We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food & service, great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Above and beyond

Above and beyond
Ranked #46 of 7,917 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Description: Take in the stunning views of the Hong Kong skyline from our 28th floor Chinese fine-dining restaurant, which gained three “fork-and-spoons” in the Michelin Guide Hong Kong Macau 2012. Enjoy exquisitely prepared dim-sum and seasonal Cantonese cuisine together with vintage wines from our private collection. There are three private dining rooms and even a kitchen, should you wish to bring your own chef.We have also recently been selected by Condé Nast Traveller UK to be on their “Best New Restaurant 2012: Hotel Tables” list.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very good food & service, great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Very good food & service, great views.
Some food was slightly undercooked, bummer.
Everything else was excellent

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    170
    53
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Immediately feel the cozy ambience once you stepped in. The afternoon tea serves great snacks and desert. We were also there to experience the cocktails before heading for dinner. Totally enjoyed it!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travel_EZ_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Elegant and warm with glorious view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

After reading several mixed reviews of this restaurant, I kept a open view to access it properly.

My wife and I booked for 7pm, we arrived at around that time and discovered there was not that many people in the restaurant at all maybe one or two other couples, I believe we were a little early for dinner in HK. After being greeted and taken to our table, we took in the wonderful view this location offered, simply amazing. I thought to myself it could be a diversion towards the under par food they will bring out. We had a little discussion with our waiter about the options as my wife is full time vegetarian, it always makes it difficult when eating out as a lot of places don't provide vegetarian meals and they would just take out the meat in some dishes and serve. We ended up choosing the set meal, I think it was the most expensive set meal. The thing that impressed me most was our waiter went out of his way to speak to the chef to inquire about one normal set meal and the second vegetarian which chef would have had to improvise on each dish. And even reduce the price on the veggie side as it wouldn't use some of the finer ingredients the normal option would.

Each dish started coming out, my wife was impressed as I mentioned most of her dishes eaten at any non-vegetarian restaurant are mocked up to exclude meat. We were both impressed with the food and different pallets put on the plate for tasting, Joseph Tse the chef here is a master of getting some of these flavors just right.

We had received about four of our dishes, at this stage the whole place was packed through with guests, we were waiting for our fifth dish. It took about 20min for it come out, I put it down to the amount of people they had to cater for, not only for the restaurant but events and seminars occurring around the building. After this dish I thought the rest of them would take a similar time, I was correct. The rest of the dishes being a further 3 dishes took at least 15 min to come out which sort of left us looking around and simply waiting for food. I have eaten many set meals, they should be about 5 minutes apart just enough to let you rest from the dish just completed and rest up your pallet for the next.

Overall, even considering the reviews about inconsistency and service levels, I could understand where they were getting their comments from. The services levels are a little confusing as there is actually a few different areas where you can treat it as a lounge, bar and restaurant. I have a feeling they are all different sectors of the whole Icon appeal on that level, they are trying to accommodate each and every mood and customer requirement. For a fine dining restaurant I would rate it 4.5 out of 5. They just must get the timing right. Apart from that my wife and i enjoyed the night.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Huey_le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

As the title says stayed at the hotel and used the restaurant. Excellent quality food and service. A varied menu and extensive wine list to compliment your meal.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JonAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Above and Beyond is a lovely restaurant atop the Icon hotel with a magnificent view of the river and the light show. The food is very good and quite unique and the service is excellent. The pricing was a little high, however the location was great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jradford185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Above and beyond also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Above and beyond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing