We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hospitality at its best”
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel ICON
Ranked #3 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A wonderful design hotel with much dedication to details, a composition for all senses. We liked the perfect sercice, nice young and friendly staff, a lot of amenities, which you never expect. The room was amazing.The swimming pool offers a fantastic view to the skyline og Hongkonk Island. Remarkable is the artwork in the public halls. Looking for a hair in the soup? Yes, we found it - the quality of the breakfast buffet was standard and not really convincing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HansMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,271 - 4,277 of 6,327 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotels and rooms have a great design and is easy on the eyes. The pool area is also great. Service is 5*, they even made up my room when leaving at 8pm, amazing! Absolutely an excellent hotel to recommend

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petsko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent a weekend in HK to celebrate a friends promotion recently - managed to get a room several days before our overnight adventure as it was an impromptu trip.
Its a bit of a walk to the MTR station, although the hotel does provide a shuttle service.
The rooms are well-appointed and very stylish. The open plan shower is beautiful, and in particular I love the single large granite slab for the floor. However the open-plan does make it prone to flooding the bathroom if you're like me and enjoy a long hot shower.
Service is impeccable and the concierge was super-helpful with our restaurant reservations. Surprisingly the staff spoke great English!
The hotel lobby has a very stylish wine bar that has some great left-bank bordeaux that is available by the bottle and the glass.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and suspect that longer stays would be no less enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eshawng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I am so glad we read the reviews of this hotel and decided to stay -- our entire stay was brilliant! The welcome was fabulous and check-in very easy. The room size was large for HK standards and the promised harbour view was just that. The king size bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows. No noise. Very large en-suite. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

The hotel is located close enough to Hung Hom station which took less than 3-4 minutes to get to, connecting you to the HK MTR (which incidently, is the line that takes you straight up to Shenzhen if you're planning to go shopping for the day).

Breakfast was included for our stay and is served in The Market. This has to be the best breakfast set-up I have ever seen, and I've travelled a lot. The Above & Beyond restaurant on the 28th Floor is also recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a harbour view room, you won't regret the lovely outlook over Hong Kong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sassenach-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Nothing but good things to say about this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was amazing with a great view, comfortable bed, shower with overhead spray, and plenty of room to move around in the room without bumping into each other. Very good location and able to walk no matter where we chose to go for the day/night. I would definitely stay here again on a return trip to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DnBEno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Risk-free choice for a great, reasonably-priced stay in Hong Kong. Luxurious without opulence. Free shuttle or nice walk to Nathan Rd or Star Ferry. Great views of the harbour & skyline, great pool & gym on 9th floor, even greater (but admittedly expensive) Chinese restaurant on 28/29th Floor. Food was really exceptional. Breakfast in the 2nd floor restaurant is really ''to behold" (warning it does REALLY stop at 10:30am sharp!!)

Rooms are excellent. Giant windows. VERY comfortable beds. As the hotel is only a few years old, all the tech stuff work well - whisper-quiet air-co keeps the room temp spot on, free wireless is fast and needs a single logon for the entire hotel/stay. All-in-all can heartily recommend.

Room Tip: Take a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We booked the hotel ICON for 3 reason one we wanted to be on Kowloon side, two we wanted it to be 5 star and have an executive floor and three the one that nailed it for us was the heated outdoor swinmming pool as the temperature drops this time of year in KH

What a gem of a find this place was, the facilities from the market restaurant to the Michelin standard Chinese restaurant on the 28th floor we absolutely wonderful, the food and the wine were very keenly priced for HK, the room 36 we had had the most fanatstic view across the harbour to HK side and was even more stunning in the evening, the room was immaculate but what made this hotel really really special was the people who worked there nothing and i mean nothing was to much trouble for them from the people on the ground floor to the people on the executive floor.

The gymnasium was fantastic an excellent size that accomodated all equipment for serious power and body builders, cardio machines and lots of free weights, then pool is great and has a fantastic view of the harbour while lying in the sun

On the executive floor you can eat in the executive lounge for breakfast or the market restaurant two choices same price free its complimentry on the executive floor, the executive floor is more quite for breakfast

the executive floor in the evening serves cocktails from 18:00 until 20:00 please dont go there if you dont want to drink becasue the staff will supply you with an abundance of drink as soon as your glass is empty it is filled they ahve the most staff i ahve ever seen on an executive floor and they were all fantastic

The room ( we had a room type 36 overlooking the harbour) lots of amenties, good laundry service, free wifi, absolutely clean and fantastic bed and above all else really really quite which amazed us.

forget what people say about this hotel being for business its for families as well and within walking distance of the star ferry ( if you dont want to walk there is a complimentry bus service as well)

the final thing i can say about this hotel is i cant wait to go back there

Room Tip: if you can afford it stop in the executive rooms if not ask for one facing the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferretUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,160 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,769 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 729 in Hong Kong
4,244 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 729 in Hong Kong
2,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $201 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing