We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Set lunch bargain”

Thai Farmer Restaurant
Ranked #651 of 8,734 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
New London, Ohio, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Set lunch bargain”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Food is middle of the road but for a set lunch close to the convention center the price is very good. Clean restaurant. In the middle of the club district so the area is very crowded in the evenings.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RUSSELL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    48
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulaanbaatar
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai in Wanchai”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Excellent little hole-in-the wall dining establishment. I went there after reading reviews on Tripadvisor, and was delighted with the find.

Relatively inexpensive and the most authentic Thai cuisine I have stumbled over outside Thailand.

The deep fried chilli fish hit the spot, and the frosty Singh beer was the icing on the cake.

Service was swift, and I left completely satisfied, and will be back when next I pass through Hong Kong.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
5,696 reviews
1,772 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12,210 helpful votes
“After a 4-5 number of years, Thai Farmer remains our top choice”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Having a craving Thai food, we recently made our way to Thai Farmer, which is a real 'hole-in-the-wall' restaurant in Wan Chai. This has been our 'go to' place for probably the past 5-6 years, being the only Thai restaurant we have been able to find consistently good, close to authentic style Thai Cuisine.

Thai Farmer dishes are not always Grade A quality but they are usually very good and quite authentic. They don't serve up the overly sweet 'Cantonese-friendly' versions of Thai cuisine here, its much more similar to what you'd find in the small eateries in Bangkok or up in Northern Thailand. This is why we pretty much stick to Thai Farmer when seeking out Thai cuisine.

During a recent dinner at Thai Farmer we very much enjoyed a made prepared 'Spicy' Beef Salad dish. Beef slices was succulent and had absorbed the natural flavours of the juice very well. They made it a bit spicier upon request and this really helped to unlock and accentuate the natural flavours of this dish. Not certain, but believe this dish was prepared in Northern Thai style as it very much resembled this regional dish, which we have very much enjoyed during trips to Chang Mai and the north of the country. In the end, this dish was just very good (4.25 of 5) and one we will continue to order at Thai Farmer in the future.

We also tried a bowl of Tom Yum Gai 'chicken' soup that was also very good. The ingredients were spot on, making the soup taste as exactly like it should. One slight complaint however, was the use of pre-boiled chicken thrown into the Tom Yum soup, instead of being cooked into the soup in traditional manner. This makes a rather noticeable impact on the taste of the chicken. Nevertheless, the Tom Yum Gai was still good much better than what most Thai restaurants in the city try to serve up (3.75 of 5).

Overall, another very good visit to Thai Farmer and continued reason for return visits in the future and recommendation for this tiny little joint in Wan Chai.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Thai in a small clean restaurant”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

A group of six enjoyed a great meal for HKD 110 per person. We went away full and enjoyed great curry, spring rolls, satay, etc. I would recommend it highly and would go again. The place was clean and bright. Service was good. Not too much English, but the menu is in both languages accurately with photos of many items. Go early because it is popular with locals and there is a line.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimosabee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
587 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Simple original thai food”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Like: Original thai food, good value for price, fast service
Dislike: too small toilet (I cannot turn arount in it!)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ralf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Farmer Restaurant also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Thai Farmer Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing