We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Experience”

Home's cooking school & wet market tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visiting the unique open Wet Market, joining a fun home's style Cooking Class and getting your best experience to living & culture in Hong Kong. 3-hour per session. Available every weekday morning.
Cork
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Experience”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Myself and my husband spent a wonderful morning with Joyce and even had the added bonus of spending time with her very charming seven year old daughter as she was on holidays from school. The wet market was interesting but for us the highlight was being made to feel very at home in Joyce's own apartment. An opportunity we would never have gotten if not for this class. The cooking was pretty simple but the food was delicious! I wouldn't say I learned any new skills but for us that was not really the purpose of the visit. It was more to get a feel for the Hong Kong way of life.That said, I did pick up a new recipe from Joyce and have even given it a go at home in the few days since our return. Joyce was a fabulous host, with great English and a genuine interest in people. The whole experience was very relaxed and enjoyable.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle13Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    26
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun & Delicious!”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

A really great day tour! Highly recommend!
Our leader Joyce was awesome! Great english, a great fun personality and made it very easy for us to relax and enjoy our time with her.
Starting off in the local markets shopping for the fresh foods we were going to eat that day made it fun to also exciting to meet and engage with the locals.
The time with Joyce is great! She is knowledgable and is able to direct a small group at once. Recipes were emailed to us the day after so we could cook the dishes once home.
If you want to experince a locals knowledge and cook in a local home, this is defeintely a great 5-6 hours!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Najree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec city
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Joyce is a great guide and teacher. We tremendously enjoyed our time with her. She is relaxed and very patient with her visitors. She made us discover and enjoy Hong Kong local food. Our experience has had tremenduous impact on our weekly menu now that we are back home!!
The visit to the market followed by the cooking experience in her own home has allowed us to truly experience a daily local life activity in Hong Kong that is very remote from our north american ways. It was so refreshing and fascinating! Taking a local cooking class is definitely a great way to get to know and truly visit a country. This was not our first cooking class experience while travelling but it was the one that confirmed to us that such activity is a must when on vacation discovering a new country. This activity has substantially contributed to our falling in love with Hong Kong.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NathalieQuebeccity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
“Great morning & market tour!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Eventhough the typhoon is around, the whole cooking experience was wonderful.
Can visit the wet market and experience the culture.
The instructor-Joyce was really nice.
It was a wonderful experiece.

Highly recommended!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank I-Ting C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elora, Canada
1 review
“Lots of Fun”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Just wanted to say how much fun it was joining Joyce last week. Our trip to the market was very entertaining and informative. Cooking up dinner at Joyce's flat was relaxing and tasty. I would recommend to anyone looking for a unique way to taste, see and experience Hong Kong hospitality.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home's cooking school & wet market tour also viewed

 

Been to Home's cooking school & wet market tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing