We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“huge rooms, excellent service, great value!”
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel ICON
Ranked #5 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“huge rooms, excellent service, great value!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We chose this great hotel due to other reviews we'd read and also because of the location and price. It was touted as having some of the (if not the) biggest hotel rooms in HK. The service was amazing on every level and our room ($250-$300?) Was modern, had every amenity we could imagine, was huge and had an amazing view. Imagine our surprise when we found out it's a training hotel owned by Hong Kong Polytechnic (university) and the employees and staff are supposedly students learning to work in the restaurant/hotel/service industry. Note: the hotel restaurants are NOT CHEAP and meals at two of them cost about what the nightly rate of a room is. They are however some of the best and top rated restaurants in HK which is saying a lot. The $75/person dinner buffet sounds steep but it has the most incredible food...foie gras, king crab legs, you name it. It was our favorite meal for the money. Also, the workout facility has an amazing view and is great.

Also, the location of the hotel is incredible. We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lattejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear lattejones,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay at Hotel ICON. I am pleased you enjoyed the whole experience and how highly you valued the service, room, restaurants and the location during your stay.
Do please feel free to get in touch with me personally next time you visit Hong Kong.
With warm regards,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,015
    665
    107
    17
    18
See reviews for
873
2,725
364
952
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,583)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Icon for 5 nights at the start of June and had a fantastic time. We stayed in a Harbour facing room and the view was great, whilst the room itself was well kitted out. We had a couple of evening meals in the Above & Beyond and Market restaurants. The food at A&B was brilliant, while the waiters were attentive and friendly. Our table was arranged so that we had an view over the Harbour to HK Island, which was a nice touch. All the staff were really helpful and polite, and the facilities are excellent. Next time we're in HK we'll come back here.

Room Tip: Harbour rooms have the view - worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Dan K,
Thanks for your review regarding the stay at Hotel ICON.
It was lovely to read that you thought so highly of our team. Your praise of the food in Above & Beyond Restaurant means a lot to us, our chefs in particular, they work tremendously hard to ensure your food is the highest quality. Our entire team, in fact, is passionate about enhancing your experience in any way that we can. So we would all like to thank you for your kind words.
Lastly we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back.
With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel is quite new so everything is in good condition and has a modern design. The room is much bigger than typical hotel rooms in Hong Kong. Everything in the mini-bar is free, including Nespresso coffee!! The only down side is the location. It's about 15-20 minutes away from the subway, a considerably long distance when you try to walk back to the hotel carrying a lot of shopping bags. However, I still enjoyed my stay there and will definitely consider to stay at Hotel Icon again next time when I visit Hong Kong.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne_Tsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Yvonne_Tsan,
Thank you for posting your review on this website following your most recent stay with us.
I am very pleased that you choose to make us your home away from home, and that our team are able to meet your expectations.
My team and I do look forward to seeing you again next time, please don't hesitate to get in touch to make a booking.
With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Smart, chic hotel about 20 minutes walk from the Star Ferry or 5 minutes using the courtesy bus which leaves every 20 minutes. We initially had booked 6 nights but it was so good we stayed an extra night! This hotel is the perfect location for exploring the city - forget the Peninsula - the Icon will enhance your Hong Kong experience and provide an unforgettable stay. The staff were all very polite, helpful and efficient and the food at The Market restaurant was excellent, albeit a bit pricy... but hey - you're in a world city here! You wouldn't get half this value for money in London! We stayed in the Harbour View room - definitely worth the extra as the view is spectacular. Clean, comfortable, crisp, chic, cool, quiet, welcoming - and much more. I wouldn't consider anywhere else when I return to HK!

Room Tip: Choose the harbour view room (more expensive but worth it for the view) and ask for as high a level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philly_O_Phish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Philly_O_Phish,
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel following your recent stay.
I appreciate these things take time and wanted to express my gratitude for your feedback as is both valued and useful.
It was a pleasure to look after you and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel ICON in the near future.
With warm regards,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here only for one night on the way home from Japan to Sydney. Yes, what everyone says about this hotel is true. It is impressively designed, and the service is almost too much. The breakfast is very, very good. If you stay here, make sure to get breakfast included. We were upgraded to a harbour view room, which was great. The bed was king size and comfortable. The bathroom was large, lovely deep soaking bath, cool seperate, curved shower.
We didn't use the pool, but it looked good, and the bar near the pool was lovely.
We had dinner at Above and Beyond, and it was also very good, but a bit expensive.
The Coffee lounge at ground level was always busy, and it seems that many people not staying at the hotel come especially to use the bar/lounges and restaurants here.
The only negatives I can say about this hotel is it's location. It wasn't very pleasant to walk around that area, or even walk from Nathan Rd back to the hotel especially at night. We normally stay on the island at Causeway Bay or similar, and the vibe is very different.
I did have a massage at the Spa, which was OK, but expensive. I don't think it was worth the money I paid. I think that they should have some less expensive options available at the spa.
They do have a free shuttle bus to TST etc which is handy.
Overall I would recommend this hotel, just be aware of the location limitations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessbuttercup66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear princessbuttercup66,
Thank you for posting your review on this website following your most recent stay with us.
I am very pleased that you choose to make us your home away from home, and that our team are able to meet your expectations.
We hope to see you again at the hotel soon and do let me know if I can help with future stays.
With warm regards,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just arrived home after our 6 day vacation in Hong Kong, The Icon surpassed any review that we read before choosing this perfect hotel. Thank you Nick and the team at Above and Beyond for taking care of us so well. Dino and Stella for the fabulous cocktails, the girls at reception for making everything run smooth, and to everyone at the hotel, just a very big thank you for giving us an unforgettable stay in Hong Kong...

Room Tip: Pay the extra and choose the club rooms with access to Above and Beyond....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topcatmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear topcatmax,
I am extremely pleased to read that you were satisfied with your choice of hotel for your Hong Kong stay and that we at Hotel ICON provided excellent services and facilities. Nick, Dino and Stella at A&B in particular were thrilled you remembered them. Our staff has always been the greatest asset and it’s good to see that you have enjoyed our iconic Hospitality.
Hopefully we will see you again soon staying with us, do feel free to contact me directly if I can assist with any travel arrangements.
With warm regards,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Cool hotel with efficient staff and service and amazing views from spacious harbour rooms.

With chic décor and impressive leisure facilities, this is a great base for touring and business meetings.

The cleaning was sharp and I couldn't want for anything - the hotel team even sent me up a birthday cake.

Will return!

Room Tip: Choose the harbour room and view the nightly light show from your armchair
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golightlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Golightlee,
We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for sharing your experiences with others. It is so encouraging to our team to hear such positive comments like yours.
We are looking forward to welcoming you both back again soon for another memorable stay.
Do feel free to email me directly if I can assist with any travel arrangements.
With warm regards,
Richard Hatter
general.manger@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,460 reviews
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,663 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Property: Hotel ICON
Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing