We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so disappointed and very poor location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canadian Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canadian Hostel
Ranked #104 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Metro Manila, Philippines
1 review
“so disappointed and very poor location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

I, together with a friend went for a vacation in HK to distress and have a good time after a very stressful loads of work back home. We arrived in HK so early in the morning and decided to look/check the hostel as directed. FYI, this is our second time in HK so we basically have the idea where and how to get into the said location and address of the hostel. Upon entering the Chungking mansion, there's a lot of so called "goons" following & trying to talk to us. We were oriented not to talk and simply just ignore them. We went directly to the elevator that directs us to the hostel. The elevator was so small, maybe 3-4 persons maximum capacity, scary and with awful smell. I almost puke inside the elevator. As we enter the lobby of the canadian hostel, there was this 2 garbage bins in the corner that will welcome you..a very stinky odor! I literally puke out of control! We headed to the girl named Linda in the reception and asked her if we can check in a little earlier for us to rest. She said check in time is 12:30pm. She said that all rooms are still occupied but someone will go check out in the afternoon and they will also have the clean the room bfore we can enter. That is very understandable, that is why we just leave our luggage with them and promised to return instead at 1pm giving them time to fully clean and prepare the room for us. We roam around, had our breakfast and lunch outside and came back maybe at around 1:15pm. As we came back, yes..the room was ready, but we were not ready on what we will see and about to experience. The room was sooooo small, enough for a midget persons. Linens are very poor. Very dirty and it smells so awful. Not well lighted. Only one bulb is working. The room is located one step away from the reception, so u can hear even the simple steps and all movements outside. Bathroom is so small, you cant move the whole time your'e inside the bathroom. Lights are very poor. No towel ready as provided. No shampoo. Water heater is unpredictable. We only used it only for two days. Small Tv is provided but without cable. In fairness with them, wifi is good. The Tissue/napkin provided is with very low quality. You can't even dry ur hands with it. Drinking water is provided but i doubt it because its not sealed. I asked them about it & they said they were just refilling it downstairs. No hanger provided. The door knobs is not good, keys are very rusty. Overall, we didnt enjoy our stay. Its no good at all and not a decent one to stay. Location is accessible to main city attractions but the hostel is really not a safe place to stay. We were really disappointed as it is not the same as what was written in the past reviews.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nursejen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacky M, Owner at Canadian Hostel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your review. Please note that the bins are a recycling corner. Please note as a budget accommodation - space isn't our number one priority. However, the light bulb not working and linen being dirty is not acceptable and I thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Towels are provided to all guests and are changed every day - if none was provided to you, please request the staff members next time at any accommodation or go to reception where they can help you out with any issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    20
    9
    12
See reviews for
2
12
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

I didn't expect much from the beginning! The room was VERY small. If you have check in luggage, you wont be able to stay in. Also if you are big and tall person, you will have hard time to move around and use washroom. Also, the bed was not comfortable so don't expect good sleep out of it.

The best thing about this hostel is the location and the staffs were nice and helpful.

Room Tip: See different rooms first! Don't just take the room that they give you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monsieur_park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacky M, Owner at Canadian Hostel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the location of our accommodation. As previous mentioned, space is very limited and scarce and we try to make the most out of every nook and corner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I and three of my friend stayed in Canadian Hostel for 2 nights, Jan 15-17, 2014. The hostel is located in ChungKing Mansions Block E. The front desk is at 7th floor and we got room at 3rd floor. It is the new room and quite clean. It is easy to find the building, only 100 m from Tsim Sha Tsui MTR Station (Exit D1) and not far from bus stop, Cityflyer bus A21 to the airport. They have a friendly and helpful staff (especially Manajeet). The hostel also has a good security system, they have a door in each block that can only be accessed by the guest and staff. They also provide a water heater, with tea, coffee and sugar. And free wifi too. On the last day, after check out time, we left our luggage to the staff and took it back on 10 pm.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greta10585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacky M, Owner at Canadian Hostel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thanks for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - I will pass on your kind words to Manjeet! As you mention, we have recently installed customer and staff only access cards. We also provide luggage storage without any extra cost as you mention - all of this to make sure the budget traveler doesn't face too many difficulties during their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hostel last Nov. 13 in celebration of my birthday in Hong Kong. It is located in the busy Nathan road, Tsim Sha Tsui. You can easily find the building (Chungking Mansion) as, if you take the MTR from airport, there are directions to the building. If you take the bus, it is just a stone-throw away from the 13th stop of the cityflyer bus A21 on your left.We stayed in a double room. It is very small but we don't mind it anyway as we will just be staying here to sleep when midnight comes. It has a cold AC, a wall fan as well, hot & cold shower, and of course free towels and soap. They also give free flowing coffee but they do not have a water dispenser for cold H2O. It is being managed by an Indian national (I supposed), and they are very accommodating to us. They make sure that the room is always clean because whenever we come back from our day trip, the bed & the towels are made new. Though of course, you must always bring with you all your valuables when your outside just for assurance..

Overall, I can say that if you are looking an accommodation in TST, this is a good place to be in specially if you are on a tight budget!

Room Tip: ask a room with a window if they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enegue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacky M, Owner at Canadian Hostel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoy our commitment to cleanliness. Please note that valuables and other items are completely safe being left in the room - our staff is loyal and we also have 24 hour CCTV cameras installed in the lobby and public area of the property to ensure that the guest and their valuables are safe and secure. You may also leave anything at reception - where it will be locked and can be returned to you whenever you wish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I had to stay in Hong Kong recently for an unexpected length of time due to passport issues and so chose here whilst I found something more long term as the price was right.

The hostel (or Guest House as it is marketed in some places) is located in Chungking Mansions which unless your internet research is very shoddy you should be aware has a reputation of being a tad seedy (although actually it is not really). Check in is at the seventh floor, Block D, but where you stay is entirely dependent on where they have room as they have several properties spread out the complex.

I had prepaid by Internet so check in was pretty quick, I was shown to my room by the owner. The room was obviously recently re done to a very high standard. Despite being a double, it was the size of my bathroom at home including the bathroom here, however was manageable as a place to shower, store your luggage and sleep.

The wifi was intermittently off and meant I had to keep going to another floor to get it reset.

For the price paid, location and cleanliness I think it is worth it. Chungking Mansions is an eclectic mix of cultures and probably is not for the well traveled or intimidated, however if you ignore the persistent touts at the entrance and just do your own thing then you should be fine. You can find pretty much any kind of ethnic food here, there are three very cheap laundries that will wash and dry your clothes the same day and I found the place grows on you after a while.

There are a plethora of Guest Houses in Chungking Mansions so if you are planning on staying for a while for whatever reason don't book too many nights in advance and then you can take your pick later.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacky M, Owner at Canadian Hostel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Apologies for the Wireless Internet Issue and was actually the router having issues which has now been replaced with the Latest High Speed Wireless Routers to ensure very fast internet for all guests.

Also, thanks for the suggestions for food and laundries for other guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I, together with my companions, stayed in Canadian Hostel for 2 nights, Sept 4-5 and I highly recommend this hostel for travelers. Although the rooms were small, they were clean and the hostel staff were kind and very accommodating especially the manager, They made our stay comfortable and Jacky was very helpful attending to our needs. When we checked out early on the 3rd day as we were going to Macau, Jacky even allowed us to leave our luggage without any extra fee. That was very nice. If and when I return to Hongkong, I will stay in this hostel again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mabelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacky M, Owner at Canadian Hostel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thanks very much for your review and kind words. As mentioned, we offer free luggage storage for guests that may have flights later on in the evening of their check out dates.

We look forward to your stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nah Trang
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hostel it self is fine. The rooms are very clean and the air conditioning works well. Once in the room we felt safe and was happy to leave our belonging while we were out. The guy who checked us in was pleasant and although not over the top showed us to our room in a polite manner. The hostel itself is located in the infamous 'Chungking Mansion' which will not be to everyone's taste, you will be bombarded by people selling food, sim cards, hotel rooms etc... however once I had dropped my backpack in the room it was a good place to explore. My main problem with the hotel was the lift, It was painfully slow always busy and the alternative stairs were something from a horror show with awful smells hanging wires and dark damp stairways.

The location is perfect a 5 minute walk to the harbour and the musesums making visiting Hong Kong island very simple

Considering the price, I would stop here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Backpacker558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacky M, Owner at Canadian Hostel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do understand the issue with the lift but it was originally built as such. The stairways are now being renovated by the Management of the Building and will be much better than your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kamal Traveller Hostel
Kamal Traveller Hostel
#107 of 243 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Marrigold Hostel
Marrigold Hostel
#87 of 158 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kamal Deluxe
Kamal Deluxe
#99 of 158 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Apple Hostel
Apple Hostel
#23 of 158 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Fortunate Guest House
Fortunate Guest House
#92 of 158 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Pearl Premium Guest House - Premium Guest House Limited
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadian Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadian Hostel

Property: Canadian Hostel
Address: Flat E6, 7/F, Block E, Chung King Mansions, No.40 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadian Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canadian Hostel HK is a budget friendly accommodation located in Tsim Sha Tsui - the center of HK!Guests can enjoy numerous free amenities during their stay - coffee/tea/water/wireless internet: all at no extra cost!Every room comes with private en-suite, air conditioning, LCD TV with local and some international channels.Send us an e-mail if you have any questions or would like to make a reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Canadian Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadian Hostel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing