We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and decent location, but lil' pricey for offerings”
Review of Hotel LBP

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel LBP
Ranked #61 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This hotel is quite nice. It's a short walk to the Sheung Wan station on the Island Line and a HKD20-25 ride from Central/Lan Kwai Fong area.

Overall, the rooms are very clean and newly renovated - looks like they have a corporate discount at Ikea and/or West Elm. The beds are firm and rooms are pretty well insulated against noise. The bathrooms are compact but very efficient. Water takes a minute to warm-up, but it'll get firey hot if you like an especially toasty shower.

My complaints are few if any. The hotel shares the building with other offices, so you have to go thru a general entryway to get to the lobby on the 4th Floor which can be a little confusing, especially when you're meeting people in the "lobby". The immediate neighborhood is nice and safe, but you have to walk a few minutes to get a coffee, sandwich, dinner, etc. Therefore, you are very CLOSE to the happening neighborhood of SoHo/Lan Kwai Fong, but you're *in* said neighborhoods. I paid over $1100 for a single for four (4) nights during the New Year holiday, which I thought was a bit much to be very-close-but-not-in-the-neighborhood I was partying in.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank midnyterambla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

944 - 950 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2011

Two of us stayed in a Business Suite for three nights. So glad we did this instead of getting a regular room, as even this was on the small side. Still, it was nice to have a separate space with a small dining table and a kitchen area. The kitchenette could have done with a microwave, there was certainly enough space for it.

The bedroom had excellent black-out curtains, which I wish was standard in every hotel room, but isn't always. The bed was nice and firm. The layout in the bedroom was slightly odd, as the bedroom door opened onto the closet door, and they were always clashing. The full length mirror in the bedroom closet was smoked and dark, so although it looked nice, you couldn't really use it for make-up or getting dressed as you could hardly see in it.

The bathroom was tiny and functional, with frosted glass windows and doors. A bit of a gap in the door. I'm not sure how comfortable I would be sharing this room with someone I wasn't very familiar with. The rain shower wasn't powerful enough which was a shame, and the drain was on the side of the wall instead of on the floor, so the water wouldn't drain properly.

I'm putting pictures up of their nice comfortable breakfast room which had a simple but effective spread of fruit, toast, tea, and coffee.

Overall, the room was well sound proofed, which is a big deal to me.

The best thing for me was that you could walk to the MTR quite easily. It took about seven minutes to walk there. I timed it one morning.

However, if you're the type who gets totally bored waiting for the elevators to arrive, then don't stay here! We're usually quite patient, but because this hotel is in a mixed-use building (there were offices and residences, I think), we waited quite often, and quite long for the elevators. Not a deal breaker, but something to consider.

They had free wifi in the rooms, which we used.

Oh, and they provided complimentary Hampstead Tea bags from London, which are organic and fairtrade. We got chamomile, peppermint, and ginger and lemon. I know it sounds lame, but I love getting the same type of tea that I drink at home!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cat666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I selected this hotel mostly because it was a busy weekend, and this was by far the best price I could find. I was very pleased, though it will not be the place for everyone.

Cons:
-Rooms are very small--hardly any place to put a suitcase.
-Shower entry is small--a very large person might not be able to get into it due to narrow entry.
-Lobby is on fourth floor, hotel are on a few floors of high-rise--not your typical hotel layout.
-No MTR (metro) close, though I think new stations are being built, and there is a tram and buses nearby
-Taxi drivers not so sure of location
-Wait for elevator could be long

Pros:
-My room overlooked a garden--not another building! (This is kind of a big deal in Hong Kong)
-Very clean, modern room. Small, but upscale
-Nice extras--a box of quality shampoo, conditioner, etc.
-Boutique feel, small but upscale
-Free wifi
-Great neighborhood
-Check-in service was outstanding. Generally good service.
-Really feel like you are in Hong Kong--locals live and work in this building
-Free (though simple) breakfast. Nice deck.
-Nice, comfortable bed.

I really like the area, which is now my favorite to stay in Hong Kong. Hollywood Road is the oldest road in Hong Kong, and has lots of antique shops and Western bars and cafes. It is a nice walk to soho and not far from the harbour and Sun Yat-sen park. Hollywood park across the street is small, but very nice.

Overall, I really enjoyed this hotel. Another guest complained about the shower not draining properly and also was having trouble with the key card not working on the elevator. I don't think I would have wanted to share my small room with anyone, but as a solo traveler it was almost perfect--if only there was a suitcase stand.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellevret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

This hotel is well run. Friendly and enthusiastic staff. The hotel was clean throughout, but there is an odor from the flush water of the toilet that went away after 30 minutes. We just turn the bathroom exhaust fan on for awhile after we flushed the toilet-not a big deal. The arrangement of the room was well designed and the room was well built. The bedding was comfortable. However the room was small. We had a deluxe room with king size bed. When I sit at the desk, there is no space for my wife to walk through. There is no dinning in this hotel, but it offers continental breakfast only. The location of this hotel is good. It locates in the western district, but within 10 to 15 minutes walk from Central. Compares to the price of the other hotel, this one offers good value.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Modern inside. Nice rooms. Close walk to Trams and car tunnel access.
Breakfast was refreshingly light and good choice. Not the usual heavy buffet.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielHOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in a business suite. The opening prices are very competitive at the moment. Glad we chose the larger business suite as it was a bit more roomy than the luxury king we had originally booked. It was still quite compact, but it had a separate living area so gave the 2 of us a little more space. Had a look in a luxury king and they are tiny, even by HK standards! As the hotel is very new, everything was fresh and the staff are great - really friendly and they try to make your stay pleasant. We found the room quiet and secure. Breakfast was included, but quite simple, however Hollywood Road is right outside the door, so there are plenty of other options if you don't want the hotel breakfast. It is a short walk in the other direction to Des Voeux Road where you can catch one of the cute HK trams. We arrived from the Macao ferry and the hotel was only a 10 minute walk from the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grubduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

stayed here for a few days , got a business suite . Very nicely finished rooms ,very modern . Good location ,Restaurants close by, short taxi ride to soho .
Free Wifi access in room and breakfast included ( breakfast was a bit dissappointing but was free)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#29 of 727 in Hong Kong
1,155 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#78 of 727 in Hong Kong
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Ovolo Southside
#27 of 727 in Hong Kong
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel LBP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LBP

Address: Hollywood Centre, 77-91 Queen Road's West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#79 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $102 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel LBP 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel LBP is a smoke-free hotel with 46 rooms, located in the hub of Sheung Wan near Central of Hong Kong, just about few minutes walk from Sheung Wan MTR station, Macau Ferry Terminal and the bus stations, with easy access to the Airport, Soho district and all Commercial Areas of Hong Kong Island. The Sai Ying Pun MTR station between the new extensions of MTR western line will be service in early of March 2015. Hotel LBP will be only 4 minute away from Sai Ying Pun MTR Station, we will keep you update of the schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel LBP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel LBP Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing