We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Hong Kong!”
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel ICON
Ranked #5 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Herentals, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Great stay in Hong Kong!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Cause we tripped for three weeks around South East Asia and planned our trip by ourselves, we wanted to end in style where we started our trip a few weeks before. we booked 3 nights at the ICON hotel. We booked a 38 sq room facing the Victoria Harbour.

We arrived late in the evening so we hadn't had to queu for check in. We immediatly felt that the staff is very professional and would do everything to satisfy you. Very cool was also that you could sign with an optical pen on a touch screen for your deposit etc.

When we arrived at our room, we were a bit dissapointed. The room, the bathroom, the bed, the coffee machine, the minibar, ... briefly evertyting was perfect BUT we booked the hotel for the view too and that was a bit dissapointing cause we were facing Hong Kong Island but not the ICC, not the Bank of China building, not the ICC, ... We booked online and we thought that the 38 sq m rooms also had the same view as the rather standard room facing the 'harbour' but that they were on a higher level in the building. We went to the desk downstairs to ask for another room, which wasn't possible anymore for that night.

The day after we were changed, read, downgraded to a 'standard harbour king room' on a high level and we had the view we wanted. In first case they told us that they couldn't refund the difference between a 38 sq room and a standard room but whenI told them that the website doesn't supply pictures from the view of the 38 sq room, they aggreed with we and refunded the difference on our creditcard. It was only about 30 euro's or so but it was great that they fixed it!

We stayed in a lot of hotels in the world and have to say, the level of service is excellent here! We went to a wine taste and bought some bottles of wine there. Never thought we could drink them around the pool, watching the Hong Kong skyline. We get glasses from the waiter and he opened our bottle in front of our eyes. And we didn't ask anything ... they keep an eye on everything what happens there! GREAT!

The swimmingpool and the sauna are really nice to relax after a busy day in the city of Hong Kong!

We'll be back for sure !

Didn't try the breakfast
(don't know this review is helpfull for you but if it is, don't hesitate to vote :-) )

Room Tip: Higher levels are great to stay at ! If you do it for the view as they announce on the website, do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,941
    654
    107
    17
    18
See reviews for
849
2,687
360
947
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,566)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I could tell you about the great views, wonderful location and all the usual stuff but I want to share a story that makes this hotel really stand out and stand above the others. We checked out and caught a taxi outside the hotel and went the airport. Like an idiot I left the oil painting I bought in an antique shope on Hollywood Road in the boot of the taxi. I called the hotel and and emailed them when I got back with the sad story. Most hotels would wipe their hands of it and say bad luck and that would be it. The Icon somehow tracked down the taxi driver and recovered the picture and sent it back by registered mail. Brilliant......And the hotel was superlative in all other ways as well. They deserve their top ranking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the harbor - you won't be disappointed. And make sure you go the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigelndh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We just spent 6 nights at Hotel ICON. Amazing property, great service and amenities. It was of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at. We had a suite with wrap around windows, a gorgeous bathroom, huge seating area. There was a complimentary mini-bar, lots of water bottles placed throughout the room each day, lovely amentities.
We were on the floor that included lounge access which had fantastic breakfasts and lovely cocktails each evening.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
The location was very central in Kowloon. It was about a 15 minute walk to the Star Ferry or you could take the complimentary hotel shuttle which ran frequently.
The concierge was very helpful with all of our reservations and directions.
We were there on a leisure trip but this property would be perfect for business or leisure.
Enjoyed the wonderful gym and amazing outdoor pool.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2009. I think all 09 numbered room may be the larger ones. This one was amazing. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy10in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a great value venue in HK...We loved our stay here, the only blot we wound up with a stomach bug from one of the restaurants...On balance though I think we would still come back again. Its not as conveniently located as the other hotels but still worth the extra effort

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonmak_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels around the world and my husband at many more. Often in the pursuit of excellence 5 star hotels follow the same formula and whilst lavish blend into the same experience in a different city. Not so the Icon. From the moment we arrived it became obvious that some serious thought had gone into making this a different experience. We were met in the lobby by the gracious Lauren and escorted immediately to our room for check-in . Very welcome after a late flight . The design element of the hotel is stunning . The stand out for us were the enthusiastic and fresh staff- a marked contrast to the staff at The Langham ( our last stay in HK). The spa was first class and the gym well appointed. Whilst not situated in the heart of Kowloon shopping there is a complimentary bus operating every 20 mins.

Room Tip: Always go for the harbour view - even if you take a smaller room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is my 4th stay at this property rooms are still excellent, i have remove one star , why?
Wi-Fi did not work properly in the rooms keeps going down , the people are not friendly like before and house keeping very poor not clean enough, overall its still one of my fav hotel in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henson_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Have stayed in many many hotels around the world and this hotel is the BEST!!! The service from the moment we pulled into the drive way was polite, friendly and efficient. We splashed out and stayed in a club room which meant we were whisked off to the top floor for a personal checkin. We had green tea and fresh cold towels while filling in forms etc.
Had a great room for three days that had been very well thought out and the views were breath taking. The mini bar was included and stocked daily. Breakfast was also included and was an experience in its self. It's AMAZING! They have their own bakery in the restaurant, fruit bar with freshly squeezed juice. A cold and hot buffet filled with a great variety of both European and Asian food. Two chefs cooking eggs however you want them.
Cocktails were at 6 till 8 every night on the top floor looking out over Hong Kong island and you could have as many as you liked. Afternoon tea was from 4pm and although we didn't have any were told by others it was very good.
Had dinner one night and again the service and food were better than we'd ever had in a hotel.
Special thanks to the concierge who were fun, a little cheeky but very helpful.
Stay here if you can, it's well worth the money.

Room Tip: Stay in a club room, as it works out the same price as a normal one with breakfast and cocktails etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grooveykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,395 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,630 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#28 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Property: Hotel ICON
Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing