We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shocking company!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of TurboJet

TurboJet
Book In Advance
More Info
$139.00*
and up
Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong
Ranked #59 of 807 things to do in Hong Kong
Attraction details
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shocking company!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Be very careful of this company. Make sure you buy a return ticket.

We had been told that we didn't have to buy a return ticket at your Hong Kong desk, as there were lots of ferries coming back from Macao overnight.

Wen we got to the Macao ferry port at 12.30am, we were told that there were no available ferries until 7am. I instantly found this hard to believe, as the ferry port wasn't that busy and seeing that a ferry leaves Macao every 30 mins. I also asked the man on the ticket booth if there was a stand by queue, to which he replied 'no, you will have to wait until 7am'.

A few minutes later I approached another man on a different ticket booth, who informed me that there was in fact space on the 6.30am ferry. I found this service absolutely disgusting. To make matters worse, local residents were buying tickets for the 1am and 1.30am ferries.

To our amazement, suddenly, a man starting selling tickets around the back of the kiosk on the side. I would say that he had around 100 tickets for sale, which he wanted to sell for $800 dollars each. Again this is an absolute disgrace!

In the end one of your employees told us that there was a stand by queue, in which we managed to join and get on the 3am ferry.

The whole experience was dreadful and not one that I would have expected from this company. Don't expect that you will get on a late ferry, even though there seem to be lots available. Get a return ticket before you go!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Gazden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    231
    100
    22
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not as good as it claims”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Website does NOT make it clear that you can ONLY use this service if you are booked on one of the airlines it is linked to. If you are not it is required to go to HK and take the Airport Exoress. Crazy, but a fact of life!

Helpful?
Thank mjlsManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible trip”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Last Thursday, we travelled from Hong Kong to Macao for one day trip. There's a gal in the counter called First Ferry Macao recommend us to buy a round trip so that we can go back anytime before 10.30 p.m. She confirmed the flexible return eventhough the ticket printed as 10.30 pm. During the back time around 5pm in Macao to Hong Kong, the staffs stopped us from going in the ferry gate. They asked us to queue and wait under 'standby mode' and explained to us that if the passengers in 5pm didn't turns up then there will be a vacant seat for us. While we proceed to the long queue (more than 100 peoples), we noticed the counter still selling the tickets. Everybody were so frustrated, some keep scolding the staff-in-charge while some waitng patiently at the long queue.

We wait for approximately 1 and half hours and finally we managed to catch up 7pm ferry to hong kong.

The ferry is shaking violently and some of the passengers vomit. We both felt uncomfortable eventhough we had taken med to prevent the faint. We swear we are not going to buy ticket from this co anymore

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“your ride from HK to Macau”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

it was a little rough ride from HK to Macau because it was rainy season when we went there but Im glad that the vessel was fast it only took an hour.. We left Macau at 1am and im glad we were still able to get discounted tickets. I fell asleep on our way back though lols

from TST it was a 20min tiring walk to get to the terminal which was inside a mall .. i believe the ticket cost is hkd151/oneway/person for economy class

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank mahcoolet08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fast, efficient ferry at a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I traveled to Macau and back from Hong Kong in “super class” on a TurboJet ferry with a friend for one epic night of partying in Asia’s Vegas. The ferries are quick to load and unload, and the journey itself takes a little over an hour. Even with a window seat, there isn’t a lot to see or do on the boat, so make sure your phone or laptop is fully charged before you head off.

Sadly, our cellphone service died while we were still in sight of the pier at HK, and there was no Wi-Fi option on the boat, nor was there an inter-provider agreement with Three to allow connections in Macau without a new SIM card. There are SIM card dispensing machines right in the terminal at either end, but bring your credit card and plan ahead.

The “super class” breakfast meal of instant ramen and beer was hilarious, but appreciated nonetheless. Definitely pack your favorite nausea/motion sickness prevention pills, because this is a bumpy ride.

Plan your journey ahead of time by checking the schedule and buying tickets online.

Recommended.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TurboJet also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to TurboJet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing