We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointing”

Arun Thai Restaurent
Ranked #1,442 of 8,564 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointing”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We LOVE Thai food and eat it often...so this was a huge disappointment.

Atmosphere: so so. We were in the back and it felt a bit claustrophobic.
Service: rather cool and distant

We tried 2 dishes here. Green Mango Salad Pla Dook $128HKD and Northeastern Fish Isaan $248.Jasmine Rice $18

The Mango Salad was described in English as fried Catfish (which is Pla Dook). It was a huge bed of deep fried tempura batter that might have had the faintest amount of fish hidden inside but we couldn't find it. It had a small bit of tangy green mango salad on top. The proportion was entirely wrong. It was very heavy with all the oiliness. It looked pretty but was nearly inedible.

The Fish was described as Mandarin which we don't have any idea what that is? It seemed like a spotted grouper perhaps? It was a small fish, nice presentation. Deep fried with fresh herbs: lemongrass, mint, basil and shallots. This dish worked better in flavour and was not too oily but it lacked sauce. Everything was so dry.

Drinks were $55 for a simple bottle of beer. Add in 10% service and we found this quite expensive for a small and unsatisfying meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank poboxearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    29
    14
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Thai food”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We visited this restaurant last night and had some of the best Thai food I have tasted outside of Thailand. The owner spent time talking to us about his restaurants and Thai food from different regions. He prepared a stir fry prawn dish and a chicken curry which were outstanding. Both dishes were from North Thailand and did not have the standard coconut milk. The dishes had a well balanced mix of Kaffir lime leaves, baby ginger, vegetables and just enough heat to give it that Thai taste. This restaurant is in Kowloon next to the Hyatt.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nyasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Surprise, surprise”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

As lovers of Thai food in Sydney, we did not really expect a Hong Kong experience to match that. It did, and more. Generous portions and flavoursome had us returning twice. Relaxing, great service and good conversation with the owner Kham. A good selection of wines also on offer. Highly recommended if you're looking for somewhere quiet to chill out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fantastic tasty Thai”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Lovely fresh and tasty Thai, in a comfortable setting where you aren't expected to rush your meal. Generous portions and a great menu to choose from, and friendly efficient service. A little on the pricey side for a family meal, but highly recommended - we will definitely make a point of returning next time we are in town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fresh cheap Thai food in HK”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Enjoyed thoroughly.

Highly recommend the papaya salad - delicious and fresh. Although everything we ordered was good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank katefrommelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arun Thai Restaurent also viewed

 

Been to Arun Thai Restaurent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing