We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not WOW”

Bistecca Italian Steak House
Ranked #88 of 8,734 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central
Description: A new concept in fine dining Italian style. With rustic themes of Tuscany, Bistecca brings a touch of Italy to the heart of Lan Kwai Fong. Sizzling steaks, fresh pasta, wonderful antipasto and desserts, all with an Italian influence is what Bistecca is about. Supported by a stunning array of Italian wines, Bistecca introduces superb dining with a provincial Italian touch.
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“OK but not WOW”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Bistecca's meats are great but the rest is a bit disappointing. As in all the expensive steak houses in Hong Kong we were expecting a stellar service, high quality food and a satisfying evening but we were left a bit disappointed. The ambience is cozy and the place looks nice and lively. The service was a bit sloppy from some members of the staff. Our steaks were great but the sides and other dishes did not do the delicious meat any justice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tilena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    85
    25
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“First visit: great. Second visit: a letdown...”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

As Canadians living in India, we often long for a good steak so when we travel it's always the same question: "where's the beef?". Last December, we found Bistecca in LKF in HK and it was so good, we decided to go again while we were there last weekend.

I made the reservation by email and rec'd confirmation from the restaurant. We were set. So on Saturday, we had a full day of sightseeing and shopping and headed back to the hotel to get ready for dinner. Only to find a note under our door stating that if we didn't reconfirm by 6pm, we would lose the reservation. Considering I already had a confirmation which did not indicate I had to reconfirm the day of the reservation, I found this message somewhat disturbing. What would've happened if I hadn't returned to the hotel before dinner?. Nonetheless, we reconfirmed and headed out for our big steak dinner.

We ordered the Delmonico steak to split between us with sides of mushroom and thrice cooked fries but the main focus was on the steak -- it was delicious. Matched with an excellent Australian Shiraz, the dinner was exactly what we had hoped.

Sadly, the service did not match the food. It was slow, unprofessional, and mistakes on the bill at the end of the meal. I was so disappointed that we spent that much money on a wonderful evening only to be let down by the wait staff.

There are too many great restaurants in Hong Kong with amazing food so I have no reason to return to Bistecca for poor service. Perhaps it was a bad night for them, but for the $$ we spent, that's their problem, not mine.

Now looking for a new steakhouse for our next visit to HK (the greatest city in the world).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Knuknuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“It is worth every effort to find this hidden place”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Great relaxed atmosphere in this small restaurant. The interior is relatively dark, there are wooden tables with candles and nice brick walls. The meet was perfect and I also liked the zuccini fries.The service was not perfect but this is also not a place where you expect a waiter standing behind your table and you can snip with your fingers.
I would recommend this place to go out with friends. For a business dinner this place is too loud.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Go100go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the most disappointing meals i have ever had in Hong Kong”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The services was terrible, the food over priced and not up to their previous high standards. We have eaten here several times in the past. The tenderloins still had silver skin attached, they were over cooked, we asked for medium rare. The "new potatoes' were way past new! Best described as "tired". Staff were oblivious of empty wine glasses and we had to pour our wine ourselves. When we did not order dessert immediately the cheque was presented even though we had not finished our wine. We were told someone was waiting for our table and please pay the bill!! All together a bad exprience and a restaurant NEVER to be visited again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“best steak in HK”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

food was delicious, we got rib eyes, that by the way were cooked at perfection. the meat is juicy and the ambient is very pleasant.

wine list is good, with options for all budgets.

i tried another few steak houses in HK, nevertheless this one was the best so far. the only issue is the price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arthur c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistecca Italian Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Bistecca Italian Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing