We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of insight; little time”

Little Adventures in Hong Kong Food and Walking Tours - Day Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$116.89*
and up
Expert-Led Hong Kong Food and Culture Walk: Sunday Morning in Wan Chai
Ranked #7 of 51 Food & Drink in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Go beyond tours. Come with us on a private, personal walking and food experience that gets you inside Hong Kong. Walks by professionals, not tour guides. Just three guests, maximum. There's no other company like us in Hong Kong, and we're proud to be recognized by the Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Time Out, the Luxe Guide and the Chicago Tribune. If your time in Hong Kong is short, why waste a minute on a cookie-cutter group tour? Get personal, and learn about Hong Kong and what makes it tick from award winning professionals, food and travel journalists. We work with you to design a Hong Kong experience that's perfect for you. If you like culture and history, then it's back streets, hidden temples, old Chinese neighborhoods--even a haunted house! If you love Chinese food, then get ready to indulge, because that's our specialty. Hong Kong has tens of thousands of restaurants and noodle shops, but we've located all the best and we're sharing our secrets with you! (We speak and read Cantonese, so no worries about Chinese-only menus.). Whatever your profession or interest, we can craft a program that will give you the useful information and local intelligence you need to feel at home in Asia's most cosmopolitan city. Our director and your host, Daisann McLane, has unparalleled experience in finding and getting to the heart of the world's great places. She's an award winning travel journalist with National Geographic Traveler, and before that spent six years roaming the world as the New York Times' "Frugal Traveler" columnist. She fell in love with Hong Kong: she wants you to fall in love with this great city, too.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots of insight; little time”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I visited Hong Kong on business with only a few hours free between flights. My hope was explore the city with a guide, in the hopes of making the most of my limited time. Daisann really exceeded my expectations by taking me on a very personalized tour of the cities sights, tastes, history, and culture. Considering that we moved at a very leisurely pace, and never felt rushed, its amazing for me to reflect just how much of a feel I got for the city. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jad99960745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    17
    3
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to truly understand the food and culture of Hong Kong”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Daisann knows and loves HK and the food and cultural experience was exceptional. We gained a real understanding of the Cantonese cuisine and the confidence to try the new and unknown. Engaging with the local community on the walk was a bonus. The 4.5 hours went too quickly. This is a highlight of a HK stay and not to be missed.

Visited October 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
2 Thank kathyAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenia
Level Contributor
277 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“expensive but worth it”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was one of three food-related tours that we did and HKG and it was the most informative regarding the food and ingredients plus taking us to a few really good and off-the-beaten-track places to have a snack.
Daissan, our guide (and the company owner as well) is American, working among other things as a writer for the National Geographic Travel magazine. One can tell. A lot of experience, extensive knowledge and insight. Everything one would expect from a private tour and its guide.
The only downside is the price - at 100 US$/hour it is definitely not cheap. However, if you have little time and are willing to spend a bit more - do it. You will go beyond the "postcard places" of HKG and learn a lot.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Matevz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous Tour & Staff”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Little Adventures in Hong Kong provides an exceptional travel product which took us across some of the most interesting parts of Hong Kong. The company matched our needs and interest and designed two days of activities and sights that fit our needs perfectly. Their guides and staff are some of the to journalists and professional i the city and we were very lucky to get to spend the time with them.

Highly recommended for anyone looking for a premium travel day in Hong Kong. You won't regret it.

Visited October 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Jmitchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hong Kong Must Do”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband, 25 year old daughter and I were lucky enough to spend a morning with Daisann on our recent trip to Hong Kong. Her background on the city, its politics and financial situation as well as general knowledge of Hong Kong life brought the city alive to us in ways we would never have experienced on our own. I highly suggest you book a tour as early as possible during your stay to provide a basis for your time there. Our dim sum lunch was also excellent - need to bring those pork buns back to Chicago! In addition to our tour I felt free to contact Daisann on other matters in Hong Kong and she proved very helpful on several fronts. Interesting, insightful and very enjoyable.

Visited October 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoTravelwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Adventures in Hong Kong Food and Walking Tours - Day Tour also viewed

 

Been to Little Adventures in Hong Kong Food and Walking Tours - Day Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing