We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible and never again”

Saffron Indian Restaurant
Ranked #6,273 of 8,734 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Indian
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Horrible and never again”
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

I'll keep it short. I'd you want to waste your hard earned money on lousy food that is over priced in a restaurant that is dated and run down and if you want horrible service go here. To top it all there was a loud card session happening behind curtains to screw up our meal even more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saber13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
india
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“good indian food....”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

good indian veg food is served here with nice staff & good ambience.it is situated in nice location near tst east station.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank nitish99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Little India”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Fab location near Avenue of Stars inside Wing-on Plaza. AUthentic Punjabi food topped with lassi and papad. Good service.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PriyaAnanthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Indian near the Kowloon Shangri-La”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Fancied a change of pace after a few days of chinese food so went to the Saffron. Excellent food. They have a great selection of food and wine to choose from. We had a starter and a main and it was delicious. Would recommend it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnMondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I tried this resturant because of all the great reviews. When we arrived, the resturant was very empty with quite a dull atmosphere. The menu was good with a wide variety of dishes to choose from and we received complimentary popodums however it is very overpriced. It is more expensive then some of the better indian resturants on the Island with prime locations. My husband's Lamb Bhuna curry was around hk$153 alone.
We ordered 2 starters, 2 curry's, bread & rice. Our starters were good but nothing special and not worth the price. Our mains came shortly after and they gave us the wrong curry, they took it back into the kitchen and replaced it with the correct curry which I ordered however my rice had gone cold by then and was not replaced. As I was about to tuck into my curry there was a big thick black hair poking out of my paneer which totally put me off eating it.
I left the curry and when the waitress came over the conversation went like this.....
(me)'There is a hair in my curry' (waitress)'Are you not going to eat your curry'
(me)'No.....there is a hair in it' (waitress) 'I know'
She took the curry away with no appology.
They brought the bill shortly after and I was not charged for the hairy curry but even without this the bill was still more expensive then other indian resturants we go to in Hong Kong

I was very disappointed with this resturant as I have read all the good reviews and was looking forward to trying it. I thought the service was poor and the food was very overpriced. I will not be returning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hutchinsons12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Saffron Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing