We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Customer Service, Promising Hotel”
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel ICON
Ranked #5 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
iligan city
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Customer Service, Promising Hotel”
Reviewed May 27, 2011

I have stay here the day after their opening with my husband. The moment you step inside the hotel you will be greeted by courteous smiling staff. The check in was a bit slow I think due to the new system. The room was big and spacious! We had the harbour view room and it has a fantastic view of the Victoria harbor at night. The Bed is of top quality, its soft but offers great support so our sleep was excellent. The bathroom is very nice. a deep soak tub with separate walk in rain shower. One thing I would recommend though is that they should have made the walk-in shower have a door , even a sliding glass so that it can be close and water wont get out. The floor in the bedroom was all wood, I would have preferred if it was carpeted, and there was no magazines. But the staff was excellent. My Husband got sick on the last day and i went out to buy medicines, one of the floor manager greeted me on the lift and we chit chatted and they were very kind enough to offer us a late check out free of charge since our flight was not till late in the evening and they sent a get well card along with a plate of fruits to our room. Most of the facilities aren't available yet. We were invited to the above and beyond floor by the club floor manager to have a little talk about our whole stay and what think of the hotel. It was a pleasant chat.

Location: I love the location of the hotel! It is near the " bar street" where lines of open bars are open till late night, loads of restaurants near by to choose from, shopping centers, electronic shops and it is just a walk to the avenue of stars but the hotel it self is not in the middle of all this so you don't have to worry about street noise or loads of people outside the hotel.

I say that this hotel is promising because Im sure when they are fully open it would be a five star experience for the guests with their spacious comfortable room, wonderful location and excellent staff and great facilities to look forward to...

Room Tip: Harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,944
    654
    107
    17
    18
See reviews for
850
2,689
360
947
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,566)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Have stayed there 18/5-24/5 2011 for six nights at Club 38 Harbour View.
Day of check-in,was very friendly and feel welcomed at Level 28 (Above & Beyond) with both Angie and Winnie (very sincere and eager to help)
Breakfast at The Market was indeed nice (very prompt service), the pastry chef even remember to serve us Croissant for consecutive 5 days without us asking when on day one -my companion commented that the croissant taste nice and fresh.
Special mention have to be given to CK, Charles and Chris@The Market (they will chat you up) and provide insight of the hotel!
Here comes the Club floor, first two nights were good but subsequently was bad to worse! There seems to be confusion here and we have to keep telling them we have been booked on the Club Floor and here for the complimentary drinks. Each night, we have to check whether non-alcholic drinks are complimentary until 11pm. Even it was clearly stated in our welcome letter!
We have given up after those not so nice experience (thinking we were some unwelcomed intruders). They can simply checked our room number and know for once we were booked on Club Floor and should be entiltled to those benefits.
Overall, it was a wonderful stay and service is good except for the difference in standard between the Club and The Market.
Would recommend this hotel but think twice about booking the Club Floor unless they have sort out the confusion.

Room Tip: Harbour View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasontan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Icon during the soft opening phase in March and were very impressed by the service, food quality and rooms. The contemporary interior design emphasised the quality of materials and amenities in the rooms and outlets.

We particularly liked the bathroom, which was well stocked with every amenity you could think of (hair dryer for ladies!) and the separte rain shower. My larger-than-life husband loved the deep bath tub - finally a something in which he could actually soak!

The highlight of our stay was the meal in the Chinese fine dining restaurant on the top floor. The food was exquisite, the service was attentive and the view was breathtaking. Book in advance for a table overlooking the harbour - it's well worth the visit.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Punamdemanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

The hotel put up false advertisement to deceive travelers. Listing amenities on the ads as hotel features that's not even available. I should have done more research before booking.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank mokoto32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed in a city-view room for 3 nights and we thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay.

As we got off AEL shuttle bus, the door staff immediately came to us and carried our bags. We were greeted by the staff and the lobby was chic and filled with vibrant fragrance.
After the check-in, we were escorted to our room and informed of the room features. Then a few minutes later, our bags were delivered to the room.

The room was spacious. A Simmons king bed with clean crisp bed linen and modern armchair were very comfortable, almost made us want to stay there forever!
My husband is very sensitive to dust so really loved about the fact that it was not a carpeted floor. Yay:)

Bathroom was very stylish; a large rain shower head was so sleek and a deep bath tub was perfect for soaking and relaxing.

We had the breakfast buffet at The Market, located on level 2. It was delicious; home-baked croissant and Danish pastries were my favourite. It was crisp outside and soft and gooey inside. Yum!!

The location is quite good. The MTR station is situated by walking distance and many cafes and shops near the hotel. Free shuttle bus also drops you off at the major spots in TST.

The hotel staff were very attentive, professional and energetic with true smiles on their face. They were so nice:)

If we have a chance to re-visit Hong Kong, would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sugarbonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Having traveled to Hong Kong more than a dozen times, I just experienced my best stay ever at the Icon Hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Hong Kong as the hotel and location is excellent. It is close to both the train and metro station and anything else in Kowloon. I was staying at another hotel and was told about the Icon from a colleague. I walked over and was given an extensive tour from one of the staff that was very informative. I checked into the Icon the next day, it was a great decision on the move to the Icon. While it is still in its "soft opening" stage it is excellent and the staff go out of their way to make you feel relaxed and comfortable. I stayed in an Above & Beyond Club 65 Room and the view and furnishings are very good with a rain shower and deep soaker bath tub. You will appreciate all the free benefits and extras and the great staff at the Above & Beyond club program as the extra cost is well worth the Club experience. The view and club lounge on the 29thfloor are great as are the bar and Chinese restaurant. I look forward to staying again and I will be staying at the Icon for all my future trips to Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Book a Club Room as the benefits are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Joegozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhatter, Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thanks very much delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay,
Hope you will be back, looking forward to meeting you.
Richard Hatter
General Manager
Hotel ICON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

The ICON Hotel, to me, offers an unqui and unforgettable experience. You are in one of the busiest corner in Hong Kong with thousands of cars going past funnelling into the tunnel, however when you are relexing in the lobby lounge watching the traffic goes by, you feels like sitting in an open garden, totally relaxed, smelling the freshness of the vegitations and the moisture in the air.
Where some other hotels may also offer a gradn view of the Victoria Harbour, but nothing like the manificent view sitting in the Up and Above lounge, enjoying the nice wines and Chinese cuisine.
To be, the above along, is worth staying at the ICON Hotel, not to mention the hospitality of the staff, with smiles coming from the heart.

Room Tip: Must ask for Harbour View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GardenHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,398 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,632 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Property: Hotel ICON
Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing