We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORTH A TRIP”

Aberdeen Fishing Village
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.28*
and up
Private Tour: Hong Kong Island
More Info
$42.02*
and up
5-Hour Group Tour: Hong Kong City Overview with Hotel Pickup in Kowloon
More Info
$98.08*
and up
Hong Kong Layover City Tour with 2-way Airport Shuttle Transfers
Ranked #132 of 824 things to do in Hong Kong
Attraction details
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“WORTH A TRIP”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Great place to visit. Go in evening and see the lights on Big Jumbo floating restaurant.Good food so eat there as well. Ignore top deck go for the chinese touristic fun

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank DEPHUNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    73
    57
    22
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Olongapo, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not Much to Experience”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

So the Aberdeen fishing village was part of our tour itinerary from asian links. We stopped there & since our tour guide was kind enough to inform us prior to taking the boat that there's a separate fee for the ride which is 50 hk$, some have decided not to take the boat ride & just waited on the dock. But me & my boyfriend hopped on the boat thinking the ride would be fun.

We thought the old lady boat captain would make it more interesting but it's not. She's all poker face, not even smiling, didn't say a word, anything that would have made the tour educational & fun. She didn't even ask us to take a look at the souvenir she's most prolly selling, we could have bought something. In some country, you're most prolly be trapped on the boat to buy their goods, but not here in Hong Kong which I find really unique & snotty at the same time. The lady only spoke up when it's time to collect 50$ from each of us. And she wouldn't dock the boat til we all got paid which I find pretty paranoid of her.

So that's it. Just a short boring 15 mins ride, watching the colorful jumbo restaurant from a distance, and your back to the dock. So I must say, you can miss this if you're not going to dine at the Jumbo restaurant at all.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Experience the Sampan ride here”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

If you want to experience how it is to ride or stay in sa sampan as the local fisher men lived for the longest time. They now offer rides to tourists in this sampans around the bay and you can have a closed look at the Jumbo Floating Restaurant and Casino.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank guideme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Hoax!!!”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

What a hoax!!!
just avoid it and save your time and money. They will take your around on a boat for 10 - 15 mins to see other boats and water.

Highly avoidable.

Better utilize your time at some other activity.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rajiv K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevor-wa
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“interesting to see”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

interesting to go see but kind of a surprise that the 60hkd charge to go on the 20 minute boat ride wasn't included in the price of the tour

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank trevor-wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aberdeen Fishing Village also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Aberdeen Fishing Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing