We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will Never Stay Again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bauhinia Hotel - Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
Ranked #159 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Will Never Stay Again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We chose The Bauhinia in March 2013 based upon good Tripadvisor reviews. Perhaps the hotel staff gave us the worst room because we had already paid through bookings.com. The walls were stained (with no attempt to cover the stains with wallpaper or paint); the shower floor was moldy & disgusting (see brown and black colors on the walls, above the drain in the attached picture); the air-conditioning unit was noisy; and the beds were hard. The free wi-fi didn't connect half of the time. The bathroom was so small, we could barely turn around in it, and we are not overweight. The hallways smelled of mildew. There was a chaise lounge next to the elevator that was covered with dust. Although the hotel offered something during the mornings, it could not be called breakfast for it consisted of apples, orange juice, coffee and tea (no milk). Also, this area is completely deserted at night. We stayed one night because it was already dark when we arrived and would never stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank alwaystravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    132
    26
    5
    4
See reviews for
43
66
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights last Feb 2013 through booking.com and though more affordable than most hotels, I would spend more to stay at a hotel more centrally located. It is around 50 meters from a Sheung Wan exit but there's not much to see around the area. No mcdonald's nearby just a starbucks across the street.

The rooms are clean and okay. They made me wait since check in time was at 2 but they stored my luggage while I waited in the lounge on the second floor. I don't remember much of the stay except that it was fine for the price. There was also an odd smell in the lobby (which is not much at all, it looks like a condo's guard station) which didn't go away despite the room fresheners.

Again, I would choose to spend more and stay at J Plus Boutique Hotel instead.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GissyWissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We arrived at about 11.15pm and the friendly staff promptly completed the check in. He also offered us a free upgrade from superior to family room, and informed us of the availability of light snacks & beverages daily 7-10am free. The hotel's close proximity to Sheung Wan MTR Station and Shun Tak Centre (ferry terminal for travel to & fro Macau) makes travelling around Hong Kong and Macau fairly easy. A cozy place to stay with my son. Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiaSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night prior to going to one of the HK islands. We were upgraded which always gets one in a good mood. Nevertheless the room was very clean, had a nice feel to it and was comfortable. Serve yourself cold breakfast fruit, croissants and cakes, loads of coffee. Really pleasant helpful staff - when we couldn't get the hang of the AirCon someone ran up and showed us; as we left we asked if they would look after our luggage while we first went for a meal - they did so giving a receipt for the number of cases and chained them to the reception area! Despite being on one of the major roads (with trams too) it was quiet due to triple glazing. One of the best showers in the world - once you work out the controls - major waterfall above your head - bliss! They asked for HK$500 deposit for which a proper receipt was given and no probs about its return on leaving.

Room Tip: Leave Central MTR station by exit E, and use the walkway. Their entrance is not actually in Connaugh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

The Bauhinia runs a hotel and serviced apartment within the same building so the lounge, gym and laundry room are commonly shared with occupants from both sides. That's ok because it doesn't seem busy most of the time, though it worries some about security breach. What isn't okay is the serviced apartment itself, which desperately needs serious makeover.

I had short-listed a couple serviced apartments for a 3-month stay and my first choice goes to (still is) Como Como Causeway Bay. It's new with tasteful interior at 10% cheaper rate than Bauhinia, you see why it's always fully booked. I had no choice but to rely on the little information and research on hand before opting for this one instead. What disappoints me is not only that the quality of the apartment is not up to par (not until check-in did i learn how old, dark, noisy and poorly-equipped the apartment really is), the sales manager of this hotel lied, misled if you think I'm not being reasonable. By emailing pictures of the room (that has nothing to do with the real one they give you,mind) you'd think it's pretty good and be duped. What sucks is that you can't cancel the lease unless you forfeit a month's rent. Why don't they just post pics of the Lincoln Room when they can argue with you that those nano footnotes they put under their webpage has already stated the pic and actual room may be different??? This apartment is a lot worse than a standard motel where I could at least make some toast for breakfast. Neither toaster nor stove in the kitchen, what a shocker!!!

Oh, did I mention storage btw? Simply put, hopeless!! Bathroom? Don't even go there...

What I've learnt from this mess is that, (1) inspection beforehand whenever possible; (2) knowing nothing about the accommodation, sign the contract for minimum days only according to Regulations (that's 28 days in HK) until you find it pleasurable enough to secure a longer lease and negotiate a better deal later.

Folks, if you read this and are planning a long-stay here in HK, stay away from this one. You can trust a dishonest man to be always dishonest. As the old cliche goes, fool me once ... Anyway, focus your search in wanchai or CWB area like I do now, for I am not gonna let my 20 people staying in such shixxy place for months.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ebisuyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
278 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Of course there are many non-smoking hotels in this world, but this one is build in maybe most inconvenient way for those who would like to have his cigarette with morning tea. In all other reasons, good choice: located just above MTR entrance, and connected by it with another entrance on opposite side, which is Shun Tak Centre - Macau Ferry Terminal. Perfect location for both air and sea travellers. Facade is overlooking Man Wa Ln, so it is quiet.

Room Tip: I do not think there is any difference between floors and corners
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Borys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
137 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel seemed to be a good value for this area of Hong Kong. Our room was quite large, with modern decor and a great, modern and functional bathroom. The location, immediately adjacent to the Sheung Wan MTR stop, is very convenient, and in the end you pay extra for being in the Central/Sheung Wan area.

We found the check-in staff to be polite and efficient; no issues storing bags at the hotel. The location, as mentioned, is very convenient, though the views from the room are not ideal--ours looked out directly level with a highway overpass. However, the soundproofing was good, and we didn't have noise issues. We had good wi-fi in the room.

The room is a bit blah, but the decor and fixtures are modern, with safe, nice closet, lots of toiletries, and very modern bathroom. I found the space to be unusually large for Hong Kong (my parents were paying about $100 USD more per night for something 4-5 mins away by foot, and their room was half the size). While the area up the hill from the busy roads is more charming, this is certainly convenient to transportation. We could walk on one of the overpasses right over to the Airport Express stop in the IFC Mall in maybe 10 minutes, and then check in for our flight there.

I will confess that this hotel doesn't exactly charm... something about all the beige, the highway overpass, the dingy street, the lack of a real lobby beyond the check-in desk. But the room is large, modern, with everything you need in terms of amenities, and it puts you in a part of town many want to be in, for a very fair price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katiekins570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#96 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Sheung Wan
Sohotel
Sohotel
#168 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#32 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#35 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Sheung Wan
Mingle Place On The Wing
Mingle Place On The Wing
#363 of 713 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bauhinia Hotel - Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bauhinia Hotel - Central

Property: The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
Address: No.119-121 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bauhinia Hotel - Central 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE BAUHINIA currently operates 4 boutique hotels and 2 serviced apartments in Hong Kong, Shenzhen and Guangzhou. Our THE BAUHINIA APARTMENTS - CENTARL and THE BAUHINIA APARTMENTS - SHENZHEN has been operating for a decade. With years of hospitality management experience, our first hotel THE BAUHINIA HOTEL - TSIM SHA TSUI opened in the vibrant Tsim Sha Tsui in 2010 featuring the stunning harbour view. THE BAUHINIA HOTEL - CENTRAL, with a modern boutique hotel concept, opened its doors in Central and contemporary modern designed in Guangzhou and Shenzhen in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your The Bauhinia Hotel - Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing