We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view...”
Review of Above and beyond

Above and beyond
Ranked #49 of 8,549 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Description: Take in the stunning views of the Hong Kong skyline from our 28th floor Chinese fine-dining restaurant, which gained three “fork-and-spoons” in the Michelin Guide Hong Kong Macau 2012. Enjoy exquisitely prepared dim-sum and seasonal Cantonese cuisine together with vintage wines from our private collection. There are three private dining rooms and even a kitchen, should you wish to bring your own chef.We have also recently been selected by Condé Nast Traveller UK to be on their “Best New Restaurant 2012: Hotel Tables” list.
Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Spectacular view...”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The first highlight when you enter the restaurant is the spectacular view to the harbor of Hong Kong. The tables of the restaurant are nicely arranged in order there is no feeling the room will be crowded. The arrangements on the plates of the dishes are an eye catch and the service is efficient.
Of course the prices are according to the high level of the hotel on the upper level. All in all it’s worth a visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MafArt83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    178
    55
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Great location; overlooking the harbor, but seriously over priced. The food really wasn't all that great.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Char J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very good food & service, great views”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Very good food & service, great views.
Some food was slightly undercooked, bummer.
Everything else was excellent

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Immediately feel the cozy ambience once you stepped in. The afternoon tea serves great snacks and desert. We were also there to experience the cocktails before heading for dinner. Totally enjoyed it!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travel_EZ_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Elegant and warm with glorious view”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

After reading several mixed reviews of this restaurant, I kept a open view to access it properly.

My wife and I booked for 7pm, we arrived at around that time and discovered there was not that many people in the restaurant at all maybe one or two other couples, I believe we were a little early for dinner in HK. After being greeted and taken to our table, we took in the wonderful view this location offered, simply amazing. I thought to myself it could be a diversion towards the under par food they will bring out. We had a little discussion with our waiter about the options as my wife is full time vegetarian, it always makes it difficult when eating out as a lot of places don't provide vegetarian meals and they would just take out the meat in some dishes and serve. We ended up choosing the set meal, I think it was the most expensive set meal. The thing that impressed me most was our waiter went out of his way to speak to the chef to inquire about one normal set meal and the second vegetarian which chef would have had to improvise on each dish. And even reduce the price on the veggie side as it wouldn't use some of the finer ingredients the normal option would.

Each dish started coming out, my wife was impressed as I mentioned most of her dishes eaten at any non-vegetarian restaurant are mocked up to exclude meat. We were both impressed with the food and different pallets put on the plate for tasting, Joseph Tse the chef here is a master of getting some of these flavors just right.

We had received about four of our dishes, at this stage the whole place was packed through with guests, we were waiting for our fifth dish. It took about 20min for it come out, I put it down to the amount of people they had to cater for, not only for the restaurant but events and seminars occurring around the building. After this dish I thought the rest of them would take a similar time, I was correct. The rest of the dishes being a further 3 dishes took at least 15 min to come out which sort of left us looking around and simply waiting for food. I have eaten many set meals, they should be about 5 minutes apart just enough to let you rest from the dish just completed and rest up your pallet for the next.

Overall, even considering the reviews about inconsistency and service levels, I could understand where they were getting their comments from. The services levels are a little confusing as there is actually a few different areas where you can treat it as a lounge, bar and restaurant. I have a feeling they are all different sectors of the whole Icon appeal on that level, they are trying to accommodate each and every mood and customer requirement. For a fine dining restaurant I would rate it 4.5 out of 5. They just must get the timing right. Apart from that my wife and i enjoyed the night.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Huey_le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Above and beyond also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 
Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Above and beyond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing