We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair enough if you're out most of the time and stay short”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
Ranked #459 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fair enough if you're out most of the time and stay short”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Hotel we normally go was fully booked and others in the same category too so we eventually found two rooms here. Reception: time consuming, slow and kinda not so professional. Rooms: small, old, smelly. Breakfast: almost zero choice and poor quality too. That's it. Let's add if you stay like us for two days and eventually just need to sleep a few hours per night then it's more than acceptable. I for sure wouldn't want to stay there for a week.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Innovation Sola... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your comment posted on Tripadvisor.

I guess you checked in during the periods between 12:00 pm to 2:00 pm or 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm when they are usually peak hours for check in and check out. Usually, we have three to four guest service officers and assistant manager to stand by and look after our guests. Normally it takes only 5 to 8 minutes time to register for guests unless the hotel has tight situation in the morning when the night before running more than 95% occupancy.

Guestrooms of similar class of hotels in downtown are relatively small especially in prime location such as Causeway Bay. Like most of the key cities, space is indeed a luxury in Hong Kong.

We serve American buffet breakfast. Our service counter provides apple and orange juice, five hot dishes, cereals, green salad, toast, Danish pastry and yogurt and of course coffee and tea.

We aim at delivering friendly, efficient, location convenience and value for money service to our guests which most of our guests appreciate.

We look forward to the opportunity to serving you again.

Yours sincerely

Raymond Siu
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    112
    134
    62
    63
See reviews for
45
108
60
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Whilst we were forewarned that the rooms were ridiculously small, even for Hong Kong standards, the customer service was very disappointing! The front desk staff was always curt to the point of unfriendliness. Lighting is insufficient in the room, the ornate chandelier offers very little light. A couple of bedside lamps could have been installed easily to remedy this problem. Check that your room rate doesn't go up in the middle of your stay due to the start of the exhibitions; we were not informed of this before we checked in. Also bring your own clothes hangers as there aren't many.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MazV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear madam

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.

In fact, we have a good number of comments on friendly service. Despite, we have taken your comments seriously and shared with the service team for improvement. From time to time, we have briefing the team to reinforce the importance of guest service and practice to serve our guests better.

We appreciate your comments on lighting. The hotel management is addressing the issue and working on the improvement plan. We have recently changed the light bulb on chandelier on 30% of the guest rooms and are pleased with the improvement. Phase two will soon start and we are aiming at the completion by end of November or December.

The hotel provides enough number of hangers in each guest room and our housekeeping department is ready to provide more should our guest request for it.

Might I thank you for your comments again and our team will continue its effort to provide friendly and efficient service in a convenient location.

Yours sincerely

Raymond Siu
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

What can I say, the hotel I usually stay at was fully booked, so I had to move here for a night before I could check into the usual digs.

Let's just say that the reservation and check-in process was much longer than other hotels in the area and typical speedy HK service. The rooms are ridiculously small, even for the area. Considering the price of the hotel, there are definitely better options if you just spend a little bit more. Location is pretty good though, close to the MTR and it's easy to grab a taxi outside the hotel. If you are staying here as a couple, definitely look at other alternatives though.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear sir

Thank you very much for your compliment on the location. Causeway Bay has been the most popular shopping, dining and entertainment district in Hong Kong. The MTR subway station and Times Square is a five minute walk from the hotel. Many of our guests do find the location very convenient.

Guestrooms of mid-scaled hotels in Hong Kong are relatively small especially in prime location such as Causeway Bay. Like most of the key cities, space is indeed a luxury in Hong Kong.
We receive comments from some guests about the room size. Allow us to share with travelers that hotels in similar location with spacious room size would cost 25 to 50% more. Our objective is to deliver location convenience, friendly and efficient service, free wifi, and value for money accommodation experience to our guests, which most of our guests appreciate.

We are sorry to learn that the check-in time takes a bit longer. I could image that it is the period between 11:00 am to 2:00 pm when it is peak time for check-in and check-out. It usually takes only 4 to 5 minutes’ time to assist a guest for check in and check out.

There is a pool on 39/F where guests can enjoy the spectacular view of the city.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Raymond Siu
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed here for a week while on business. These are some points to note.

- Comfort : The rooms are very small, the beds are comfortable but no space to unpack if your staying for an extended period. If you are two people in a two bed room, you won't have much / any space.
- Food : The restaurant is completely overpriced for the quality of food you get, rather go out for food - there are many small little diners in the streets around the hotel which have great food at a much more reasonable price, don't let the fact that people don't really speak English bother you - their still very friendly and actually adds to the experience.
- Taxi / MTR : The hotel is quite a decent walk from the nearest MTR which is in Times Square, if your'e coming from the Airport with luggage, a taxi (from either the Airport or Central station) would be better, the hotel is not easy to find from the MTR if you don't know the area yet.
- View : Make sure on which side of the hotel your'e staying, one side has a very nice view of Causeway bay - the other side looks directly into some dilapidated flats.
- Shopping : The area around the hotel actually has quite decent shopping, Times Square is a very big mall with lots of shops. You can really see quite a lot by walking from the hotel. You can easily walk to the Wan Chai area which has some bars / restaurants and great electronic shopping.
- Summary : Depends on the trip of trip your doing - if you need a hotel just to seep at with light language it should be fine. If you're staying for an extended period and want a little comfort in a frenetic city then this hotel won't be for you. All in all - the hotel didn't do anything wrong - it just average.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the race course and or sport centers. This is a much better view than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vtro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your compliment on the location. Causeway Bay has been the most popular shopping, dining and entertainment district in Hong Kong. There are many small restaurants around the hotel where you can experience food of local and Asian taste. Many of our guests love it.

Within minutes’ walk from the hotel, there are MTR subway, tram and public bus which connect you to most of the shopping and tourist attractions in Hong Kong.

Guestrooms of most mid-scale hotels in Hong Kong are relatively small especially in prime location such as Causeway Bay. Like most of the key cities, space is indeed a luxury in Hong Kong.

We aim at providing efficient, friendly service and location convenience to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Raymond Siu
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Its a nice hotel. Me and my sister enjoyed staying here. Its near in all cool places, like the shopping malls, restaurants, tourist spots. The customer service is super. I will definitely coming back in this hotel for my next trip. And it a must a for my relatives and friends to recommend this such nice hotel. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reignz0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your compliment on the convenient location and friendly service of the hotel. You are very right that there are hundreds of retail shops and restaurants around the area. It is truly a shopping and dining paradise in Hong Kong.

We will certainly extend your compliment on hotel service to our staff and I am sure they will find it very encouraging.

We look forward to warmly welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Raymond Siu
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel last july after visiting macau. Honestly speaking the hotel is high but less space.. the hallway was too small that when other guest, like two occupant of two rooms goes out from their room there will be no place to stand in the hallway while waiting for the elevator. I think the price was still high for a small space hotel. The only plus factor is the location for it is near the metro that can bring you almost anywhere in HK.
I am having second thoughts if I should recommend it to a friend. I wouldnt suggest with family with kids.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgeek0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear guest

The hotel has a total of 39 floors. Therefore, most of the rooms have spectacular city view.

Guestrooms of similar class of hotels in Hong Kong are relatively small especially in prime location such as Causeway Bay. Like most of the key cities, space is indeed a luxury in Hong Kong.

Our room rate is considered good value comparing with hotels nearby, not to mention its great location right across Times Square and subway.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Raymond Siu
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Very tiny room, hard bed, no space to move a lot with around 150usd for a nite. But the location is very convinient. Near to mtr, and shopping center like time square, sogo, ect. Easy to find a food. Its a nice place to stay if u like to go shopping.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlingknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond S, Manager at Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your compliment on the hotel location. The hotel is conveniently located in Causeway Bay, Hong Kong’s most popular and exciting shopping and dining paradise. It is a few minutes’ walk from Times Square, MTR subway station and many other shopping malls.

This great location has highly praised by our guests.

The next shopping season will be November and December. We look forward to warmly welcoming you again!

Yours sincerely

Raymond Siu
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
#508 of 718 in Hong Kong
304 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
South Pacific Hotel
South Pacific Hotel
#181 of 718 in Hong Kong
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Sai Wan
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
9 Boutique Hotel
9 Boutique Hotel
#452 of 718 in Hong Kong
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay

Property: Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
Address: Cheung Woo Lane, Canal Road West, Causeway Bay | Cheung Woo Lane, Canal Road West, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong 352112, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #459 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing