We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The mercer is a lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines Mercer Hong Kong
Ranked #111 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The staff are lovely and very helpful. The rooms are big by HK standards and very well refurbished. The location is excellent. However, the pool is unavailable due to hotel renovations so if this is important to you, check that it is finished before you book. We has a mini kitchen with a microwave which was nice

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnie112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMercer_HK, General Manager at Citadines Mercer Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments and we are happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. The rooms are spacious with quality amenities. There are iPod dock and DVD player in all rooms, microwave and Nespresso coffee machine in One Bedroom Suite. We also have an outdoor lap pool which unfortunately just under renovation at the moment. It is targeted to be finished by September.

Hope to have you with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

436 - 442 of 555 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

We've stayed at The Mercer, a small boutique hotel, on a recent weekend trip to Hong Kong. The location is great, right opposite to the ferry terminal, but still on a quiet street and just a 2 minutes walk from Central and all major shopping malls. We didn't explore the hotel, but we were very impressed by the quality and cleaniness of the room, as well as with the helpful and attentive staff. Unfortunately the pool was being renovated, so we couldn't try, but everything in the room worked perfectly. Beautiful modern yet cozy set-up and very well equipped! The absolute very best thing about the room, was no doubt, the bed, which helped us miss the breakfast.

We had a very good stay, no complains.

We will most likely be staying at The Mercer on our future trips to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Litoscc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMercer_HK, General Manager at Citadines Mercer Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Mercer is a boutique hotel with contemporary décor and quality amenities, in a superb location which is just minutes away from MTR, Macau Ferry Terminal, premier offices, shopping and dining area; perfect for both business and leisure stay.

Please accept our apology for the renovation of the pool which is targeted to finish in September.

Looking forward to have you with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Where is the reception ? Unexisting lobby, entrance is a tiny space located on Mercer street.
No space to wait, no sofa to seat on.
Noisy (renovation in the building)
No food service (no restaurant, no room service)
Cheap amneties in the bathroom

Rooms are ok but quite small




.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fredher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMercer_HK, General Manager at Citadines Mercer Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for your comments and please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience caused due to the renovations going on in the hotel. At the moment, free buffet breakfast is provided in BreeZe Lounge. Also, freshly brewed coffee and tea with magazines and newspaper is provided throughout the day for guests to unwind and relax after spending a whole day in the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong’s city life.

The renovation will be finished in late September and our Japanese Restaurant with a 3 Star Michelin Chef will be ready by then.

Hope we can have you with us again after the renovation completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights at the Mercer on a business trip in early July. Although a small boutique hotel, every thing about the Mercer was fantastic. The location was convenient for me for both business and night life. Things like a free mini bar (amazing) and free WiFi made my stay very, very good. The breakfast buffet is not massive but was more than adequate. My only small complaint was that my bathroom had a sink that was not under a mirror which made shaving a bit tricky. Overall a brilliant stay and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikedeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMercer_HK, General Manager at Citadines Mercer Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for bringing up to our concern about the sink and mirror issues, we’ll look into that. Also, we are glad to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. In order to provide a hassle free stay, wifi, buffet breakfast, minibar and local calls are all complimentary with also freshly brewed coffee and tea provided throughout the day in BreeZe Lounge. All the amenities are carefully selected and the breakfast buffet also provides quality choices.

Thank you and looking forward to have you with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Even though when i pulled up to the hotel there was construction going on, once i arrived in the lobby, the staff at the check in counter were really nice & helpful. There was a nice citrus smell in the lobby & elevator. The Suite that i stayed in was well layed out & well furnished w/simple modern furniture & appliances, i especially like the coffee machine. The amenities were all real good. The room was comfortable, it reminded me of my New York apartment.
I was looking forward to swim a little but it was under renovation as the lobby & the staff told me that they were building a japanese restaurant w/a 3 star Michelin Chef, which i was really excited about. The Breakfast had a small selection but the items were with good ingredients which i didn't mind at all.
Over all the staff at the MERCER hotel were really nice, helpful & mindful of my needs. I really liked the location, it was very convenient as it was only 2 blocks away for the Train station.
I would definitely recommend it to my friends & i will also stay here again next time that I'm back in Hong Kong - which is quite often because even though i'm from NY, i oversea my company's China office so I spend 10 months out of the year in Mainland China, so every month i usually take a long weekend in Hong Kong to relax, eat & shop.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank htiggastyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMercer_HK, General Manager at Citadines Mercer Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you very much for your comments and we are happy to know that you feel like home when staying in The Mercer. The Mercer is at a very convenient location, within minutes to MTR, premier offices, shopping and dining.

Please accept our apology for the inconvenience caused due to the renovations in the hotel. As you are aware there will be a very exclusive Japanese Restaurant with a Michelin 3 Star Chef opening soon. Also, there are some projects with the swimming pool. The noisy work is only during daytime 11am-6pm so as to minimize the disturbance to our guests. Hopefully everything will be ready by late September.

Looking forward to have you with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed in The Mercer on my recent business trip to Hong Kong. I was extremely impressed by the quality of service provided by the staff in The Mercer, they are so professional and extremely attentive and helpful. I would like to particularly convey my sincere appreciation to one of the Managers at the Front desk, Kris Tan. His helpfulness, professionalism, attention to detail and customer needs really impressed me a lot. The staff and management of The Mercer, you have done a great job on keeping your guests happy!

Amanda from Sabre

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMercer_HK, General Manager at Citadines Mercer Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Dear Amanda,

Thank you very much for your comments and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our service which is always our top priority. We’ll pass on your comments to Kris accordingly.

Thank you for staying with us and looking forward to have you with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Mercer is a small boutique style hotel located in Sheung Wan on HK Island. This location is an up and coming area about a 10 minute walk to Central. It's a little out of the way for food or coffee etc., although there are convenience stores located closeby for snacks.
The hotel has a very small reception area consisting of only one desk so sometimes there is a bit of a wait for check in /out.
The rooms are small and comfortable but the decor is a bit HK glitzy.
Breakfast is adequte, but the breakfast room is small so go early to get a seat.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goingnutsinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMercer_HK, General Manager at Citadines Mercer Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for your valuable comments. The Mercer is a brand new boutique hotel in Sheung Wan with spacious rooms and quality amenities. It is at a very convenient location which is only a minute walk to the MTR Station. There are local eateries and Michelin Star Restaurants within walking distance. The entertainment and dining district of SoHo and Lan Kwai Fong are just moments away.

Our buffet breakfast provides quality selection of both hot and cold items with some Chinese touch e.g. dim sum. It gets busy at 8-9am as everyone is ready to go for work. While freshly brewed coffee and tea with magazines and newspaper are available throughout the day for our guests to unwind & refresh after spending a whole day immersed in Hong Kong’s metropolitan lifestyle.

Looking forward to have you with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#29 of 727 in Hong Kong
1,155 reviews
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#68 of 727 in Hong Kong
1,420 reviews
Sai Wan
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
#63 of 727 in Hong Kong
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#87 of 727 in Hong Kong
1,802 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#21 of 727 in Hong Kong
830 reviews
Sheung Wan
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Mercer Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Mercer Hong Kong

Address: No.29 Jervois Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#55 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#94 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $158 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Mercer Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Mercer delivers contemporary luxury and comfort with large spacious rooms in the fashionable up and coming Sheung Wan area. The new boutique hotel is only 1 minute from Sheung Wan MTR station, and within easy walking distance of Central’s prime business, shopping and dining locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines Mercer Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mercer Hotel Hong Kong
Citadines Mercer Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing