We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not perfect”
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel ICON
Ranked #5 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice, but not perfect”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel ICON, especially with the expansive room (the room was about 3 to 4 times the size of a room at the Cosmo Hotel in Wan Chai), free M&Ms, and funky bathroom. The gym was also well-equipped and had a great view of the city (but a view of Hong Kong from any vantage point is great!). The scent as one walks in is wonderful, especially after a long warm day outdoors.

However, perhaps it is the understated service, which was good, but it also seemed as if the staff could not quite be bothered. Upon arrival, yes, they were pleasant and gracious, but still... there was something missing. Perhaps it was just a smile? It's ok Hotel ICON staff, a smile won't keep people away! In fact, it will make them feel even better to come back to the hotel.

The location is not as central, but it's still well served by buses to Wan Chai, the Airport Express Shuttle, and the Hotel ICON shuttle that travels to TST and Harbour View every 20 minutes. If you're not in the mood to wait, the East TST station isn't too far of a walk (not much farther than the usual walks to any station in HK).

Overall, a good experience!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wulili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,843
    642
    105
    17
    18
See reviews for
822
2,640
349
932
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,543)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Fans of well designed hotels will love Hotel Icon. The rooms are stunningly designed - right down to the tv over the bathtub. Spring the additional dollars for the view over Victoria Harbour & you may never want to leave your room. Can't say just how much I was impressed by the rooms & restaurants. Dined in "Above & Beyond' on the first night - the food was brilliant. Couldn't fault it. Would recommend going earlier in the night as I tried to get in for a 10pm dinner - which they obliged but clearly they were all keen to finish up. Which is fair enough.

Concierge service had me booked into every restaurant & activity I wanted to do around town seamlessly. Always pointing me in the right direction with a smile.

Little things mean a lot when you travel. The free mini bar is a nice touch - keeping guests stocked up on Cokes & M&M's helps increase the love.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are definitely the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPP2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed in the Icon for 4 days on business. Didn't have a harbour view room but not too bothered as quite like looking at buildings but if I had been paying and could choose would definitely have gone for harbour view club room. Room excellent, sevice outstanding. Only two quibbles. You cannot get freshly made poached eggs - they are on the buffet so only good if you like them hard. Can get all other types of eggs cooked for you but not poached - weird! Sounds rather petulant I know but I do love poached eggs! Other quibble which made me quite cross and meant slightly lower overall rating is that the bar on the top floor which has spectacular views is not open for non club members until 8pm. So you cannot enjoy a drink as the sun sets. Seriously annoying. The lobby bar is great and enjoyed it very much but would really have liked to enjoy a beer after work overlooking the harbour.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brydon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

superb rooms and facilities, phenomenally helpful and professional staff, brilliant hotel

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Streetlobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Disappointing stay after reading a lot of positive review about this hotel. Stayed in a Club room because we wanted to experience the Hotel fully. Despite the fact other reviewers with young children being allowed into the Lounge for club previledges and never stating that it is NOT allowed in their pamphlets or promotions we were turned away twice! Once for breakfast and once for evening cocktails. On that occasion we were made to sit in the reception area making us feel like we were gate crashing. The staff are generally very polite but they really need to inform guests about their policy on the lounges better.

I would love to hear response from the Hotel on this matter. I can also provide link to reviewers of young children that were allowed into lounge if needed.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Club Rooms if have young children. Complete waste of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andrewpTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shalee55, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear andrewPTA

Thank you for your valuable time in providing feedback and I am terribly sorry to hear of your disappointment.

A child policy is indeed applied to our Above & Beyond Lounge. Families who travel with small children under 6 years old are invited to other hotel venues for breakfast, afternoon and evening cocktails.
You'll find that this information is indeed stated on our Hotel website and all our on line travel business partners are aware of the policy, however will definitely review the content as it might not explicit enough to guests booking.

It would be great if I can get in touch with you in personal so that I can understand more about your experience via shanna.lee@hotel-icon.com
Looking forward to hearing from you.

With warmest regards,

Shanna Lee
Guest Relations & Club Floor Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
369 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We booked here as all the reviews on Tripadvisor were so good.Our stay was fantastic,the staff so friendly and helpful.Our view of Hong Kong Island spectacular and our room absolutely beautiful.The hotel is in a little way away from an MTR station but with the free shuttle bus that leaves for Middle road (behind the Peninsula Hotel)and Harbour City shopping centre every 20 minutes it is really easy to get around.
We will return and would recommend the Icon to any one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue53_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

It has all been said before but this hotel really is a little gem. The staff were very friendly and attentive, the hotel is well located to get around HK via the metro and the food at The Market was great- the buffet has a LOT of choice so everybody is catered for. Overall, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a good view of Victoria Harbour- you can see the symphony of lights from the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaimini82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#11 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,567 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,282 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,845 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Property: Hotel ICON
Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing