We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fast, efficient ferry at a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of TurboJet

TurboJet
Book In Advance
More Info
$139.00*
and up
Day Trip to Macau from Hong Kong
Ranked #57 of 812 things to do in Hong Kong
Attraction details
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fast, efficient ferry at a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I traveled to Macau and back from Hong Kong in “super class” on a TurboJet ferry with a friend for one epic night of partying in Asia’s Vegas. The ferries are quick to load and unload, and the journey itself takes a little over an hour. Even with a window seat, there isn’t a lot to see or do on the boat, so make sure your phone or laptop is fully charged before you head off.

Sadly, our cellphone service died while we were still in sight of the pier at HK, and there was no Wi-Fi option on the boat, nor was there an inter-provider agreement with Three to allow connections in Macau without a new SIM card. There are SIM card dispensing machines right in the terminal at either end, but bring your credit card and plan ahead.

The “super class” breakfast meal of instant ramen and beer was hilarious, but appreciated nonetheless. Definitely pack your favorite nausea/motion sickness prevention pills, because this is a bumpy ride.

Plan your journey ahead of time by checking the schedule and buying tickets online.

Recommended.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    237
    103
    22
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fast and comfortable journey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We traveled one way from Macau to Hong Kong

We had never traveled in a high speed ferry before, so I was quite impressed by how fast the ferry was going. I was expecting a slow boat ride.

That makes sense- as the distance between hong kong and macau is probably around 100 km, and we traveled in around 70 minutes - so the ferry must have been going at around 100 km/hr.

There isn't much to do when you are in the ferry. You can look outside, if you get a window seat. Otherwise, you can take the time for a nap, if you are busy with all the sightseeing.

The immigration at hong kong's side was quick as most people were hong kong residents. However we did have an interview as we are not.

Its definitely the only mode of getting between Macau and Hong Kong worth considering. The ferries are so frequent that they set sail every 15 minutes or so.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank aravindv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
123 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“For a quick trip to Macau”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We purchased tickets for our trip using the automatic dispensing machine - extremely simple to use, just make sure you select the correct seat class because the default is for Super Class. Walk down one more bridgeway to the Turbojet ticketing area. Once through you will head down and through immigration. After clearing immigration - make sure you have your declaration form completed - you will head to the boarding area. The seats are comfortable and the rocking fairly limited once you get out of the harbor area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank CharityK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A Great Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We broke up our trip to HK with a two day visit to Macau. We took the high-speed ferry from the Shuk Tak Center on the Hong Kong side. Inside was chaos so we wisely chose "Premium" Class. That got us into a lounge away from the bedlam and comfy seats at the front of the boat - they served breakfast on the way over, lunch on the way back - including beer. A staffer also helped us by taking us to a locked elevator that went right to the dock - I tried to tip him and he wouldn't take it. However all that relaxation evaporated when we hit the Macau immigration queues - enormous, took a good 20 mins to get through with people cutting in front of you even steps away from the immigration officer! (Was smoother on the return.) Definitely worth the extra money.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PanAm007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fast & Efficient Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

As we were pressed for time, we took the TurboJet to Macau for a day trip. We paid a little more for Super Class - money well spent to ensure a relatively crowd-free ride with priority disembarkation upon arrival of our destination. The on-board snacks were decent and the service courteous. We were also able to modify our departure times on pre-paid tickets without too much hassle. A tip - you can get free shuttles to and from the Venetian Casino in the Cotai strip, a 25 minute ride.

Helpful?
1 Thank MazV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TurboJet also viewed

 

Been to TurboJet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing