We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Greek resturant”
Review of Ricks Greek Mezze Bar - CLOSED

Ricks Greek Mezze Bar
Cuisines: Greek
Neighborhood: Central
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Central
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
136 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Authentic Greek resturant”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The menu is authentically Greek. A variety of dishes.

The staff were attentive and efficient.

The lunch set menu did not appeal to us but chose a la carte.

The tsatsiki was memorable and will return for this.

The venue is on the main street of Lan Kwai Fong and you can watch the people pass by on the escalator.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chelledl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    12
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ricks Green restaurant”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Well to start the review, Staff were really helpful and eager to please.

food was ok, although be aware if you order most of the main courses, they do not come with any vegetables/rice/pasta etc. So I had to buy a greek salad, rather than just having a plate of meat.

Food was tasty, but as I have said a little light on anything else.

Easy to find, just off the central escalators on Elgin Street.

My honest bit of advice is ' if you want genuine Greek probably try elsewhere, although the food here is ok'

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdr5358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
206 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Real Mediterranean Food”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I passed by quite accidentally and couldn't resist a taste of Greece, having lived there for years. We were greeted with a request that we were out by 8.30 - which actually is a good sign. We'd arrived at 6, but by the time we'd finished the place was packed and they were turning people away - this was a Monday, so you really need to book. Excellent food, great ambiance, pricey, but then this is central Hong Kong.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Really enjoyed sharing the scallops with blue cheese, the avocado salad and the hummus. Topped off with a nice glass of sauvignon blanc--lovely! A little pricier than we were expecting, but in line with all the other restaurants in the neighborhood. ($420 for dinner for 2)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travelin'CalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
276 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Fab Greek food in middle of soho. Johnny gave us legendary service!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Highly recommend to share the scallops with blue cheese, the Taramasalata is homemade, Rothschild wine good, nice ambiance with full length windows open. Johnny just lovely! Roast chicken with olives, artichokes and potatoes was fab!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HongKongCallisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ricks Greek Mezze Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing