We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs up!”
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel ICON
Ranked #5 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Thumbs up!”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I agree with most of what has been raved about this hotel. Its personnel's uniforms are unique (it compliments the image of the hotel), interior designs and gyms very well planned, and personnel helpful and courteous.

Certainly one of the better 5 star hotels, though they could improve on hotel security. I've noticed that the elevator does not have a room access only lock, something found in most prominent hotels.

Room Tip: The Harbour View rooms were superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yves22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,770
    633
    105
    17
    18
See reviews for
811
2,599
344
913
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,526)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

My husband and two teenage children stayed at Hotel Icon in Hong Kong for 11 nights in December 2011. After researching hotels on Trip Advisor and reading the excellent reviews for Hotel Icon, I was confident that it would be a good place for us and I was certainly not disappointed! We had a standard king and a twin room, so no harbour view but the rooms were an excellent size with a really nice bathroom, great shower and comfortable beds. There was also a great range of movies and other entertainment channels for English speakers on the TV. Internet access is free and is wireless to all rooms. The mini bar, (which is cans of soft drink and m and m's) is free and restocked every day, very useful when travelling with kids! We didn't use the hotel's restaurant facilities as there are plenty of other restaurants within walking distance or a short ride on the MTR and this is always a cheaper option for us, however, there is plenty of choice if you are someone who prefers to eat at the hotel. The pool area is lovely and the kids enjoyed a swim most nights. I cannot speak more highly of all the staff at the hotel, they were all so helpful, courteous and friendly and went out of their way to help me when I discovered I had left my coat containing my wallet in the airport bus. They had it back to me within 30 minutes!! I would have no hesitation booking with Hotel Icon again and would highly recommend the hotel to anyone heading to Hong Kong for a holiday or on business.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmar0se_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

I read the reviews and was very pleased with my stay. The hotel delivered and the staff were efficiently friendly. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. I was very grateful for the departure lounge.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happywanderer7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Hotel Icon in located in the Tsim Sha Tsui East area of Hong Kong. It is a new hotel with a modern and appealing architectural design. My room was ready when I arrived late at night. The room is of a good size and has a good shower area, a comfortable bed, tea and coffee equipment and a free minibar supplied with water and soda drinks. TV has a good selection of channels for international visitors. The hotel has three restaurants and the one I tried in the lobby was good. As breakfast was expensive, my reservation was for room only. Most of the hotel's staff are student trainers from the nearby Polytechnic university. They are very helpful and very focused on their tasks. The hotel is not in the action area of Nathan Road but a 15 minute walk or a taxi will take you there. Nearby restaurants are limited but include a MacDonalds and a good Italian restaurant. I was satisfied with my choice of Icon Hotel which proved to be an excellent choice for the well-organized, fast, crowded and very expensive city of Hong Kong.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarantella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This must have been the best hotel experience so far...

We were lucky to have the soft opening rates, and at that rate, the experience has been unbeatable: amazing room, with an even more amazing bathroom, amazing poolside views, amazing rooftop restaurant, amazing staff. Even after check-out, it remained amazing, with the access to the chill-out room.

The moment you walk in, everything is being taken care of for you, all you have to do is admire the architecture and design of the building.

I can not come up with a negative comment, great work, ICON hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merluza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuerich
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We had the suite 65 and because we booked very early (before the first tripadvisor review) it was a perfect price for the suite with a big room with lounge,tv,work desk with printer, 2 toilet, bedroom, shower/bathtub. In each room large windows with harbour view. Can't be better...
Our suite was at the end of the corridor so it was quiet. Some previous reviews are still right, the walls aren't that thick and if someone has a party or crying kids, you will hear it!

The In-Room Dining is fast and the food was good. Downside was the two glasses of redwine, there was only two gulps in a glas. Looks nice and is correct if you have a whole bottle but not when the glas cost USD 10$ ! I think this is because they learned it so but not i what situation

Service in the Above and Beyond Bar/Restaurant, The Market, Lobby was very friendly and helpful. All employees are very motivated to do the best and as guest you will feel this !

Location is good, MTR Hung Hom only 5 Minutes away and you can use the free shuttle bus. In the near surrounding is 7Eleven,some good Japan Restaurant, Italian etc

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexusworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I have nothing but good memories of my stay at this hotel. Upon arrival, the staff opened their doors for us and ushered us into the hotel lobby. The smell of the lobby is so wonderful! The fragrance brings us such a nice welcome to the hotel. The staff at Hotel Icon are very friendly and young. Whenever we pass by any one of them, they will politely greet us at any time of the day. When we reach our hotel room, we felt so happy and more than satisfied with our room. For our Icon38 room, we felt like we got so much more that what we had paid for! There's the minibar, a big Samsung Smart TV and another smaller tv in the bathroom, an expresso machine, Bose mp3 player for our iphone, a printer, stationery items (which proved to be very useful!) and a big comfy bed! The view from our 16th floor is magnificent. Icon 38 is a very spacious room in our opinion. The room smells new and is top notch clean. The bathroom is just perfect. I love every single bit of the room! I'd definitely stay there again when I come back to Hong Kong in the future. The only thing that we found a hassle was the location. As it was situated 15 minutes away from the Tsim Sha Tsui MTR station, hotel guests have to take a hotel shuttle bus (frequency every 20 minutes) to the MTR station. However, service ends at 10pm everyday. We had to walk back to the hotel two nights out of three and it was very tiring! But the location won't stop us from coming back to this hotel the next time for sure. Thank you Hotel Icon for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoraElena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,520 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,819 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,188 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Property: Hotel ICON
Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing