We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location . Very friendly. Beautiful rooms”
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ICON
Ranked #5 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the icon for xmas and new year.
First impressions were good. Ideal location. Close to everything. Trains. Ferrys etc. Hotel was fantastic. Checked in straight away was given a much needed drink . Room was amazing. Spotless and views to die for . room 2617 on 26th floor overlooking the harbour all building lit up with xmas lights . The light show was viewed from our window. Bar on 28th floor amazing views. Pool on 9th floor where also a bar. The staff in pool bar were the best. Helpful friendly and very efficient. Made our stay perfect. The hotel is very professional and gets our full marks. Food in the ground floor bistro gorgeous xxxx

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCARINA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear KarenandKeith,
Thank you for your wonderful review and special greetings from the Culinary Team here at the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you all back soon, please email me directly and I can make sure you get a great room at a great rate.
With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,079)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,321 - 3,327 of 6,081 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

I went to this hotel for 3 days and it was fantastic, it was a last minute booking so we weren't really sure what to expect. But we arrived and the room was amazing, we had the best view of the harbour and across Hong Kong island, perfect views for the nightly light show as well.

It was also mentioned that it was my birthday when we got there, and the staff sent up a gorgeous cake.

The location is perfect as well, very close to the night market, and the ladies market, both of which are worth a visit:)

i will defiantly be staying here again when i am back to Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor with a harbour view, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TemperedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear TemperedTraveller,
Thank you so much for your generous review. We are glad you had a wonderful visit and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Do let me know if you need any help with a room in Hong Kong.
With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Really nice hotel. Good location - it was an easy walk to the ferry or easy to get a cab and from there we could go anywhere. We booked a city room, which was not too small at all for 2 people, but upgrading to the harbour view was totally worth it. The best things were a) the concierge, who was so insanely cheerful; b) the free minibar; c) the AMAZING breakfast which had everything you could ever possibly imagine and even things you hadn't imagined before; d) the totally underused swimming pool. Service was really good - including things like laundry. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prbstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear prbstars,
The team and I are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. Your wonderful review means a lot to us all and we send you our good wishes.
Please drop me a note directly next time and I will make sure you are getting the best available rate for the best available room.
With warm regards,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This was our third stay at The ICON and it continues to delight. Love the design, the rooms, the comfy bed, the bathrobes, bathroom supplies, the great service and really everything about the hotel.
It is now my favorite hotel!
Next trip to HK - no question - it will be at the ICON again!

Room Tip: 38 harbour view rooms have an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbyRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear travelbyRosie,
This is wonderful to read. The team and I send you our thanks and our very best wishes.
Please feel free to email me directly for any future booking.
Kind regards,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have the privilege to stay in the Icon in May 2013 at city 36 and again in Nov 2013 at harbour 36.

The overall consistency is still there. However the staff members were lack of the positive high energy than before. Felt like they just wanted to check us in/out and bye bye. As returning guests, we didnt get a discount on the hotel room rates. The second time around the Icon did not offer free breakfast with the higher price we paid. Our daily room cleaning service was not as thorough as before. There were still finger prints not wiped in the bathroom faucet area and box of tissue was not replaced. These were repeated a few times throughout our stay. But we must compliment the hotel for sanitizing their remote control and their phones. Absolutely no dust or finger prints were found. Their bed were heavenly soft and we had great night sleeps.

As frequent business travellers to HK and have stayed at various hotels, the Icon is impressively designed and the air quality is superb. Location is not as convenience nor were there any short distance convenience stores.

For the price that we paid, we thought the staff members should bring bright smiles and more than pleasant eye contacts with all the guests.

We tried all the meals in the hotel. The Dim Sum was top notch at the Above and Beyond. Staff were attentive. Breakfast buffet was wide spread but could do better with the oriental selection presentation. I think the staff were too eager to clear our tables each time at the Market.

Overall we feel the Icon is definitely a 4.5 stars....just because for a full 5 stars we think the staff members can smile more and be more helpful and attentive. Second thing is the price for value.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Skycaneat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Skycaneat,
Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to read that we did not impress you
entirely. I would not wish this to be your lasting memory and should you ever wish to reach out to me personally please do not hesitate to do so.
With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed at this property with a group of friends twice recently. We were on a golf trip to Mission Hills and used this as our base upon arrival and before departure.

The hotel is easily accessible from the airport and is close to the convenience of restaurants and bars along Salisbury Rd. A few hundred meters further is a very large shopping precinct and beyond that the ferry terminal to go to Hong Kong Island. I highly recommend taking the ferry across at least once (weather permitting).

The hotel itself has a lovely pool that at night offers spectacular views across to Hong Kong Island. There is a restaurant and bar that I didn’t use, the bar offered good views of the city as well from the 28th floor however you needed to book well in advance.

The rooms are nice, the bathrooms well-appointed and the wi-fi both free and very speedy.
The staff are friendly and courteous and only too happy to help with any requirements. I would stay here again and I would recommend it to anyone wanting a nice hotel in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room, the view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMH007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear AMH007,
Thanks for reviewing ICON.
Much appreciated, do keep in touch and let me know when you need any help with a room in Hong Kong.
With best wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Everything about this hotel is fantastic! I planned to propose to my girlfriend at the hotel and the Guest Relations team was always prompt and patient with my requests and inquires, as well as coming up with great ideas about how to conduct the proposal! From the arrangement of flowers, to the special food design request that was expertly executed by Chef Philip of The Market, the flow of events for the special night and the surprise provision of sparkling wine in our room after the proposal, the various departments truly worked together seamlessly to produce a magical and memorable night! Of course, the excellent food provided by restaurants The Market and Above & Beyond helped to really push the limits to what a superb experience a hotel is able to provide. Will stay here again when we visit Hong Kong again.. Thank you very much once again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rev0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear rev0ss,
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback following your most recent stay with us. All of the team here at Hotel ICON take great pride in delivering the service that we are famous for, it is just so encouraging to hear such positive comments. Chef Philip in particular was thrilled you remembered him.
We are looking forward to welcoming you and your girlfriend back again soon for another memorable stay.
Do feel free to email directly for future booking.
Kind regards,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#6 of 725 in Hong Kong
762 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#8 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,597 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 725 in Hong Kong
4,121 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $234 - $631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing