We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Restaurant in a Chinese wet-market - surprisingly good!”
Review of ABC Kitchen

ABC Kitchen
Ranked #335 of 8,734 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Sheung Wan
Description: Business hour : Lunch 12:00 - 2:30 pm Monday to Saturday (Sunday & public holiday no Lunch) Dinner 7:00 pm- 10:30 pm Monday to Sunday (Everyday) Only Chinese New Year holiday close Dinner Reservation is recommend !
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“French Restaurant in a Chinese wet-market - surprisingly good!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

the place looks not that good when you first enter. then you set and make your order.
the fact that has an Italian flag but serves french meals leaves you with some doubts at the beginning.
the delivery of the food is rapid and the taste is very good.
i tried some beef with red wine sauce and the meat was tender and tasty.
my friend took a pork dish that was good too.
the choice of wine is not that great but the tastes are decent.
water id for free and is distilled one from bottles.
the size of the meals are abundant, so you do not leave the place hungry.
2 glass of wine, 2 main courses, a bottle of sparking water, bread, and an entree for less than 200HKD per person.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maioa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    56
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great food and best service in town”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Part I: the service

I've never been one to be stickler for service, especially if the food is completely worth it. However, ever since I moved to Hong Kong from Chicago, it's been a losing battle with finding great service (I don't blame the waiters, they don't get tipped here like the US). ABC kitchen never let my glass of wine empty before filling it and brought out food in an appropriate sequence and TOGETHER (e.g., main courses for everyone came out together instead of staggered with appetizers). This is definitely a step up from what I'm used to here in HK. It's just really bizarre to find it in a fluorescent lit crowded food court.

Part II: The food

For a food court (or cooked food center), the food was of phenomenal quality, especially for western food, which tends to always fall below my expectations out here. I had the cheese souffle and a taste of the ribs. Of course, the price tag fits the food - it's not exactly as cheap as the other food court stalls around it. However, the novelty of it is enough for anyone to at least try it once. I'd go back any day.

Other info: you can make reservations and it's BYOB (though, they also sell wine and beer for a decent price).

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieBoJellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hilariously good.”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I went to two restaurants last week, Le Bernadin in New York for $400 per head and ABC for $35 per head. Both fantastic but I'm telling more people about ABC because the quality of food is completely out of place in a food court. Probably the best value quality food ever. Please have a look at the photos and make up your own mind.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sedgemore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 603 helpful votes
“The good is beyond my expectations”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I generally have low expectations of western food in a food centre. Usually, it is some wannabes and the quality of food is super mediocre. When my friend suggested coming here, i just went a long without no expectations. No research done earlier and have never heard of this place.

Mind you, this is NOT a restaurant. This is a place where you want to have a fix of good quality western food without feeling robbed. There is NO ambience. Just trying to have good food at reasonable.

The quality is far beyond my expecations. We had the
1. Caesar Salad (HK$38) - portions are generous, the greens could have been fresher.
2. Salmon Benedict (HK$58) - yummy
3. Crispy pork knuckle (HK$148) - to die for

I am not a fan of food centers. But I would come here again for the food. Clearly the chefs have learnt quite a lot from the former masters working at M on the Bund. Excellent value.
But I will not hang around for chit-chat. Come with a bunch of friends who care for food more than ambience.

How to get here :
Taking the tram or bus (4 or 4X) is the most accessible.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MouMou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best food coma EVER!”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Yes - the wet market feel is a little bit suspect, but trust me - this place is great. The service is excellent and the food is stunning. I've been a few times and never know what to order - because evereything is delicious.
The best tip u can give is go with a group of friends and order a plate of everything - then you get the sample it all. (Quite a few people do this, so they are good at staggering the order to bring out a plate at a time) That said the suckling pig is dreeeeeaaaammmyy! Also - the pavolva is amazing - If you want it order early as they often run out.
You can bring your own alcohol, but their selection is pretty good and not overpriced.
Fab place to take friends for a relaxed, but excellent meal. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ABC Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to ABC Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing