for last and we quickly discovered how people could endure hours of waiting to eat here. To put it best; if there was one thing that we had to come back to HK for, it would be without a doubt these Baked BBQ Pork Buns! The bun itself was perfectly sweetened, fluffy yet buttery and crumbly/crunchy. The BBQ Pork filling that oozed out from within was the perfect amount and also well seasoned. At HK$6 a piece, these buns are way too good and cheap to just stop at 1. The husband actually had 7 that night!

For those who prefer not to wait; they do offer a takeaway service which looked to be ready in only a few minutes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JamAndHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
270 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Amazing value for a 1 Michelin star dim sum palace in the food court of IFC Mall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Late last year I read about Tim Ho Wan in FT. I told myself I had to give it a go when I am in HK next. The branch at the IFC Mall is a heaven for shoppers like me, so a lunch stop downstairs is a convenient treat. When i found it I was shocked to see a long queue of people (more like a huddle of people, because everybody stood in front of the poor receptionist pressurising her for an early table) waiting for a table. There must be 60 diners crammed inside a canteen-like space! You have to share a table with total strangers. There isn't enough space for more than two dishes. I was impressed with the staple local Chinese dim sum - Prawn Cheung Fan (steamed rice roll), braised chicken feet in abalone sauce, prawn har gau, pork and prawn siu mai, steamed coriander and aged orange peel beef meat balls etc. The one dish I had to try in the end, against my strict diet, was the baked Char Siu Bun. The crust on top reminds me of the old 'Pineapple Bun' - sweet sugary thin crust - which sets off well against the savory barbecued pork inside. Be careful if you are dining alone: there are three big buns per serving. I packed two away for my friend. All in all, it is an amazing and refreshing experience. But if you grew up in HK, then don't waste an hour for a table. There are some dim sum palaces nearby which are almost as good. Still, if you are in HK for a few days and need to sample the most typical dim sum dishes, please go to one of Tim Ho Wan branches. Perhaps if you go there before noon you have a better chance of getting in. Beware, don't wear warm clothes even in winter. The place is hot! And don't bring your shopping with you, there ain't no space even for your Birkin bag.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sang F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Mong Kok store is closed. I know because I went there. Twice.

Decided on the one at Central MTR, was not terribly impressed. Caters well to tourists but didn't feel authentic, and I could have gotten something a lot more filling for the same price. You order from a paper menu you check off. I wished they had steamed (not baked) BBQ pork, but it was pretty tasty. At least I get to say I went there, but I doubt I'll be back.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank truediarist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tim Ho Wan (Central) also viewed

 

Been to Tim Ho Wan (Central)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing