We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous location but not much to do”
Review of Stanley, Hong Kong

Stanley, Hong Kong
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.44*
and up
Hong Kong Island Half-Day Tour
Ranked #24 of 815 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stanley is very different to other parts of Hong Kong, or completely different from what you think about Hong Kong. Stanley, located at the southern of Hong Kong island, is much more relaxed with beaches, hills and coves. You will find the western atmosphere in this small Chinese town.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access
New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location but not much to do”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This spot is gorgeous! The water looks beautiful and it's a really scenic drive across windy mountainside roads to get here. The only drawback (for me anyway) is it's a really commercial spot so you almost don't feel like you're in Hong Kong at all. The street facing the water is lined with Western bars and restaurants—hardly any Chinese characters in sight. I think it makes for a great 1-hour stop though, but if you're on a tight schedule, I'd probably skip this.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank framboise8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    983
    1,006
    361
    45
    14
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
567 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Perfect for a by the sea afternoon”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stanley looks like a small seaside town, with a small pier and promenade and also a famous market. We didn't buy anything there, but had lunch in one of the sea view restaurants and walked around. it's not a must do in HK, but is very nice to enjoy the afternoon there and breath fresh air.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Pleasant Saturday at Stanley”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had briefly visited Stanley market when we went on a half day tour but as we could only stay for about 30 minutes, we decided to go there via public transport. With the assistance of the concierge at the hotel were we were staying at Quarry Bay, this was easily done, as the area is well served by local buses. We initially spent quite a bit of time strolling around the market and picked up a few bargains, including a fantastic Greg Norman pure cotton jumper for my golf loving partner for less than $20 AUD. Remember to be prepared to negotiate the prices with most stall holders coming down to around half the original asking price. After our shopping, we walked to the nearby board walk area where there are a number of pubs and cafes which have both indoor and outdoor dining areas and had a very tasty and quite inexpensive lunch. It was very enjoyable, sitting out in the sun and gazing across the nearby water. After lunch, we strolled down to the Stanley Plaza which is a bit more upmarket than the market, with a range of cafes and stores. There was a great play area for children and there were heaps of families enjoying a pleasant Saturday morning. Overall, a very enjoyable experience and a nice change from the hustle and bustle of the more urban areas of Hong Kong!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank karen2558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Stanley St Markets”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

These were wonderful. Lots to see, plenty of bargains and we had a great few hours wandering around and spending our money. Well worth the effort to get there. We used the Hop on Hop off bus to get there.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank tekohiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“British Outpost”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stanley looks like an English sea side resort, with apartments & hotels lining the boardwalk. There are a large % of non Chinese cafes & bars. We wandered through the market which had a multitude of different stalls, some selling quality goods. Less crowded than the city markets on the day we visited.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vacenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanley, Hong Kong also viewed

 

Been to Stanley, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing