We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of One Harbour Road

One Harbour Road
Ranked #117 of 7,917 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Description: A split-level restaurant resembling an elegant mansion in Shanghai during the 1930s, with superb Victoria Harbour views, cosy residential decor, glass ceiling and a fountain. The cosy home ambience is enhanced by rich Santos rosewood timber, while natural stone creates a light airy feel at the lower veranda. The fountain with distinctive glass mosaics, custom-made carpets, wooden furnishings and draperies all add to the final residential touch. One Harbour Road is best known for serving traditional homestyle Cantonese cuisine, lovingly prepared and graciously presented as all time favourite deep-fried black mushrooms with osmanthus honey sauce. The Chef's Table private room inside the kitchen features exclusive innovative dishes and presents a rare glimpse into the workings of the kitchen. For wine lovers, wine pairing set menu featuring Premium Chinese wine selection like Moutai, Hua Diao and many more. highlighted dishes include Fish and assorted vegetables soup, Honey roasted barbecued pork and Chilled mango pudding.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Good food, good service and great views!

I'd emailed in advance requesting a harbour view which we received, it really was spectacular.

The service was efficient and friendly while all the food was well cooked with nicely balanced delicate flavours. Very pleasant atmosphere.

Look forward to returning!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank eight7eleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    70
    18
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

The food here was really outstanding. I'm not usually a huge fan of Chinese food (particularly not of things with weird textures that true Chinese food aficionados love), but my wife is part Chinese and also thought the food was excellent. We had suckling Pig, crispy Loong Kong chicken, stir fried Wagyu beef with asparagus, simmered garoupa in a spicy sauce, and stir fried mushrooms with vegetables. Every dish was good. I particularly enjoyed the chicken. They also had a good wine list. Service was good without being outstanding, and the room was tastefully decorated and not too gaudy. One of the best Chinese meals I have ever had. Also probably the most expensive.

Helpful?
Thank jjcbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
112 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were looking for a special occasion restaurant and this place certainly fit the bill. We made a last minute reservation and they explained that we would not have a view which wasn't a problem. We arrived early and were shown to a table by the window with a stunning view of the lights on Kowloon. The lights are low and the tables widely spaced for a nice romantic location.

We chose the set menu with wine pairings which is quite expensive but which had a good mix of dishes. The food was delicious with very delicate and subtle flavors. The wines went well with each dish and the sommelier explained each wine and why it matched well with each dish. The set menu included lobster and beef tenderloin dishes. The waitress recommended the sago cream with mango and pomelo for desert which is a house specialty. I thoroughly recommend it if you have the chance.

Service is very good and the whole evening was a great experience. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kb4003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the best appetizers I have EVER eaten...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

My friend and I had dinner here while vacationing in HK. It is located in the Grand Hyatt in Wanchai. I started with the crispy pork appetizer, and I'm telling you it was one of the best things I've ever eaten! My main was the Wok fried prawns, which were also excellent. The service (as usual in HK) was superb, and the ambiance quite beautiful, with views of Kowloon and the harbor. I'd definitely go back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank alwaystraveling74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I rarely fail to have at least one meal at One Harbour Road when I am in Hong Kong. It is always excellent. Very good food, great service and an excellent wine list. It's even worth going for the view of HK harbour and Kowloon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexMorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Harbour Road also viewed

 

Been to One Harbour Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing