We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Icon....Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel ICON
Ranked #4 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hotel Icon....Awesome”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and it is one of the best hotels we have stayed at. Big modern rooms.....very friendly staff....free shuttle bus....great food and service. Will only stay here when in HK...Ten out of Ten Hotel Icon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMartin270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear JMartin270,

Thank you so much for your very kind review which I know the team will receive most gratefully. With all good wishes,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,682
    632
    103
    17
    18
See reviews for
802
2,557
337
897
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,502)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

While the property itself seemed a bit dated, what really set this hotel apart was the excellent service. From the moment we walked in, the front desk was exceptionally helpful and kind in assisting us through the check-in process.

But Carlos, our concierge, truly went above and beyond to help us, and I've yet to meet another concierge at any property that understood my requests so well. My wife and I were looking for a very particular type of restaurant, and we did a pretty poor job of describing what we wanted. Nevertheless, Carlos understood and pointed us to the best meal that we had during our entire time in Hong Kong.

In addition to Carlos, I felt that the entire staff really went out of their way to be helpful, and I will definitely be staying here the next time I come to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DietBoost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Dietboost,

Many thanks for the feedback. Carlos and the team at concierge was delighted to know you had mentioned his name.

May I please ask you to reach out to me by email with more details about your impression of the hotel feeling 'dated'.

In the meantime, I wish you safe travels,

With all good wishes,

Richard Hatter
richard.hatter@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
Level Contributor
230 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I booked this hotel in november while traveling end march only
apperently the hotel was not full and they were offering the rooms at same rate but incl
breakfast , while I booked without breakfast. I informed them by email and after insisting they
upgrade me to club-floor incl breakfast.
The rooms and specially the showers are GREAT
The outside pool was open.,with warm water and I had a delicious lunch at the poolside

Room Tip: worth wile to pay extra for harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear jhonnyhome

We are all very happy to hear that your stay was special and thanks very much indeed for the wonderful review.
Hope to see you again soon.

With best wishes,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I booked the Hotel Icon for my stay over the Easter Holiday period after reading the rave revues on Trip Advisor. I had an Icon Harbour View Room (1119). My thoughts? Too be honest, I am really not sure why the hotel rates as highly as it does on Trip Advisor. In my opinion it’s an expensive solid quality four-star hotel, in fact it costs as much as a five-star hotel. It’s a very modern design with unremarkable rooms and an equally unimpressive lobby. Perhaps I didn’t do my homework properly; it was simply too modern and trendy for me.

The positives?

Big comfortable beds; gym with a great view, nice swimming pool also with commanding views of Hong Kong Island. The restaurant on the ground floor is great value for money; a friend and I had a meal, which was not much more than 500 Hong Kong Dollars for the two of us. The Icon’s staff were very friendly and obliging and the WiFi always worked well. The chef made great breakfast omelets.

What didn’t I like?

The rooms were soulless and didn’t have a lot of character. The lifts also drove me mad. For access to the rooms you must swipe your room key in the lift. The swipe is not clear at first sight and is at an awkward height. I found on a few occasions I had to swipe several times before it would lock in my floor number. The lifts were also always very busy and it was not uncommon to wait an extended length of time to catch a lift. One evening I had the buffet dinner in the Market Restaurant and was horrified by the price, over 700 Hong Kong Dollars for one person. I only realised what it cost after I sat down. The buffet did have a good selection, but I was clearly paying for expensive food such as seafood that I don’t eat. They also charged me 64 Hong Kong Dollars for a bottle of water, which is a complete rip-off. As it was Easter there were many families with screaming kids everywhere. Had I known it was going to be so expensive, I would have gone back to the restaurant on the ground floor, which I was quite happy with. The free in room minibar is simply a gimmick, there’s not a lot in the minibar and it was only restocked once during my three-night stay.

Overall the hotel was OK, but I am surprised the Icon is so highly rated on Trip Advisor. Would I stay here again? Perhaps not, I’ve stayed previously at the Intercontinental Kowloon and that’s a better option for nearly the same money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllanCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear AllanCanberra

Thank you for your recent review of Hotel ICON. As an establishment who strives to exceed each and every one of our guest’s expectations we are sorry that on this occasion we have not fulfilled your requirements.

You specifically commented on our hotel room design and atmosphere. As I am sure you can appreciate, architecture and interior design will be perceived differently by each and every individual who encounters it.

Our decor is contemporary and bespoke and although that may not be suited to your personal taste, the majority of our guests choose to stay at our hotel for the interior design alone.

Our website is very visual in showing our guests exactly what each space looks like in order to help them to make an informed choice.

It is unfortunate that you found our restaurants busy and expensive, but the price is very reasonable by Hong Kong standards which is why they were full. However the staff's choice of table allocation away from families might have been better and we have taken your views into consideration and have briefed them accordingly.

We appreciate any feedback from our customers, so we are unsure as to why you did not approach any of the management team regarding your dissatisfaction I am sure we could have sorted out a few issues. We cannot deal with any problems if they are not brought to our attention. We would have been more than happy to deal with these issues had they been mentioned.

We have never said that we are five star we say we are 'upscale' and our room tarif prices are considerably less than a Five star hotel.

Allan, we value your custom and are sorry that you felt a disservice from us on this occasion.
All of your points have been taken into account and we will address each one of them.

Thank you for your feedback. Hope to see you again soon and, next time do contact me first to handle the arrangements, and let's have lunch together.
With warm regards,

Richard Hatter
General Manager
Hotel ICON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Of all the hotels that we have stayed, this hotel was one of the best. We have stayed at 3 different hotels and one cruise ship during this trip to Viet Nam and Hong Kong.
Pros.
Great location. Free shuttle bus to Peninsula hotel and harbour city where all shops and restaurants are. My wife and I took the shuttle bus there and walked back to the hotel. Only take about 20 minutes walk. A lot of shops such as clothing stores, restaurants, high end Hermes, Chanel, LV, etc., jewellery stores along the way so the walk was very nice. The whole area was like a big giant shopping mall stressing for multiple blocks and the the habor city view is ver nice st night. Close to MTR and subway. We learned that subway in Hong Kong means walking under ground. Silly us from the US THINKING it was by train. MTR IS a train. It is very easy to use. Hong Kong people are very friendly and helpful. Sometimes, we stop and asked for directions, and most people speak English very well. You can also take a taxi for about $ 3 us. Most taxi drivers are very nice. I felt ribbed off from the taxi guy taking us to the airport from the hotel. The meter showed 208+ and I gave him $500 bill in Hong Kong money and he gave me $200 back in change. He was helping putting the luggages on the trolley so he probably felt h deserved a big tip. I would have preferred getting the correct change and tip him myself but we were short on time so I didn't bother. A lot of people walk the streets around the areas from the hotel to the shopping areas so we felt very safe.
Great Concierge service. You can ask them where to go or places to eat. They gave us excellent recommendations. Try the street Market at night. Very fun. they have crabs, and seafood there. We noticed a lot of tourists there. Similar to street market in Viet Nam at night time. Cheap souvenir. Make sure you bargain. Major mark up.
Great and speedy service if you need something from your room. They brought us mutliple water bottles right away at no extra charges at different times. We felt really bad calling them. I was drinking a lot o water one night because I had an allergic reaction from something I ate outside of the hotel. Free mini bar. Brought us a transformer for our iPhones and iPads. Wow! Staffs Always smile and so polite and someone always stand near the elevator as u get out and say hi.
Great bed and bed sheets.
Great toiletries. They have everything you need. Great shower, very clean, tv at the tub was nice. Have safe and need key to access your floor so very safe.
We did not use the pool or spa or gym so can't comment. Did see a few people working out. The view looks decent during the over cast day.
Buffet was great to us because we were into chinese food on this trip. Nice dimsum. Western and Asian buffets. Great croissants: almonds, chocolate, plain. Great variety of baguettes. Tipical western buffet such as bacon, eggs French toast, omelette, salmons. Great Japanese selections as well. Also had falafel and humus. Fruits were great but wish there were some papayas. Overall, we were very happy.
There were fruits on our dresser when we checked in. Only one other hotel did that for us during this trip or any other trips.
We have traveled to many different countries and stayed at many different hotels and I have to say that this hotel offers the best values for your money, and no money can substitute the smiles and the willingness of the staffs to do whatever it takes to make your stay a pleasant one. Thank you again. And we had already recommended our aunt to stay here on her next trip to Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Depend on whether or not you are going stay in your room a lot or not. We didn't so we figured w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funtravel4210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear funtravel4210,

Wow the Team and I are really very delighted with your incredibly detailed and complimentary review.

Of course these reviews are of great benefit to other travelers and in particular when they are from world travelers like yourselves who obviously have impeccable taste and understand upscale service and design.

Thanks again and do please contact me personally and I will be happy to handle the arrangements for your next visit.

With Best wishes,

Richard Hatter
General Manager

With warm regards,

Richard Hatter F.I.H.
General Manager & Adjunct Associate Professor | Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON - Hong Kong

richard.hatter@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Congratulations Hotel Icon your service is second to none. We Four are staying at icon and we are all impressed beautiful hotel rooms and the most comfortable beds stylish well equipped bathroom fantastic views of the harbour from our rooms the shuttle bus is an excellent service running every 20 minutes to the Center of town you couldn't ask for more highly recommend this hotel to any one

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear John H

Thanks very much indeed for the excellent feedbcak.
We strive to make your memories special over easter.

With all good wishes,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband & I stayed at this hotel for our 10 year weeding anniversary in February. We paid extra for the limo service & were picked up promptly from the airport then personally greeted at the hotel & taken directly to our room for in-room check-in. We were also given a full description of the hotel services & also given tourist information & brochures. Staff were attentive, turn down service at night, bed made in the morning, continuous restocking of bar fridge, delicious breakfast. Both ,y husband & I have nothing but the best things to say about the staff & the hotel itself. Make sure you have evening cocktail drinks & give afternoon tea a try - the views are to die for!!

Room Tip: Club 38 Harbour View - very spacious room, comfortable bed, fantastic harbour views, allows you to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicken142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Vicken142
Amazing review many thanks the team will be really delighted.
I will be happy to personally handle your future stays.
Please contact me in person.

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 716 in Hong Kong
3,432 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 716 in Hong Kong
3,763 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 716 in Hong Kong
6,038 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 716 in Hong Kong
2,083 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Property: Hotel ICON
Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing