We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you don't mind the choppy ride”
Review of Cotai Water Jet

Cotai Water Jet
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.23*
and up
Cotai Water Jet Round-Trip Ferry Tickets Between Hong Kong and Macau
Ranked #72 of 828 things to do in Hong Kong
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our maritime jet fleet – renowned for its fast, efficient, and hassle free service – offers passengers up to 86 sailings per day between the Hong Kong-Macau Ferry Terminal, the Hong Kong-China Ferry Terminal, the Hong Kong Airport Skypier, and the Macau-Taipa Ferry Terminal and Macau Outer Harbour Ferry Terminals.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Good if you don't mind the choppy ride”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were staying in Sheraton Hotel at Cotai Strip so the hotel staff recommended that we take the complimentary shuttle service to Taipa Ferry Terminal for Cotai Jet to our next destination in Hong Kong island.

We took Turbo Jet from HK Airport to Macau on our arrival, so comparing the two ferries, I prefer Cotai Jet, because it looked so much newer, both the exterior as well as the interior of the ferry. And I also like the fact that the seats are assigned so we didn't have to rush to get into the ferry just to get seated together as a family, because I was travelling with two young children.

It took almost an hour after boarding to reach our destination. I found Cotai Jet ships travelled slightly slower but somehow the ride was more choppy. At one time, my 6 YO daughter was coming back to her seat from the restroom and the ferry hit a wave which sent her "flying" and she landed on her bottom! It was a hilarious sight! And no, she wasn't hurt. Thank goodness.

One more thing, I was very impressed by the cleanliness of the restroom because usually restrooms in ferries can be a nightmare, so I was very surprise to find the restroom free from odour and wet floor.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheong C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    170
    58
    21
    25
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East London, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A Very Efficient Service to Macau.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

There are a number of ferry services between Hong Kong and Macau and this is one of the better ones. Their ferries are in excellent condition and the trip is quick and efficient. It felt more like being inside an aircraft. What's more is that you land in Taipa terminal which is less crowded than the main one downtown in Macau.
However in two years time one will be able to go by road from Hong Kong to Macau once the road bridge/ tunnel is completed. I think that I would still prefer the ferry trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MervynGatcke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Shame the view is distorted”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

If all you're bothered about is getting from Kong Kong to Macau (and/or back) then the Cotai service is fine. I travelled outbound on Cotai and return on TurboJet and, to be honest, there's not really that much to choose between them economy class wise. Cotai staff are definitely friendlier and their ferries feel a little better kept. On the outward journey the Cotai craft was overtaken by three TurboJets (two jetfoils and one catamaran like the Cotai), so maybe TurboJet is a little quicker. Cotai is a little cheaper.

But, and it's a big but for me, if one of the reasons you're taking the trip is to enjoy the scenery DO NOT TRAVEL COTAI ECONOMY CLASS. The downstairs windows have advertisements painted over them and although they use a kind of mesh that allows you to see through, the view is not clear and is out of focus. TurboJet don't do this and I much preferred their experience, because the views are so spectacular. But I acknowledge that for most on board this is not an issue. If you are wanting to look out, get in line early and ask for a window seat at the final ticket check, as seats are randomly allocated and the rows are about 16 seats across, so obviously window seats are few and far between.

Be aware that Cotai takes you to Taipa, whereas TurboJet go to downtown Macau. If you're booking is based entirely on cost and you're actually heading downtown, factor in the cost of getting there and you may not save any money by travelling Cotai.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Mordrydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Better Than TurboJet!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The jet itself is very good and 100% better than the Turbojet plus this one is also cheaper. The staff is good and talk to you with a smile. The staff at Turbojet seems like they havent been paid since months. The seats at Cotaijet are much better. The only 2 problems are that they have limited ferrys and second they do not serve vegetarian food. Apart from this, Cotaijet wins hands down over Turbojet.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank HarshadG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fairly Good”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We rode cotai from HK to Macau, the journey was pretty shaky but all in all it was still fairly comfortable. The whole journey took around an hour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BaldwinSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotai Water Jet also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Cotai Water Jet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing