We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Citadines Mercer Hong Kong
Ranked #110 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed for three nights at The Mercer Hotel in the Sheung Wan district of Hong Kong.
It is very close (5 minute walk) to the Sheung Wan MTR station (in a straight line) and near the heart of many major shopping malls and interesting streets and alley ways.
This is all great if shopping is on your to do list but learning your way around the maze of streets and stair wells is quite a bit tricky. I had to use the The Oasis building which is very green as a landmark to get my bearings and after a day felt relieved I wasn't quite as lost. I had to attend the Convention Center each day and the rail system took me there without any trouble (four stops) on the rail system.
The Hotel was clean and comfortable.
A continental breakfast was served each morning in the 1st floor breakfast room. This was adequate with pastries, cereal, juice and cheese, meat and salmon offered along with chinese buns and salad. Coffee and tea as well.
Rooms offered free wi-fi and although the view wasn't anything to rave about the room was tastefully decorated and all facilities worked well.
The staff at the desk and the breakfast room were helpful and friendly as much as the Chinese ever are!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the central rooms ( like 402) there is more room in those.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helenwheels55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengagnes, Public Relations Manager at Citadines Mercer Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Thanks for your comments to The Mercer. In addition to complimentary WiFi internet access and breakfast, minibar and local calls are provided to guests free of charge. Our breakfast now is served in buffet style, which includes selection of bread, muffins, fruits, cold cuts, salad, cereals and juice, as well as hot items such as scrambled egg, sausages and Chinese dim sum served in a chafing dish. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
There are newer reviews for Citadines Mercer Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

449 - 455 of 539 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2012

This is a nice boutique hotel in walking distance of most of Central and most of the sights of the northern side of Hong Kong Island. The hotel is close to public transport (as is everywhere in HK!). The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are on the small side but are clean and well appointed. We stayed for eleven nights and during this time the only issue was that on a couple of occasions we smelt cigarette smoke from other rooms. As this is a no smoking hotel we were a little disappointed that the hotel management has not fitted detectors in each room/bathroom.

Some guests may feel a little uncomfortable with the bathroom being separated from the bedroom by a glass partition. While there are blinds to maintain privacy these do not totally block the ‘view’. We are seeing this ‘glass wall’ in an increasing number of hotels recently, not really a complaint, just a caution for the more sensitive.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thalweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengagnes, Public Relations Manager at Citadines Mercer Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Thanks for your reviews on The Mercer. All floors of The Mercer are not allowed for smoking. In future, we will ensure that smoking is strictly prohibited.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The Mercer is wonderful boutique hotel. Staff is friendly and helpful, and most importantly the rooms are beautifully decorated. Especially the executive rooms on the higher floors are very nice, large for HK standard, and with great extra's such as a little kitchenette, free drinks and an espresso machine for free use. It's in a relatively quiet street, but still only a short walk to the subway.

The only disappointment is the breakfast; free but very basic

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E749b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengagnes, Public Relations Manager at Citadines Mercer Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Thank you for praising The Mercer. Our breakfast now is served in buffet style, which includes selection of bread, muffins, fruits, cold cuts, salad, cereals and juice, as well as hot items such as scrambled egg, sausages and Chinese dim sum served in a chafing dish. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Stayed at The Mercer in November 2011, The hotel is in a quiet area but close to IFC and Central Hong Kong. The welcome/arrival was not great, no transpiration arranged (booked in advance), front office staff rude and a bit unorganized. No all of them are speaking well English. The building is new with some constructions in progress (pool area), lifts are nice and rooms as well. I booked a suite with separate kitchen and living area, including mini bar, WIFI and complimentary breakfast. I love the bathroom, well designed and organized. The bed is comfortable, facing the LCD 42’’ TV, I must say that the TV is a bit to low compared to the bed, once you are in the bed you can’t watch the TV properly. Rooms are cleaned every day by Housekeeping staff, Breakfast was poor, small indoor area with a poor selection of food. Service staff is not friendly and the overall atmosphere in the room is inappropriate and cold. Is not an Hotel for Family due to the high number of “accompanied ladies” in the area. For a couple of nights on business trip is ok and a good alternative to a “branded” hotel such Four Seasons……

Room Tip: High floor
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank explorer2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengagnes, Public Relations Manager at Citadines Mercer Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Thanks for your comments to The Mercer. Our breakfast is served in buffet style, which includes selection of bread, muffins, fruits, cold cuts, salad, cereals and juice, as well as hot items such as scrambled egg, sausages and Chinese dim sum served in a chafing dish. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is new, the decor is modern and trendy. The room is of excellent size for HK. Very confortable and high tech.
We had breakfast included in our rate. It was ok. Basic, nothing special. 2 sorts of fruit (melon and watermelon, always), 2 juices (not freshly squeezed), some bread and cheese, cereals, yogurt and some chinese dumplings.
Besides this, I totally recomend it!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eduard0_PT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengagnes, Public Relations Manager at Citadines Mercer Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Thanks for your comments to The Mercer. Our breakfast now is served in buffet style, which includes selection of bread, muffins, fruits, cold cuts, salad, cereals and juice, as well as hot items such as scrambled egg, sausages and Chinese dim sum served in a chafing dish. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Centrally located, but tucked in a backstreet, like all 'hidden gems' should be, this beautiful slick friendly city hotel epitomises my first choice hotel formula.

Be prepared for the sights and sounds of the old city (not a fraction of the original, but authentic). Who wants a theme-park? Taxis may not find it without GPS, and you'll get lost looking for it even after a couple of days, but each turn brings a new restaurant or unexpected vista.

Clean bright modern rooms and clean bright modern proud staff with service but not servility make you feel at home and welcomed.

Room Tip: book early - it's going to get busy
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeoLev5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengagnes, Public Relations Manager at Citadines Mercer Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Thanks for your comments to The Mercer. Situated between the business district and old city in Hong Kong, The Mercer is perfect for guests who are interested in learning the heritage of Hong Kong. Moreover, the hotel is surrounded by an abundance of local restaurants and bars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed in this hotel inbetween flights. The hotel opened a number of months ago and is fairly typical of the boutique genre that is currently sweeping Hong Kong. Based in the "old" (and therefore more atmospheric) part of Hong Kong but very centrally placed, the upper floors offer good views over the surrounding buildings. We were upgraded to a suite, which basically meant that tacked on to the bathroom/bedroom arrangement, there was a galley-style kitchen and a sitting area. Our general impressions were that it was clean and well laid-out.

Compared to European rooms, space is tight, which I understand is a Hong Kong trait, but we had a large very comfortable bed that more than did after flying in from the UK. What really impressed about the room was the ingenious use of space that allowed more than adequate hanging as well as an iron and board. The use of glass partitions helped maintain the feeling of space.

The hotel also offers a buffet breakfast, which again, helped set one up for the day. We had booked the hotel on one of the many booking websites and paid about £150 per room per night. Research suggested that this appeared to be average for this type of hotel. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertyBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengagnes, Guest Relations Manager at Citadines Mercer Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Thank you for praising The Mercer. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#31 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,128 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Sheung Wan
One96 - Elegant Full Floor Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#20 of 721 in Hong Kong
812 reviews
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#167 of 721 in Hong Kong
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadines Mercer Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Mercer Hong Kong

Address: No.29 Jervois Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#55 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#93 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $171 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Citadines Mercer Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Mercer delivers contemporary luxury and comfort with large spacious rooms in the fashionable up and coming Sheung Wan area. The new boutique hotel is only 1 minute from Sheung Wan MTR station, and within easy walking distance of Central’s prime business, shopping and dining locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citadines Mercer Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mercer Hotel Hong Kong
Citadines Mercer Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing