We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simply excellent”
Review of Domani - CLOSED

Domani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Admiralty
Ravensburg, Germany
1 review
“simply excellent”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

following recommendations of my HK friends, i went to domani for a late dinner last friday. the place was full - and clearly not by accident. the food was super delicious, and undoubtedly the best italian food i have ever enjoyed. the setting is quite elegant, but it does retain some warm, italian atmosphere. the service was not only swift and very friendly; our waiter even went the "extra mile" to take me down into the metro station to make sure i got on the right train.
my conclusion: awesome food and great staff & management

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LarsRavensburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    35
    14
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Deserves one or two stars”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Not sure if Domani is yet in HK's Michelin but it probably deserves al teast one star.
Creative food, perfectly cooked meat are served in a very pleasant relaxed atmosphere.
Service is very organized but not to formal and quite generous on complimentary drinks.
The final bill is very reasonable for the quality of the diner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLK-HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Taste good... but the portion is really petite...”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Started with a glass of Prosecco (free of charge) and nicely baked bread... a good start of the lunch. Very nice environment with natural light... very comfortable. We (gang of three) ordered from the set lunch menu... but we later on realized that there was pizza (pizza was served in another table) and they were in different menu... then why didn't the waiter show us that menu in the first place as one of us really wanted to have pizza? Anyway food tasted good but the portions were pretty small (for men)... perhaps they knew that we were all on diet... :D

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zayababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“the italian experience”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have been several times at Domani over the years and learned to appreciate the food, the service and the italian flavour given overall to the place by its general manager Stefano Bassanese and the whole crew, serving and preparing the food.
Last saturday, myself and a very good friend from Usa had again a confirmation that the place is indeed the best italian restaurant in Hong Kong.
Food was excellent, grounded in italian raw materials, very fresh but also "innovative" as needed, never giving up the true roots of italian cuisine.
Service was as good as the food, from the welcome smile of Jashoda at the entrance to the attentive serving of various waiters and indeed the coordination of Stefano's second in comand in the restaurant, another talented restaurant professional from the city of Trieste, multilingual and with years of experience in the capital of Austria, Wien.

Too many times in Hong Kong restaurants charging "top dollars" have good service when the general manager andor head chef is in service, while the quality (but not the prices) drop when they are on leave or having the day off.

Domani is not cheap either, but the quality overall is very consistend and the dollars spent worth,

bruno feltracco

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bruno f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I went to Domani's for Sunday brunch. The restaurant is at Pacific Place. It's not inside the mall but located between the mall and the hotels at Pacific Place. Lots of trees around the restaurant which is unusual for Hong Kong.

They call it a lobster semi-buffet lunch, which means appetizer is served buffet style including lobsters. You get to pick an entree out of a selection of items. The appetizer buffet is the best, not one of the best, that I've ever had. They replenish the dishes very quickly.

The ambience and service is excellent. There was even live singing.

The price of course is higher than the usual buffet brunch but it's worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkKwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domani also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing