We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Egg tart”
Review of Maxim's Cake Shop

Maxim's Cake Shop
Ranked #17 of 93 Bakeries in Hong Kong
Restaurant details
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Egg tart”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Although good, not the best in town.. Not even close to the original Portugues egg tart (pastel de nata).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    36
    19
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cakes/pastries”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I always love the cakes of maxim. Every where I go I see maxim cake shop, I have to buy some. They have the best cakes and pastries. It is good to buy some for to go and eat it for breakfast with tea or coffee.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AgnesFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“cheap and the taste was good”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

you can find maxim's cake branches everywhere in hong kong. the price was cheap and the taste was good. cake price from $4-18 per slices. i liked maxim's chocolate cake.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sosweetme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,582 reviews
1,753 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11,992 helpful votes
“Good cake shop, breads ok, take a pass on the snowy mooncakes”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Maxim's Cake Shop is one of several similar cake shop and bakery franchises that specialize in Chinese and western breads, light takeaway snacks and cakes. Maxim's in particular has a local reputation for nice takeaway cakes, being a popular choice for local residents.

In years past we have enjoyed cakes from Maxim',which are tasty, decorative and not too expensive. However, in the past year, we have begun to enjoy cakes from Taipan Bakeries better, finding them to be lighter and a bit nicer. Maxim's remains our second choice for cakes of this nature and type, while we actually seek out Agnes B. Cafes for very nice, higher quality and richer tasting cakes.

Bread products at Maxim's are just average, nothing different that what you can find in other similar bakeries. We prefer that found in the A1 Bakeries when it comes to bread products.

Also, Maxim's sells mooncakes during the Mid-Autum festival period. They sell snowy (cold) mooncakes that we tried this year and weren't too happy with. One variety, the red bean in green bean paste (green skin) snowy mooncake was too mushy but the filling tasted ok (rating 3 of 5), the skin was not enjoyable. We also tried a blueberry cheese mooncake that was actually quite poor. The paste was gooey and the skin too chewy, didn't taste nice. We had to remove it entirely and just eat the filling (rating 1 of 5). Overall, we've not been too pleased with the snowy mooncakes at Maxims.

Overall, Maxims is decent for budget food seekers simply looking for decent value bread products, light takeaways and cakes. However, we prefer other bakeries for pretty much everything they have on offer these days.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
297 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Yummy Mango dessert”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The Mango cup that we had from Maxim was excellent! The Mango cup is with a layer of soft sponge cake and another layer of Mango mousse and top with fresh mango cubes...yummy

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GuteReise88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxim's Cake Shop also viewed

 

Been to Maxim's Cake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing