We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy hotel in Central HK Island perfect for couples or solo travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines Mercer Hong Kong
Ranked #109 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cozy hotel in Central HK Island perfect for couples or solo travellers”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

For our first visit to Hong Kong, we could not have asked for a better hotel. 55 rooms total, comfortable bed, great bathroom, cozy living room with Nespresso coffee machine, mini bar, internet, DVD player and two very large flat screen TVs. Very good buffet breakfast every day to kick start our sightseeing and shopping days. Minutes from Sheung Wan MTR station, short walking distance to Hong Kong island shopping district. Very helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor to get a better view and reduce the noise of the nearby streets. Use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iseult2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    216
    59
    12
    8
See reviews for
63
165
49
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Mercer is an excellent boutique hotel on Hong Kong Island, just a short walk to Soho and its great shopping and dining scene. The location is quite central, and the hotel is hip, modern and well designed. Rooms are clean and spacious, with nice conveniences. THe only complaint on the rooms is that desgin prevails over function when it comes to the bathrooms. The bathroom door is all glass, giving no privacy, unless you pull a shade each time. A bit inconvenient, unless you are the only one in your room. But otherwise, very nice rooms.
The real draw for me, though, is the staff. Very helpful and service oriented. We needed to apply for a visa to China while there, and the concierge could not have been more helpful to us, checking on everything, arranging all the papaerwork, etc. He really went above and beyond, and this was so appreciated, especially with a slightly stressful situation of needing a visa on a short timeline.
Many thanks to the Mercer for such a lovely first visit to Hong Kong. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for three days from 12th to 14th December . To our delight upon arrival our room was upgraded to a suite which turned out very nice - a bedroom & lounge/dining area with a large flat screen in both areas . This hotel is situated just west of Central - 2mins from the MTR 15mins from Soho (the best night life ) and 15 mins from the piers . It is a boutique hotel with only 55 rooms and has a tiny reception area so the service feels very personal and we agreed the staff were very helpful and friendly ! Contrary to what we had read the breakfast buffet was excellent , freshly ground coffee scrambled eggs and prawn dumplings was my favourite but there was everything you would expect on a breakfast menu except mushrooms & bacon ! Our bags were collected & stored on our final day and a shower room offered before we caught our flight . It wasn't at the cheap end of the spectrum for price but we felt it offered something different in a good location and turned out value got money . Would highly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtgambla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great hotel. Big rooms, loads of comforts, seconds to the MTR (sheung wan station), a few bars/restaurants very close by, and a decent price compared to many other hotels in Hong Kong.

Free espresso machine in the room was fantastic! Definitely worth a try.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JfromFinland123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Exactly, location by MTR, walk to Central, walk to Mid-Levels, very easy, rooms spacious with good sized living room/kitchen and separate bedroom, small walk in closet, separate bathroom. Noisy right now, because construction nearby. BEST POINT, The Canteen across the street, decent food, accessible, Stella, Hoegarden, etc, friendly place, also Indian food 50 meters away, if you want Western comfort food, there is Pizza Hut 50 meters away, and McDonalds two blocks away.
Breakfast buffet small but good

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Short walk to Sheung Wan MTR. Great location. Rooms were spacious with all the amenities...large flat screen TV, DVD, iPod dock. Free mini bar was handy. Breakfast did not have a huge selection, but what they did have was nice, especially Chinese dim sums. Staff were great and very helpful.
Some comments about it being noisy. We were on 4th floor and only noticed the noise on a Saturday night.
Only negative was lack of a restaurant, but there are plenty around the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BY77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The style is clean, modern and comfortable. The only critique I have is better wine options. Bed was comfortable, food was nice, service was pleasant and helpful. Less than 5 minute walking distance to the happening part of HK island with great restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#35 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,103 reviews
Sheung Wan
One96 - Elegant Full Floor Suite Hotel
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#21 of 718 in Hong Kong
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Sheung Wan
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong
Central
The Pottinger Hong Kong
The Pottinger Hong Kong
#19 of 718 in Hong Kong
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Mercer Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Mercer Hong Kong

Property: Citadines Mercer Hong Kong
Address: No.29 Jervois Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#55 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#91 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Mercer Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Mercer delivers contemporary luxury and comfort with large spacious rooms in the fashionable up and coming Sheung Wan area. The new boutique hotel is only 1 minute from Sheung Wan MTR station, and within easy walking distance of Central’s prime business, shopping and dining locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines Mercer Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mercer Hotel Hong Kong
Citadines Mercer Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing