We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Hotel LBP

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel LBP
Ranked #54 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Booking a business suite is big enough for two or more people. Bed is a little hard and breakfast is simple and good enough to start the day. Improvement should be made in how to keep the foot hot for breakfast. While the area is not great for shopping but it does have some great local restaurants. It is a short 10 minute walk to MTR. It is the staff that make this hotel unique- everyone on the staff is fantastic and a special mention to Pepsi who goes out of her way in accommodating guests checked in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherryZ913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    489
    95
    15
    4
See reviews for
205
508
124
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We arrived early in the morning, after a 12h flight. Because the hotel was full the night before, we could not enter room at 9am. We dropped our luggage over there and explored the amazing city of Hong Kong. When we came back at 1pm, they gave us a very nice - and clean - junior suite instead of the normal room we had booked. We stayed here for two nights and would stay here again without a doubt. In LBP you get a nice room for great value in a quiet but very central location on Hong Kong island, nearby many sights. The breakfast was very nice and we really enjoyed the free (recent!) movies at night.

Stay here and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UtrechtIsMyHometown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I'm a solo traveller and found this hotel to be very secure and I felt safe at all times. On arrival the staff were very friendly and continued to be throughout my stay. They were always polite and willing to help you.
The rooms were very spacious, clean and modern and they always had free bottles of water for you each day along with heaps of towels, shampoo, soap & conditioner. Air conditioner worked very well too.
It was in a great part of Hong Kong too. I chose to walk to most places, Hong Kong station and even to the peak tram but I did get a little exhausted after a while and chose the trains. The hotel was a little walk from Sheng wun station, but I enjoyed the area as it felt like Hong Kong. I had earlier stumbled into soho which was full of westerners. Not that there is anything wrong with that, but when you come from a western culture yourself, it's always nice to get away from it while on holidays.
Free breakfast was pretty good too, considering it isn't a massive chain serving hundreds of people each day, they did pretty well with the range of food.
Enjoyed my stay and will be staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iluvjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I was skeptical of the many positive reviews of this hotel but this hotel overexceeded my expectations. It's located very close to Central in the up and coming Sheung Wan area. We stayed in a business suite with a baby and the room was small, but just enough for us, and immaculate. No bugs. The bed was comfortable and there was lots of storage space. The water pressure was fine; and plenty of hot water. The breakfast buffet was plentiful (I saw a few complaints of how the buffets were small, but honestly, there was more than enough food and one shouldn't overeat!). The front desk staff were extremely friendly and accomodating. They booked our show tickets for Macao, gave us whatever we needed: drink/snack/directions and they were never put off by any of the questions (which I'm sure was repetitive). In a city that is not super clean, this hotel IS clean. The location is safe; there is always someone at the entry on the ground floor. Grocery store and a surly laundromat is across the street. Playgrounds everywhere: this is baby friendly. We are small people so I do agree that if you are tall, I wonder how you would fit in the bed (lengthwise). The windows were soundproof and had blackout curtains: certainly helps when recuperating from jet lag. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are on a budget. Check the hotel's own website for additional specials which we took advantage of, making this hotel more than affordable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank EMC9393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mjölby
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed in a business suite, which was quite small yet enough in size. Comfortable bed and limited but nice breakfast. Location is near the Macau ferry and within walking distance to Star Ferry (around 15 minutes I think). Staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strutchopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this hotel because my 1st hotel choice was fully booked. The hotel was cleaned and the staff were helpful and friendly (with a little English).
BUT, The room is very tiny and small. If your height is more than 180 cm, then, you would have difficulty to shower. I have bumped myself several times with the shower host during my shower.

The bed (180 cm long ) is also small. I needed to bend my knee during my sleeping otherwise, my feet would be hanging.

I think the bedroom wall is made of gypsum. So, we were awakened whenever our next door neighbor came back very late in the evening. The sound of their closing the door and their shower at the middle of the night really disturb our resting time after a hectic long walk at HK.

Now, the breakfast was just so boring, not very much of variations. So, Our 3 days stays at this hotel, we had very much the same thing for breakfast. Mostly, we ate bread, cereal, sausage, burger meat, and coffee (nescafe). There is no "live breakfast" such as scramble egg or omelet.

Considering the price of this hotel, I don't think that the hotel provides a good value. We moved in to Cosmo hotel Mongkok and I think Cosmo (or Dorset hotel now) offers much better value.

Room Tip: I think this hotel is owned by individual business not a big group of hospitality company such as Ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DjonDanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

It is not 5 Star and the rooms are Hong Kong petite, but this hotel is a gem, even for a picky person like me. Location, reception, comfort, and breakfast are excellent. If a lovely, safe, well-maintained, dependable and pleasant boutique hotel in a charming section of old Hong Kong is your taste, you're sure to appreciate LBP and Kitty at the front desk. If you're new to Hong Kong beware, this is one VERY steep and hilly city area to walk. You'll need to be in good shape or count on taxis.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank EdwardTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#34 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,080 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#93 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#81 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,157 reviews
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LBP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LBP

Property: Hotel LBP
Address: Hollywood Centre, 77-91 Queen Road's West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#57 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#80 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel LBP 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel LBP is a smoke-free hotel with 46 rooms, located in the hub of Sheung Wan near Central of Hong Kong, just about few minutes walk from Sheung Wan MTR station, Macau Ferry Terminal and the bus stations, with easy access to the Airport, Soho district and all Commercial Areas of Hong Kong Island. The Sai Ying Pun MTR station between the new extensions of MTR western line will be service in early of March 2015. Hotel LBP will be only 4 minute away from Sai Ying Pun MTR Station, we will keep you update of the schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel LBP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel LBP Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing