We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic tasty Thai”

Arun Thai Restaurent
Ranked #1,200 of 7,948 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic tasty Thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Lovely fresh and tasty Thai, in a comfortable setting where you aren't expected to rush your meal. Generous portions and a great menu to choose from, and friendly efficient service. A little on the pricey side for a family meal, but highly recommended - we will definitely make a point of returning next time we are in town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    29
    13
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fresh cheap Thai food in HK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Enjoyed thoroughly.

Highly recommend the papaya salad - delicious and fresh. Although everything we ordered was good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank katefrommelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Arun Thai Restaurent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Having been to Thailand many times it's tough not to compare to the authentic version, but for the food flavour, presentation and value for the money, it is all there. I usually eat here each time I stay in Hong Kong, which is around 6-8 times a year, and consistently have received good service and tasty food. You can request your level of heat (by chilli's) which I feel is always necessary with Thai food for the differences of the palates. My favourite; Stir Fried Prawns with Holy Basil, and Steamed Fish with Lemongrass, Chilli and Basil. If you love mango sticky rice you get the smartest serving here; one scoop of black sticky rice, one scoop of white sticky rice, both with coconut cream on top, 2 layers of fresh mango and the best - an extra shot glass portion of the coconut cream, since there is never enough!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marion_Carter1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
164 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very nice meal and lovely service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stumbled onto this place on a hot rainy HK night - what a nice surprise! We were immediately made to feel welcome. Arjun is a tidy, hip joint tucked in among more authentic, but dubious, traditional restaurants. The food was tasty...as one reviewer stated, maybe not the most innovative... but all very good and fresh. A bit on the expensive side, but after 8 days in China it was nice to have a change of food and venue. Will definitely return.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Mixed bag contemporary Thai”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

The hype suggested cutting edge contemporary Thai, along the lines of David Thompson's superb ventures. Not to be. Tasting plate of starters was nice, but served in shot glasses, difficult to eat. Chili factor of mains out of synch with the "chili icon" guide, and the food itself pleasant, but just that. Wine list ordinary. And the service was off hand and plainly uncoordinated. That said, if this was a cheap restaurant you would be inclined to call it a "find". But it is not, and I would not recommend.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 112358-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arun Thai Restaurent also viewed

 

Been to Arun Thai Restaurent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing