We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of India”
Review of Jordan Curry House

Jordan Curry House
Ranked #1,766 of 8,549 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Indian
Neighborhood: Sheung Wan
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Sheung Wan
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Taste of India”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great Value, very busy though.
Be sure to get there early to ensure a reasonable table.
One of the best curries in Kowloon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    33
    11
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Awesome Indian Food near Temple Market”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We didn't have a clue about finding an Indian restaurant in HongKong and were hungry for curry, so we took a flyer from a guy handing them out at the Temple Night Market----best move we made all day! The place was small---maybe 10 tables total, but really authentic dishes& lots of vegetarian options to choose from! The lentils were delicious. The garlic naan to die for.....passed thru the kitchen on the way to the washroom and saw he authentic tandoori!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service, bad food”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We went there to get some vegetarian Indian food. The place was cramped. We ordered 2 vegetarian set lunches. While midway through the soup, I noticed what looked like a chicken piece. I asked the lady running the show about it. She said it was chicken soup, even though we explicitly asked if everything was vegetarian at the beginning. She didn't even apologize for the mix up. Then we got the main dish, a mixed vegetable curry. We had ordered it medium spicy and what we got was terribly spicy and we couldn't even finish half of it (our spice tolerance is generally high).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank apssri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Larger portions, some prices same as those charged for same dish by better restsurants, bad food”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The service is okay, the prices of some dishes is same as that charged by much bettter restsurants offering better food and ambiance, located near Portland road don't be surprised if you find some patrons who make you uncomfortable.
Now about the food: Naans served were occasionally not well cooked, Samosas were reheated hence too crispy for comfortable chewing, the Daal was very basic as compared to lovely flavours of Daal at most other restaurants, Palak / Saag Paneer was the worst we have ever ever eaten, it was partially cooked spinach not grinded well enough and very lightly stir fried with cumin and very few Paneer (cottage cheese) cubes, even the thought of it makes me wanna puke. Experimenting is acceptable but not to an extent pf changing the entire flavour and texture of the dish and that too for the WORST.
Sorry to say but we visited the place after reading reviews here but it appears like those people were only looking for better priced food owing to larger portions of servings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgeLomesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Jordan Curry House is great!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you find yourself near Temple St night market and fancy a curry then do give this place a go. It doesn't look like much from the outside, you may have to share a table with strangers but the food is really good and not expensive-enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OurmaninHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jordan Curry House also viewed

Hong Kong, China
 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Jordan Curry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing