We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AL MOLO RISTORANTE ITALIANO - Michael White

AL MOLO RISTORANTE ITALIANO - Michael White
Ranked #158 of 7,790 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Description: Al Molo Ristorante Italiano with its stunning New York design overlooking the spectacular harbour and city environs, launches the exquisite skills of New York celebrity chef, Michael White to Hong Kong diners. Presenting an eclectic array of fine Italian cuisine, Al Molo presents a unique dining experience, New York style. Classic Italian cuisine, home made pasta together with a stunning open fired pizza oven is among the features of the restaurant. Exquisite desserts and a superb selection of Italian and world wines, many available by the glass, compliment the menu.
Perth
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just simply love this restaurant, food, wine and the service is always excellent. Great view. We come back again and again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ReneePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    137
    63
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
“Bad qaulity of food, poor and bad service and crazy prices.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Went there for a business lunch in Kowloon areaa. First of all no one escort my guest and me to any table. The food on the buffet waspoor and nothing specail. So many cooks for so less food. Ther serivice was even worst...no one take from our table the dirty plates for more than 30 minutes or pour us the water and the vine for all the lunch, there were planty of servers running without doing nothing.On the floor there wasn't the presence of any Manger handeling the things, just when we went away i saw sitted on a table in the center of the room a man in front of a laptop, that i presume be the Manager, instead to do his job in so busy hours. Bigger Surprise was the very expensive check we had.I will not come back in this place and of course i don't raccomand it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luigi643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
450 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Great location, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Al Molo boasts a fantastic location that many restaurants in Europe would take as an excuse to deliver over-priced and over-cooked mediocre fast food to tourists who will never come back anyway. But the Al Molo shows you that as a restaurant owner you can actually spoil your guests with a nice location AND great food and service.
Considering we only wanted a small lunch snack to rest our tired feet and to soak in some sun, we installed ourselves on the terrace and then found out that there was a good deal on the salad, starter, and dessert buffet - which turned out to feature a lot of very authentic and perfectly prepared Italian delicacies. The audience is mixed, the well-heeled Hongkong shoppers and families as well as bankers/managers and tourists.
In short: we stayed longer than we wanted, ate more than we intended, and we will come back.
Thanks!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CasssandraCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
145 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Went there with the strong recommendation of the Club Concierge at the Ritz Carlton Hong Kong. Restaurant itself is gorgeous without being over the top. Fabulous location in the Ocean Terminal Mall area. Seated near the window. Service slightly slower than I would have like but we had time so no problem.

Caesar Salad was enormous - don't even think of not sharing. We shared and could not finish it and it was excellent. Rest of the food fine. Wine by the glass was excellent - went with the Multepuciano the waiter recommended. We had heard that restaurants in Hong Kong are crazy expensive but found this very reasonable.

Afterwards, walked to the promenade to watch the light show. Worth getting a 6:30 PM reservation in order to finish and walk over for the outdoor show.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stevens397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Booked in advance and requested a table outdoor. What a great view of the harbour! The staff we got was quite shy and reserved and had poor command of English! Given this is a relatively high-end restaurant, I'd expect the service would be better but alas. Ordered a bottle of prosecco but they've put it some where far away so I had to get the ever-so-slow staff to get it topped up EVERYTIME! No proactive topping up whatsoever!
Despite all the flaws in the services, food was great! Both my friend and I had 3 courses and we could not fault anything. My friend had the risotto and this dish is the ultimate test of how good the kitchen is. Perfecto! Portion is generous compared to other Italian restaurants in HK as well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jasperlai8429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AL MOLO RISTORANTE ITALIANO - Michael White also viewed

 

Been to AL MOLO RISTORANTE ITALIANO - Michael White? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing