We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect ramen”
Review of Butao Ramen

Butao Ramen
Ranked #275 of 8,564 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Japanese
Neighborhood: Central
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Central
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect ramen”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

It was my first time in hong kong and one of the things i was eager to try was the ramen in butao king as it was making a lot of buzz on the internet. We went to the tsim sha tsui branch as it was near the place we were staying. It is located almost at the end of the left side of minden avenue. Me and my friends do not speak or read chinese so it was hard for us to look for the restaurant just until we stumbled upon it. I dont know for the one located in central, but the queue in tsim sha tsui was tolerable and there were seats provided. We were provided with a sheet so we could already choose the soup base and other details. It was my first time so i just ordered the original butao. Inside the store were just barely ten tables. We shared the table with one guy in a suit (i think he was japanese). When we finished ordering, it just took 5 minutes for our orders to arrive. The serving was quite more than enough but not overwhelmingly big. The soup was absolutely creamy and exploding with flavors. Almost just like the pork bone delicacies back home. The noodles were cooked perfectly. Pepper and sesame seeds were condements at the table to complement the richness of the soup. Overall it was a good eatery and definitely will be one of the reasons i will be going back to hong kong.

Helpful?
2 Thank Kirby R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    51
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“must go restaurant when u go to hk”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

it is a must go restaurant when u r in hk..the ramen is just soooo tasty.and the soup is very thick too.exactly what i want!highly recommended!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Favorite Ramen Joint in Hong Kong”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

It's hard to imagine how one ramen place can stand out so much against the rest, but there is something about the service, the soup, the ingredients, the attention to detail ie. thickness of taste/soup/noodle, the extra complimentary toppings at each table that makes the 1/2 hour wait to get a table worth it. I will go back, again and again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JanineBertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Japanese Ramen in Hk, as being in Hakata or Sapporo”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We went together with my wife, you have to queue because there are only few seats available and you have to share the table with other people.
Forget big service,it s a quick eat and go restaurant. But it s worth. You quickly choose which ramen you prefer( you have 4 choices) then the dressing and in few minutes you get the yummiest ramen as you can find in Sapporo or Hakata.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fupipusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If Samurai Made Ramen”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This bowl of ramen is lethally delicious. These are the kinds of meals that leads to silence only being broken by grunt of approval from across the table which is instantly returned with mutual vigour. Every element of the dish is exceptional in freshness, preparation and attention to quality. It just looks good.

I'm western, I don't really know what's going on in that bowl and I don't mind that, in fact I like it like.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimb0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butao Ramen also viewed

 

Been to Butao Ramen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing