We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice for HK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines Mercer Hong Kong
Ranked #105 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A good choice for HK”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I usually stay at the Ovolo 286 Queens Road but for a change decided to try one of the several other 'boutique' hotels in Sheung Wan. Overall it was a good stay. How does it compare with the Ovolo? Some things both hotels do equally well/score equally highly: good location (Mercer is slightly closer to Central but not by much); free minibar; free and good wifi; small (just about OK) gym. The Ovolo gets extra marks for having a free mini launderette (very useful if you are staying more than a few days) and having a nice lounge area behind the (1st floor) reception. The Mercer scores for having much bigger rooms (the rooms at the Ovolo are tiny - no room for a wardrobe for example) which had a coffee maker,sink and microwave; for much better (free in both hotels) breakfast - the one at the Ovolo is acceptable, at the Mercer it is excellent (smoked salmon, good pastries, nice cooked stuff with perfectly done scrambled eggs for example); and the lifts are co-ordinated (in the Ovolo they aren't so everyone just pushes both buttons which slows everything down). Where would I stay next time? I like the Ovolo and it feels like 'home' in HK since I've stayed there many times...both are good choices but I think that I'd probably choose the Mercer: the rooms in the Ovolo really are small and I don't really look forward to the breakfasts.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TheRainIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    210
    58
    11
    7
See reviews for
54
161
49
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights and got upgraded to a suite. This was a lovely room and very comfortable with lovely views of the city. It is very close to the MTR and only 10 minutes walk to the main shopping area and Central Station. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was very nice and varied. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and it is good value for money

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinkerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in late April and upgraded very reasonably to a suite.The room was great room except for the air condo freezing in kitchen and just ok in bedroom. We had no issue with the compact reception but the clerks had limited English which meant our room did not get serviced until we asked a twice. The location is a little random but the MTR and good coffee is close by. We would stay again but wuld check on the air condo and the more elevated the better

Room Tip: The higher the better as nice city views, check the air condo
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in April. Having booked a standard room, we were upgraded to a suite which was a nice surprise after a long journey from London.

The room was very modern and spacious for Hong Kong, with a separate lounge area and small kitchen space. The minibar was quite basic but was filled each day which was another nice bonus. The only negative about the room was probably the bathroom - the shower sometimes leaked a bit into the main area and also the glass on the front door is not obscured so you had to pull down a blind each time you wanted to use the toilet!

Breakfast was included in the rate and was nicely varied, with a good choice between the different options. The hotel doesn't have a main dining area so all things considered this was quite a bit better than we were expecting!

While the location was a little out of the way for some of the main parts of Hong Kong Island, it was very close of the MTR station (just a few minutes walk), but as other reviews mention, taxis are so cheap in Hong Kong that we generally just used those.

The hotel is also very close to Hong Kong station for the airline express and then just a short cab ride away, but as we realised when returning to Hong Kong for a final night on our way back to London, if there are at least two of you it's not much more to just get a taxi all the way from the airport and takes about the same time.

The staff were helpful and provided some good recommendations for dinner. A really good recommendation from a friend for drinks and dinner was Wooloomooloo on Hong Kong Island - very nice outdoor roof top bar and excellent steak restaurant just below.

All in all, this was a good hotel for a short stay in Hong Kong Island.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnH1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed 4 nights here in April 2014. Booked a premier room, but got an upgrade to a suite while our room wasn't ready yet (we arrived before noon).
The reason why we booked a premier room is because it looked brighter than the suite where everything is in black colors, but the suite at the 9th floor turned out to be very nice and rather spacious. There was no city view, but that was no problem for us.

The room was spic and span and the purple velvet sofa wasn't as terrible as it looked on the website's photo. :-)

The beds were just perfect. We slept like a log.

Kitchenette with microwave, coffee machine, coffee, tea and free minibar. We were surprised that the minibar was filled every day again. What a service! Tip: if you like to warm up some soup or noodles, bring a microwave resistant bowl and some cutlery. There were only 2 forks and 2 tea spoons. But plates, cups and glasses were no problem.

The bathroom is well equipped with lots of extra's. There is a safe, an iron and an ingenious folding ironing board.

Perfect service and breakfast is ok. There was enough choice between hot and cold dishes and delicious dim sum. Though this was perhaps not really a 4 star breakfast, we were not disappointed.

I also liked the location of the hotel in a popular quarter of Sheung Wan. From the breakfast area on the first floor there was a lot of working activity to see in the street, such as central mail distribution right from the Post truck to the several carts of the post men.

After 2 days in the hotel, the somewhat dirty streets around the hotel don't bother anymore. On the contrary, it's a cosy and a safe area. There are enough small shops around plus a supermarket on Queen's Rd.

Another plus is the distance to the MTR. Shorter than a 2 minutes' walk.

As I said, the staff was helpful and friendly, and even though their English was sometimes a little hard to understand, they did their utmost to please us.
A hotel to recommend! We would stay here again. For sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwezel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Location perfect, for me! In the center of all the places I visit, whether for work or for fun. And so near to the escalator that goes to the mid-levels! The hotel room was very well appointed, and the staff was ever so helpful. The Japanese restaurant looked very enticing, although I was fully packed for meals elsewhere. Definitely will try it next time!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianxteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Had a great stay recently for business trip. I used to stay at Excelsior but decided to try Mercer as the location is within walking distance to my office in Queens Road Central.

Encounter twice when taxi driver is unsure of location, but on both occasion, we have no problem finding the location. There's 2 pubs directly opposite the hotel, which is good for a quick thirst quencher! (Note, one of them looks like a 'man's' only place though). Some great eateries around that place, the ramen place on the right, across the Mercer was pretty good!.

The only small downside was that the breakfast spread is much smaller compare to other big hotels, but nevertheless, sufficient and decent breakfast in a nice small place. They have 2 tables outdoor too.

Will definitely be coming back for next business trip.

Room Tip: The higher the better as the surrounding area is all high rise, I was on the 18 and there's bare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toffee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#34 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Sheung Wan
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
#107 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#30 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#19 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#96 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Mercer Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Mercer Hong Kong

Property: Citadines Mercer Hong Kong
Address: No.29 Jervois Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Mercer Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Mercer delivers contemporary luxury and comfort with large spacious rooms in the fashionable up and coming Sheung Wan area. The new boutique hotel is only 1 minute from Sheung Wan MTR station, and within easy walking distance of Central’s prime business, shopping and dining locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Citadines Mercer Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mercer Hotel Hong Kong
Citadines Mercer Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing