We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in the desert” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of new sangeet

new sangeet
Ranked #5,261 of 7,790 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
155 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Oasis in the desert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

If you are Indian and you are in any part of china food is going to be a huge problem for you. Normal Indians cant afford the Chinese food. Especially if you are a vegetarian then you may starve to death. Here comes the importance of Indian restaurants. New Sangeet is one of the few best restaurants in Hongkong for all categories of people including Indians. Food is tasty, good service, nice and polite staff, prompt attention. Above all the mind blowing live music. Though the lady appeared in almost 6 inch make up, her voice did not need any make up and was just awesome. In totally very good

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rajeevkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    14
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buren an der Aare, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Too expensive !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Tandoori chicken was HKD 190 and a Indian fried rice HKD 75 .I had ordered this without looking up the price at the menue. But the most expensive are the drinks ! They charged me HKD for 44 for a medium sized Kingfisher beer. I think this is really terribly expensive. I had asked the waitress if the bottle was large, what she confirmed when I ordered, but it turned out that the bottles are actually medium to small size only. Unfortunately I also didn't look up the price of the beer in the menu. If I knew the beer is so expensive I wouldnt have ordered one. I felt like I'm being cheated on the price of this beer. My total bill for the Tandoori chicken, the fried rice, one Indian beer and one ice tea including the 10% came to HKD 378 whis is 49 US-Dollars. I think this is very expensive if compared to their dinner buffet which is about HKD 170 for all you can eat.
Also, I didn't like that the musicians when I looked at them took a HKD 100 bill and fixed it on the keyboard to demonstrate to me that they're expecting a tip.I won't go back to this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vivendofeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my late night dinner with live music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Craving for Indian food is the identity of a hardcore Indian out of India so I reached to this place with my family.it was after 10 pm so the set dinner buffet was over and we had to go for ala carte and from dal makhani to naans,steamed rice,pea pulav to chicken tikka masala and some kabobs were ordered and this tasteful dinner was enjoyed over a live musical ,listening to the ghazals rendered by a silky voicced singer.only one thing they can do because every other is very good that they should check their prices and make it little lower if it suits their arrangements to keep up the place going.i not only enjoyed food but had some favourite Indian songs sung beautifully for us especially and for others who wanted to do so.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanjy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
160 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Excellent buffet and outstanding Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I tasted a bit of everything and it All was fantastic to say the very least. Best Indian food since New York City. I will come back often for this food. The area seems out dated but this place is a real hidden Gem. The manger and staff A++++ They work to bring you back again. May be hard to find but look For it. It's well worth it

Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
1 review
“True tasting Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I'm in HongKong on a business trip. I stayed at Causeway area. This place does not have any good Indian restaurants to talk of. For a week I had almost no food at all. I was craving for good homely delicious home cooked meal. Thats when we discovered Sangeet. We went there and hogged on food after a loooonggg time.

Highlights:

Things taste like they do in India.
Not too much oil.
taste is mild and homely
I loved the dal fry here. Tasted like Dal should
Naan was delicious.
Aloo paratha was made of atta not maida which they usually do here in HongKong.
I tried tomato soup and it was great and soothing and yummy.
The gravies taste different for each dish.
Not too heavy on the pocket.
Overall value for money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank neeraprasad2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed new sangeet also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to new sangeet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing