We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little French Cuisine?”
Review of Saint-Germain

Saint-Germain
Ranked #986 of 8,546 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Towcester
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Little French Cuisine?”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is a lovely restaurant to either have a drink or to eat in. Maybe not the cheapest, but in their happy hour, they serve you with large glasses of wine, so the value is in the quantity over all. Their menu contains the right sort of selection you would expect from a French restaurant so do try it and enjoy yourself.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy4939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    29
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A liitle French in Hong Kong”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a great meal at St -Germain. We found the food to be of a great quality and the service was good too. For us coming from Australia we didn't find the food expensive at all. In face for lunch I had a starter of Salmon and it was around AUD$10.00. The plate was full of fresh salmon. My husband had a steak which was delicious also. The day we went the races were not on so it wasn't busy at all. I loved this little place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville TN
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok -- but not great”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We visited this restaurant while in the Happy Valley area. The service is not great and food is ok.

We sat at one of the bar tables that open to the sidewalk. Lots to see if you like people watching but the space is crowded.

We asked for menus and were given the dinner menu. When it came time to order we were told that it was too early to order (5:30) as the kitchen does not open until 6 p.m.. We were asked how we got the dinner menu -- it had been given to us by the bartender.

We waited until 6 p.m. and based on the prior reviews we had the ravioli (appetizer size) and apple tart. The ravioli was as good as the prior reviewers stated but the apple tart was disappointing.

The food and drink prices are very high for the quality and service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Good food but pricey for the area”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We live in happy valley so frequent the restaurants in the area. This has one of the better food menus and usually the food is well done. It has aspirations to be French and partly succeeds in creating a French bistro atmosphere with the small round tables and occasional 'French' service.

That said its expensive for what it is and compared to prices nearby.

If going over the weekend you'll need to book as the restaurant area isn't large.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Saint-Germain”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We both thought the food was very nice but not for the prices they were charging ,we were asked not sure how many times if everything was OK and it seemed we were being rushed .
I would not recommend this to anyone at these prices .

Helpful?
Thank honestdoug1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Saint-Germain also viewed

 

Been to Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing