We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Buffet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sha Tin 18 (Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin)

Sha Tin 18 (Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin)
Ranked #418 of 7,794 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $20 - $130
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The best of China’s cuisines are on show at Sha Tin 18, the show-kitchen restaurant at the Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin. Offering authentic Cantonese and northern Chinese cuisine, friendly service and great value, Sha Tin 18 is the perfect destination for weekends spent with family and friends or for a business gathering during the week. Guests at the spacious outdoor terrace may enjoy calming scenery of mountains and trees while those in the main dining room will enjoy watching the action from each show kitchen.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Had a breakfast buffet there. All HK style and western style food are very delicious. Wide range of juice, tea and coffee are provided without extra cost as well. Very nice experience afterall.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SDGWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    54
    18
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Melb
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Steep prices, food is not too bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Famous for their Peking Duck, you have to book well in advance to dine at Shatin 18. A restaurant with squishy sofas that sank a bit too low for my liking, the restaurant is dotted with cooking stations throughout so wherever you sit, you have a glimpse of the well run kitchen and chefs preparing food.

We had the Peking duck of course, which needs to be pre-ordered 24 hours in advance. Peking Duck three ways is definitely the way to go here. The three of us shared half a duck HKD$388 (AUD$50), which is made into three courses: traditional Peking Duck wraps, sang choy Bao (lettuce cup wraps) with minced duck and duck soup.

Overall, although the prices of Shatin 18 is quite steep in Hong Kong standards, it’s really the normal crappy Chinese restaurant prices in Australia, and the quality is so much better. If you are in Shatin, I would definitely recommend you to try this restaurant!

For my full restaurant review, please visit my blog: http://pigouttravels.wordpress.com/2012/07/28/shatin-18/

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pigout_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed Dinner Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

With high expection from the Hyatt brand with food & beverage expertise. However, the food quality is very disappointed as a Hyatt fan. We stayed in house on May 19 and dinning at this restaurant with two persons. The appetizer (bean curn and fungus) was cold and too sour. We experienced the same dish of appetizer at Grand Hyatt Macau in the Beiging kitchen that was served in room temperature and not sour. The hand-pulled noddles with four seasons bean was too thick, almost four times thicker than the normal standard and in reslut of too hard. The home made dumplings, the skin also was too thick and not juicy. Lastely, the main dish was cold when it was served on table, we had to request for replacing a new one. During we waited for the main dish of the lotus root and heard the service staff was checking which table ordered the lotus root. It may be the reason of the food was being cooked and sitting in kitchin for long till it was cold. in general, the service was good but food quality was far too low in comparing with their Cafe or Pool Bar. Our table setting is at the middle of the walkway, we experienced of having services staff, chef and customer passing by us very often, just like in a busy train station. By the end, we gave up our dessert order from the unpleasant experience from the appetizer to main dish and some of their northern cuisine signature dishes .

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank christineliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,332 reviews
1,709 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11,319 helpful votes
“Casual, relaxed and very good dim sum experience (but at a price)!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

There are very few places in Hong Kong to have a casual, quiet and peaceful yum cha experience at a very attractive restaurant. At Sha Tin 18, you can find such a place, where you have a quite booth and relaxed dim sum lunch (but at a cost)!

We had a quick dim sum here recently, ordering char shu bao (BBQ pork buns) that were as good as it gets (rating 4.5 of 5) and Lo Bak Go (turnip cakes) that were very good (rating 4 of 5).

We also ordered a different choice to what we are used to - chicken dumplings, which we didn't care for that much due to our high preference for traditional pork and prawn based dim sum. But it tasted fine (rating 3 of 5) and seems to be a good option for those allergic to shellfish since most other dim sum options have some form of prawn in them.

Dim sum is served with an extra tray with three different chili and sauce choices. We love the one with the heavy chili oil, which compliments the lo bak go very well.

All dim sum choices we tried were (HK$45) per serving.

Overall, prices are quite high for dim sum due to the location being in a five star hotel. While you do pay a lot, the dishes are very fresh and tasty and the atmosphere is very relaxing, comfortable and not spacious, something you don't find much of in our traditional, city based dim sum houses in Hong Kong.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uzes, France
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good service and excellent Peking Duck.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Book ahead and order the Peking Duck. It really is very good as are the crispy noodles. We were able to enjoy a long lunch here without being rushed and attended to very well throughout the meal. The staff took time to chat and seemed proud of their signature dishes, the duck and deserts. Well worth the trip to the new territories and located within a couple of minutes walk from University MTR station

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pwchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sha Tin 18 (Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin) also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Sha Tin 18 (Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing