We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful fireworks”
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel ICON
Ranked #5 of 717 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
northamptonshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful fireworks”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Excellent hotel wonderful views of the harbour. Our room on the 14th floor was very large with a hi spec bathroom. Our visit coincided with natinal day so we had a wonderful view of the fireworks from our room best I have ever seen. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
A good location. definitly stay again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,011
    665
    107
    17
    18
See reviews for
872
2,724
364
952
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,583)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Hotel Icon is run and owned by the university next door and uses it as a way to train staff in a live environment. It is a wonderful way to breed a great culture and this showed through the stay we had.

Hotel Icon is about half the price of some of the top Hotels in HK and over delivers in comparison. Staff cannot do enough for you. The mini bar is free. The showers and rooms are amazing. The views are brilliant (go for a Harbour view). IF you can stretch go for the 'Above and beyond' package as they do free cocktails and canapes everynight from 6-8pm.

We got a late check out - 2pm (unheard of) then as our flight wasnt until late they have a 'timeless' lounge which is equivalent to a club airport lounge you can use until you want to leave.

We were also welcomed back up at Level 28 above and beyond for free cocktails even though we checked out at 2pm...(WOW)

The location is a little further out of the way than some other hotels in Kowloon and so a walk to Ocean Terminal/Nathan road takes about 10-15 mins. But then you also get the benefit of experiencing the city on foot.

We were also given a credit for laundry each day and therefore came home with clothes all washed at no expense! In addition the room had a superb view of the harbour skyline.

Breakfast was beautiful everyday with full buffett which was high quality.

My partner loved the pillow menu so she could choose the pillows she wanted.

Overall what a magnificent culture this hotel has.

Extremely impressed. Dont hesitate to stay here!

Room Tip: Go for breakfast included, Harbour view and inclusion of above and beyond for free nightly cocktails...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Hotel ICON is THE 5 stars hotel; we have stay there for 5 days in August and had a wonderfull experience. New hotel, with extremely efficient staff and good location, on Kowloon island( the nice part of Hong Kong, with restaurants, stores). From expresso cofeemachine to multifunctional and Bose audiosytem I dock , we found everything in the room. Nice touch with free Perrier, nuts or dry fruits and fabulous view. From our room we had a splendid harbour overview, in the night lights show was great. The food was great , the breakfast is served in to a restaurant with the same view, at The Market and afternoon tea with nice apetisers at GREEN. We did not have time to try the spa or pool.
The staff was great, we received indication about everything.
It was very nice to travel from Kowloon station from airport, a hotel bus was waiting and we receive a free suttle bus to the same station. Also, every 15 minutes, a bus take the guests in the city. The checking formalities were very efficient, overal, a wonderfull stay. I would reccomend the hotel with all the trust.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank IIoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

CHose this as was new and had never been there. What a good choice! A lobvely hotel, fabulous views from my bedroom (Club room), used the Club room a lot and breakfast views are wonderful

Staff very friendlly, service is frst rate, bathrooms super and great lines and style. Bed nice and comfy and food quality is lovely

Concierge very knowledgable and while not close to thed MTR as otehr hotel it is a short walk and the hotel has a regular shuttle bus so I never felt this was a problem

Stylish hotel and I l;ikely will never stay anywhere else in Hong Kong again as this is a really wonderful and awesome hotel

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Club floor and get a harbiour view room especially if travelling with a partner - you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiceyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

As a family of five we found it hard to find hotels in Hong Kong that could accommodate us. Here we had a suite in the Above & Beyond floor and they upgraded our other twin room to that floor too so we could be next door. The design of the communal areas is fab and there is great attention to detail in the rooms too. We loved the friendly but helpful service and on the whole we felt the hotel offered a real Wow experience.

Would very happily stay here again!

For some more details & photos, check here on our blog...just ignore the general holiday info...

http://jet-rtw.blogspot.com/2011/10/hotel-icon-hong-kong.html

Room Tip: The Above & Beyond floor is great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JetRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Overall highly recommended and excellent value for money compared to the other HK hotels.
Pros - central location, 5-7min walk to metro station, large rooms very modern and chic, excellent shower with TV, good value, free wi-fi in the room most other HK hotels charge, nice gym and pool, excellent service very helpful staff booking restaurants, arranging taxis, free shuttle bus, free shuttle bus from kowloon station, airport check in at kowloon station.
Cons -overall not many cons but if you want to be extremely picky, ex-pat nightlife more on HK island side, decent harbour view but not the picture classic that you get from Ritz-carlton (which is 3 times the price).
overall i wouldnt hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Harbour view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Nicely appointed rooms, very clean throughout, good roof top pool, spa & gym.
The downside was the complete lack of any degree of customer service from any of the staff with the exception of Tom at the pool area,
The food and service in the "Above & Beyond" restaurant on 28th floor floor was at best very poor.
This hotel could have been so much better.

Room Tip: Choose Harbour view, the hotel has 28 floors, the higher the room the better the view. We had floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StephanieNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 717 in Hong Kong
6,456 reviews
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 717 in Hong Kong
3,661 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 717 in Hong Kong
3,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 717 in Hong Kong
3,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Property: Hotel ICON
Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing