We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our #1 guide in Hong Kong”

Hong Kong Private Tour Guide Jay
Ranked #32 of 138 Tours in Hong Kong
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“our #1 guide in Hong Kong”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

my wife and i arrived 3 days early in Hong Kong for a cruise. We wanted to get passed the jet lag and spend some "relaxing" time touring Hong Kong, without the "cruise tour rush rush rush". I found Jay through tripadvisor - read the reviews and contacted him to see if he would be free. We are not picky sightseers, but I knew what we wanted to do - look for high-end watches, silk, tailored suits, tailored chineese silk "dragon"lady dresses and jackets, AND we wanted to see the sights, eat where the locals do, go where the normal tourists dont go to and eat real fresh seafood - the impossible mission for a tour guide - both ends of the spectrum. On a scale od 1 to 10, Jay was a 15+. we not only highly recommend him - we wont go back to Hong Kong without using his services again. Great English - on time - well thought itineraries - reliable and knowledable.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    9
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Two of the Best Days In Hong Kong”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Based on an enthusiastic review found on Trip Advisor, my husband, a friend of ours and myself hired Jay to guide us for a day in Hong Kong. So impressed were we with Jay that we hired him for a second day.
The three of us cannot speak too highly of Jay. He guided us on tours taking into account our physical limitations, much to our relief! He purchased and handed out all the tickets we needed for the various forms of public transportation, and made us adepts in their use. He planned our itineraries in such a way that we never found ourselves in long line-ups at any of the many attractions we visited.
We rode the Star Ferry, taxies, buses, the subway and the thrilling 'crystal cable car', all the while receiving intelligent and very informed commentary. He had great patience in the face of many questions and pacing well suited to our abilities, as well as guidance to good food and other refreshments. We saw more of Hong Kong in the two days with Jay than we did on the other five.
He became our real and much admired friend.
As an aside, Jay introduced me to what is now my favourite app for my iPhone!!
All the best to you Jay,
S

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank SASinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jay - private guide in Hong Kong”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent three 8 hour days with Jay and really feel that we saw a lot. He really maximized the use of our time by combining public transportation and taxi to avoid traffic delays. He took us to places we would never have found on our own, even with a good guide book. He is friendly and well informed and just a delight to be with. He has a very good grasp of what will be busy when and plans his itinerary accordingly. We never waited in line, but sometimes when we left an attraction there would be hundreds in line to enter.
Jay definitely made our visit very enjoyable.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank VirginiaS413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns Queensland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“8 hour stop over and introduction to Hong Kong”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our family of 4 - including 2 teenagers had a day time stop over in Hong Kong and as we were not familiar with the city we contacted Jay and arranged with him an 8 hour itinerary to expose us to Hong Kong. He did a fantastic job. He met us at the aiprort and had all the travel pre arranged. We saw the Victoria Peak, went to Repulse Bay and Victoria markets, had a great traditional dim sim lunch, saw several temples and got an exposure to both the old and new Hong Kong and concluded with a trip across the harbour. Jays knowledge and setting up the itinerary beforehand and his personal touch meant we saw in 8 hours what I would reckon would have taken us otherwise 3 or 4 days. Great day and highly recommended. Regards Peter Macdougall

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Jay is The Best Tour Guide In Hong Kong”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We only had one day to tour in Hong Kong and Jay was not only a Great Guide,but a fun person to be with.He spent twelve hours with us,that felt like it went bye so fast.His knowledge of Hong Kong is superb and he has a very funny personality.He also,knows when to get to all the major sights before all the tour buses.All in All,if your looking for the Best Tour Guide in Hong Kong---Jay is the one!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Meatman102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Kong Private Tour Guide Jay also viewed

 

Been to Hong Kong Private Tour Guide Jay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing